Pet sitter, looking for advice

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Kura, Oct 19, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kura

Kura New Member

Hi there! I'm a pet sitter and one of my regular customer's cat (Bud) was diagnosed with diabetes caused by medication in February 2019. So he's not my cat, I see him at random intervals, and I get any information about feeding and insulin dosage from his owner and she is the one that taught me how to give him his shot. This is my first time dealing with a cat with diabetes.

Between Feb 2019 and March 2020 I saw him for at least a few days every month (between a weekend to over a week), two feedings and two shots a day with no troubles. Then in July 2020, after a long break not seeing him, I was watching him for a few days when one shot I gave made him flinch. He didn't cry or run, but he noticeably flinched. His owner had to return early because he didn't trust me touching him at shot time the next day.

Since then I've been back a few times but I've been a little too careful trying to give him shots, a bit slow and nervous. So I was hoping to get some advice and understand maybe what I've done wrong so I'm a bit more confident again.

1. What could cause a cat to flinch/feel pain from a shot? I don't know what i did differently that day which has thrown me off.
    2. Ive been instructed to give shots between the shoulder blades. However even there Bud has the least stretchy skin of any cat I've ever met, sometimes it's difficult to make a 'tent' at all, let alone a good one with one hand. Any tips for this? This is probably my biggest problem.