Petie's sugar is at 201 - should I shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.
You want to find a dose you can start with that you can give consistently and not have to skip.. For now. Let's see how the 1/2unit works for a few days and we can reevaluate then.

Did anyone mention about you setting up a spreadsheet?

Wendy
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Yes you are over 200 so you are good. Can you get a before bed test too?
Wendy--I think Jackie might be using either an AlphaTrac or a Bayer or maybe a Contour?....I believe she mentioned a few different ones in earlier posts...

Jackie: which meter are you using?
 
and yes - i need to start my spreadsheet and print out all the materials. am going to test petie pie again soon - before i go to sleep.
 
Good morning Jackie!

Were you able to get another test in before you went to bed (or any other time)?

Remember, for today--put his food up for 2 hours, then test him, and then post his BG number. If he is 200 or under, don't shoot just yet and don't feed him. Wait 1/2 hour and test him again.
 
Hi,

I got his sugar at 5;30 this morning and it was 171. I tried to get it again and I couldn't get it :(

I just fed him and am thinking on giving him 1/2 a shot?
 
JackieVendetti said:
Hi,

I got his sugar at 5;30 this morning and it was 171. I tried to get it again and I couldn't get it :(

I just fed him and am thinking on giving him 1/2 a shot?
I wouldn't give him a shot until I tested him again to see if he was safe. The thing to do when you test and he is not over 200 (and provided he has not eaten for 2 hours) is to NOT feed him, then wait 1/2 hour, then test him--if over 200, then give him his shot. Since you've already fed him, if you test him, you are not getting a true blood glucose reading. So what time did he get done eating (and what did he eat?)?

With regard to my statement about waiting a half hour--this is because we want to see if his blood glucose is rising, as it usually should on 12 hour dosing of lantus, which if so, would warrant a shot.
 
Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using glucometers. Human glucometer numbers are given first. Numbers in parentheses are for non-US meters. Numbers in curly braces are estimates for an AlphaTrak.

< 40 mg/dL (2.2 mmol/L) {< 70 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Treat as if HYPO if on insulin
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) {< 80 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50 (2.8).
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL (2.8 - 7.2 mmol/L) {80 - 160 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s (1.7 mmol/L){60s for an AlphaTrak}; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

> 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

200 mg/dL (11.1 mmol/L) {230 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- no shot level for beginners; may slowly reduce to 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {180 mg/dL} for long-acting insulins (Lantus, Levemir, and ProZinc) as data collection shows it is safe

180 - 280 mg/dL (10 - 15.6 mmol/L) {may be 210 - 310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL (15.6 mmol/L) {may be >=310 mf/dL for an AlphaTrak}, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
This is terrific. Thank you!

I didn't shoot this morning because Petie was at 171 at 5:30 am. I couldn't get him again, but I am guessing we are going to do the same thing as yesterday. Will need to shoot tonight.
 
Have you got a spreadsheet yet? It would be really handy to see the mid-cycle numbers and determine how well the insulin dose was working.
 
First, you create the spreadsheet - nothing more than a grid to enter data.
Then
Date = date of data collection
AMPS = morning (am) pre-shot test
PMPS = evening (pm) pre-shot test
U = units of insulin given
+1 - any test 1 hour after the shot
+2 = any test 2 hours after the shot
|
+# = any test # hours after the shot

The time notation is because we have members across many time zones, and decision making is often with respect to the time insulin was given.
Ex. 55 mg/dL is a great number midway between 2 shots using a human glucometer ... at pre-shot, you'd better think twice about giving any insulin.
 
The colours along the first row are just a key for the rest of the sheet. So when you type in a number into one of the hour columns ie +5 and press enter , the colour of the box will change depending on the number. If your number is between 200-299 then the box will turn yellow for example. That colour coding really helps us see what is going on at a glance.

Look at my signature SS for Tiggy. scroll down to todays date. Today his AMPS (a.m. pre shot test) was 265 (yellow). the U (dose) i have him at that time was 3.75 units. I tested him at +6 which is 6 hours after his AMPS and got 191 ( blue )

let us know if you need help setting up the sheet.

Wendy
 
You guys are the awesomest. That makes total sense. Ok, I am going to fill this out tomorrow.

Petie just had a house call - it went really well - his BG was 165 (and he hasn't a shot since last night!). But, his kidney readings were a little off which of course has me worried. Could that be change in diet? Or too much meat? Sigh. So confused.

Thanks everyone!!!!!
 
JackieVendetti said:
You guys are the awesomest. That makes total sense. Ok, I am going to fill this out tomorrow.

Petie just had a house call - it went really well - his BG was 165 (and he hasn't a shot since last night!). But, his kidney readings were a little off which of course has me worried. Could that be change in diet? Or too much meat? Sigh. So confused.

Thanks everyone!!!!!
Which kidney readings, Jackie? Do you have a copy of the lab report? BUN? Creatinine? Ratio?
 
no lab report yet. he said he always does a spot check on site and the reading was a little weird but he told me not to freak out b/c his kidney readings from a month ago were fine. but petie has a completely new diet now.

he will send me the report in a couple of days and i will post it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top