PET METER Users: Please Read!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jill & Alex (GA)

Member Since 2009
A minor change for Lantus and Levemir users who are following the TR Protocol (as presented in this group) who are also using a pet meter (e.g. AlphaTrak, current version):

"If a serum chemistry analyzer or plasma-equivalent meter calibrated for cats is used (eg, AlphaTRAK from Abbott Animal Health), increase the target blood glucose concentration by about 1 mmol/L, 18 mg/dL, or adapt the normal range reported for cats as the target nadir glucose concentration (eg, change 2.8 to 3.8 mmol/L; change 50 to 68mg/dL)."

Please note: the current maker of the AlphaTrak is now Zoetis, not Abbott Animal Health.

Found at the bottom of Table 3: Dosing protocol for glargine or detemir and intensive blood glucose monitoring with a minimum of 3 blood glucose measurements per day (average5) using whole-blood human glucometers. ~ (Page 7 of the document or Page 257 of the publication)

What that means to you: Lantus and Levemir users following the TR Protocol and using a pet meter should take a dose reduction when kitty falls below 68 mg/dL or 3.8 mmol/L.

NOTE: The change above is for those following the TR Protocol only.

If you are a Lantus or Levemir user, and are using a pet meter, but you do NOT follow the TR Protocol, please see Table 2: Dosing protocol on glargine or detemir and glucose monitoring every 1 to 2 weeks using whole-blood human glucometers.

"If a serum chemistry analyzer or plasma-equivalent meter calibrated for cats is used (eg, AlphaTRAK from Abbott Animal Health), increase the target blood glucose concentration by about 1 mmol/L, 18mg/dL, or adapt the normal range reported for cats as the target nadir glucose concentration (eg, change 3–4 to 4–5mmol/L, change 54–72 to 72–90 mg/dL)."

(Found at the bottom of Table 2. Page 3 of the document or Page 253 of the publication.)
Please note: the current maker of the AlphaTrak is now Zoetis, not Abbott Animal Health.
 

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi Alex, I found the second blue highlighted passage confusing and seeming to contradict the first blue paragraph. The target alpha trak nadir never 54-72? I have seen 70's to be normal on lab ranges listed on blood tests.

Thanks for the info. Have a great day! Wendy and Marje shared this new info. with me.
 
lovey11 said:
Hi Alex, I found the second blue highlighted passage confusing and seeming to contradict the first blue paragraph. The target alpha trak nadir never 54-72? I have seen 70's to be normal on lab ranges listed on blood tests.

Thanks for the info. Have a great day! Wendy and Marje shared this new info. with me.
hello catherine. my name is jill. alex is my cat. :mrgreen:
i'm happy to hear marje and wendy shared the information with you. after i sent the info to marje and a few others, i didn't get around to putting the info in the stickies at the top of the page till mid-february of this year.

the quotes in blue are separate. they don't have anything to do with each other. the first blue quote is for those following Table 3: Dosing protocol for glargine or detemir and intensive blood glucose monitoring with a minimum of 3 blood glucose measurements per day (average5) using whole-blood human glucometers.

the second quote in blue is for those following Table 2: Dosing protocol on glargine or detemir and glucose monitoring every 1 to 2 weeks using whole-blood human glucometers.



i think you might be confusing what's considered "normal" when discussing lab values versus the numbers you're aiming for when following either of these two methods of regulating blood glucose in cats using Lantus or Levemir.

when they refer to "target nadir" they are referring to the target nadir when following the specific guidelines in Table 3 (TR Protocol) as well as the specific guidelines for a target nadir when following the guidelines suggested in Table 2 (for those who monitor every 1 - 2 weeks). not lab values.

have a good day!
~ jill
 
Ranges using the 30-40% estimates here. Also provides the FDA +/- 20% range.

(Assuming I understood the original article correctly.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top