Pet sitter needed Ottawa Ontario

Status
Not open for further replies.
There is a person needing a cat sitter for 10 days for a tightly regulated Lantus cat. She is in downtown Ottawa This would start March 10th
Hometesting required of course Here is the spreadsheet if you care to look
It is a Lantus cat with a small sliding scale (3/4 1 1.25)

If you can or are interested please contact me at justken@rocketmail.com
Thanks
 
Jen & Squeak said:
wow...1.0 unit at those numbers?


Yes Isn't it great :-D How about this one
deleted
The chart says caninsulin but the switch was made to Lantus. This is a person in Britain but so far I have not had success getting her vet to prescribe Lantus to others although still working on that

Many more like this too.
Funny thing is most use a small sliding scale with lantus. The sliding scale come after the cat is regulated
 
Well then you certainly don't think the 2nd chart or that the scores of others doing the same thing with the same results are great either. We are each entitled to our opinion and I will let the results speak for themselves. If you want to discuss the shooting of low numbers and see many more charts we can take it over to the think tank where that discussion would belong and dissect it there
In any event this was a request just for a cat sitter in Ottawa and I hope there is someone out there that can help
 
Ken and Sneakers said:
Well then you certainly don't think the 2nd chart or that the scores of others doing the same thing with the same results are great either. We are each entitled to our opinion and I will let the results speak for themselves. If you want to discuss the shooting of low numbers and see many more charts we can take it over to the think tank where that discussion would belong and dissect it there
In any event this was a request just for a cat sitter in Ottawa and I hope there is someone out there that can help

Ken, you know I am all for tight regulation like a lot of people here. But it does seem like this cat (Hemmingway?) could go with less insulin on those numbers, or maybe no insulin at all?

Quite possibly this cat can give it a go on its own without insulin and that would certainly help in getting someone in to care for him if he didn't have to have any insulin.

I know you didn't ask for any opinions on the dosing, but when you link the spreadsheet you kind of have to expect people are going to comment.

Toby too, the one in the UK. IMHO that seems like an awful lot of insulin for those preshots and no in-between spot checks to see how low he might be going.

Just a suggestion, I am not trying to start anything here, I know your dedication in helping people with their diabetic kitties, but just felt I had to comment is all. And I don't think it would do any good taking this to TT.
 
Thank you Pamela :) I think asking someone to catsit and give insulin at such numbers would be very tricky and personally I would be very leary of taking on that risk.
 
Hey Ken. You like to get us all riled up don't you? Linking SSs is, IMO, a request for input. So here goes:

There is no way I would cat sit and shoot most of those numbers - and not that high a dose, no matter what the owner said. TR is meant to keep the cat in normal numbers, not sub-normal numbers. It always dismays me when the BG drops into "fly solo" numbers and the cat isn't given the chance to try its wings.

And not all cats are normal at 45. I think that study done here years ago showed non-diabetic cats to run from 45 to 100 or something. Lower isn't better. Beau's normals seems to be 80-90 - off insulin for over a year and a half. I know there are people that would still be shooting him at those numbers.
 
Hi
It is obvious though that the original purpose of my thread was to find a cat sitter and that evidently is not going to happen with the opinions in this thread


I have no problem discussing this but as I said this should discussion would have been better served on the think tank. I welcome real opinions and comments

Since this is something that apparantly people on here don't do, maybe more evidence should be looked at and things discussed but this is the wrong place.

I do have histories with over 40+ cats over the last few years doing the same thing that you saw here as far as shooting these numbers. There has not been a symptomatic hypo and the remission rate is quite high. I am pretty sure I still have many of these spreadsheets to share if people are interested

I don't understand what the dose has to do with anything. What one cat does on 1 unit another may need 4 units to do the same thing. The problem that some of you have I assume is the shooting at these type of numbers.

I do understand that normal ranges vary. an we agree that a mean range would be about 60? withg some cats hanging around 90 and others around 40?
I do understand that more spotchecks should be done but aside from begging cajoling and warning of the risks, that part is out of my control
One more comment. Of course when the time comes, we will try lowering the dose a drop at a time to see if the cats can be weaned from the insulin
I believe that both Toby and hemmingway have shown a few weeks ago that they still need insulin. The time may be right to try again though


I am of the hope that we have a fresh start here. I hope people will stop looking at 'me' and look at what they see is working

Jen Janet ,Pam I hope you are all doing well and are happy
 
Based on the civvie survey, I would say a mean of around 70 and a range of 50-90 is more desirable.

I won't re-hash the issue of whether asymptomatic hypo is dangerous, but I will note that studies in humans suggest that really tight control doesn't necessarily improve things much, and may lead to poor consequences. So based on that, I would argue that 70-110 might be a better range to shoot for (so to speak). But I'm very out of touch with what the Lantus folks do, so I would defer to them on this point.

I had a bit of a health scare last spring, but I'm doing well at the moment. I hope life is treating you well, too.

-- Janet
 
I need to inject a word of warning here. The BGs in the first SS show a beautifully controlled kitty, for sure, but the second SS does not show regulation until just the past couple of weeks. Yet both SS's show all green from the beginning.

All the numbers in the two spreadsheets I saw are "green" because they are inputting Cdn/UK BG values without converting them, so all the BGs are showing as good, even when quite high (because there is no metric BG over 100).

If from outside the USA, please make sure you use the x18 conversion so the colours show up properly, or use the World SS.


The SS's are a great tool, but people can easily stop looking at the actual numbers and just see the colours, which may lead to totally misleading advice.
 
Ken, after all these years, you know that I really don't necessarily think that you give the best advice to owners of diabetic cats. But that doesn't have much to do with what I posted. I do not believe that shooting that dose at those numbers is safe and wanted to flag it to potential cat sitters to be aware of the situation. This isn't a theoretical discussion. And I did alert a member from Ottawa but she is unable to help at this time...
 
Ken,

You have posted links to the input versions of your customer's spreadsheets, which allow anyone with the link to input or edit. You should only post links to the "published" versions. You could potentially lose all their data by posting the links that you have. Not safe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top