peteys' lantus #'s in the 300's

Status
Not open for further replies.

heidilynn823

Member Since 2014
Hi Julie, So , petey is bouncing all over again. I am going to keep him back at the 4.25. I think this is good for him. What are your thoughts on this? If you would please check out his spread sheet for me. Thanks.
 
Hi Heidi!

A couple of things I'm noticing in the past few days:

- if you want Petey to have a chance to go off of insulin, or to become regulated and stop bouncing all over the place, you don't want to back away and reduce the dose when he gives you a blue preshot. Lantus works best at lower numbers. When you shoot lower numbers, Lantus will flatten out the whole cycle, and you might see his numbers turn into a line instead of a curve or a zig-zag. The zig-zag cycles are hard on kitties - most people can see that their cats don't feel good when their blood sugar goes from low to high to low again in a day.

- I want to really, really encourage you to check every cycle and see how low a dose is taking him. Lantus dosing is based upon how low a particular dose takes a cat, and usually that low point is somewhere in between the preshot tests. When you see a preshot in the 90's or the 100's, the first question that arises is "and how low was the cat BEFORE they rose up to that preshot number?" It doesn't need to be at any particular time - catch a test before you go to work, when you walk in the door - it all adds information that makes it safer for us to give you help on dosing. I tell people i see the ss like a jig-saw puzzle. You don't have to have every piece to get the picture, but if you have a sprinkling of pieces throughout the puzzle, you can get a pretty good idea of what the picture looks like. Without knowing how low a dose is taking Petey, it becomes risky for a volunteer (all of us who help people with advice) to suggest dosing for him - no one wants to give advice without being pretty confident of how the current dose is working.

These are hard things for people to wrap their heads around! They seem kind of counter-intuitive, but they are both really important. When Petey is giving you lower preshot numbers, that's like a little gift. It's an opportunity to flatten out his blood sugar and help him feel a lot better. Shooting the full dose into normal blood sugar numbers (50-120) is what we call "shooting low" and it is the path to regulation, and hopefully, a cat's pancreas healing. The caveat is that you can't shoot low and then not monitor - you need to get a +1 and a +2 to make sure he's not diving, then get a mid-cycle test in to see how low he's going. Here is a post that I wrote to someone else recently explaining how this typically works. I hope it's helpful.

Overall, I'd say that Petey is looking pretty good. I think you're right about the 4.25 being a pretty good dose for him. I'm bringing up these couple of points because I can see that Petey is giving you opportunities to improve his condition and if you are able to take advantage of them, he may make a dramatic change.

By the way, I do always look for you, but there are many other experienced people on here who will be happy to chime in and help you with Petey as well. :-D It's good to have multiple people's opinion on any cat, that's peer review at its best and will get you the best options on how to help Petey.

Hope you're having a great day!

julie
 
Thank you, I will keep him at 4.25. I know always ask for your advice, I know there are other people. I thank you for always being there. I tested him when I came home @ 4:30, and it was 241. He will eat dinner at 6 and I will test him right before. My daughter did a great job, but felt bad poking him for blood, but at least she did it. :smile:
 
I don't mind, heidi, i just don't want you to not get answered if I'm not online. Someone saw your post and then sent me a pm this morning and told me you were asking for me. Fortunately, it's conference days at our school so I'm off for the rest of this week! woot!

The most I poked punkin in one day of low numbers (one very long long long day) was something like 22 times. :shock: ya hate to do it, but that's the only way I know to keep a diabetic cat safe.

So sweet of your girl to step in and help! we love our kids. My son's moved to Colorado now, but he was living here while punkin was alive, and we sure appreciated having a back-up person when we needed to go somewhere. It's great your daughter will be able to help if you need a back-up. :-D
 
Hi Julie, I totally know that you don"t mind. I also appreciate your help so much, but would appreciate anyone elses' suggestions. I feel that petey is doing very well. I will for now keep him on 4.25 and check his blood before I leave in the morning, and when I come home. My husband and I build our lifestyles around him , as I am sure everyone else does too. He is my sons' cat , but now has been ours. :-D
 
Someone saw your post and then sent me a pm this morning and told me you were asking for me


that was me.....
I didn't have time to go read your history this morning.... ( busy day for me)
and since I saw you direct at Julie..... I went and made sure she knew.
I'll have to catch up.

Glad Petey's doing good today.
 
i'm not sure either, but i'd just hold the course and see what you get tonight. That'll be 6 cycles at this dose. Since you've just seen blue and green numbers on this dose within the past couple of weeks, I think i'd give it longer (10 cycles) to see if you'll get them again.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
You may have go up after the hold for whatever # of cycles you choose is completed. In order to come down in #s, you need to go up in doses. After taking a look at Petey's SS, I think he's going to be needing another increase in a couple of days, or so. I would also hold this dose for a bit longer to see if it helps bring them down a bit, and then go from there. Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top