Linda Simpson
Member Since 2018
Hi Folks,
I just joined about a month ago (or so) and have to say I really enjoy the posts I've been reading and the discussion.
My Zoe has a host of issues which I listed in my introduction post (I don't want to bore you with it again) but now that I've updated her spreadsheet, I'd like to get input from anyone that is or has experienced the same thing. When I created her spreadsheet, I went back to the beginning of Sept but she's had diabetes for a year now, except for the slight remission between Oct-Jan.
Zoe's BG numbers are swinging. The recurring theme is that in the morning she's well within normal ranges and does not get any insulin. Then by the PM testing, she's quite high and needs insulin.
We used to have her on a very strict protocol where, even if she was within normal ranges, she was getting a wee bit of insulin. This was to try to get tight control on her BG when she was in the mid-20's. The protocol worked and with a slight reduction in pred and the protocol, we were able to bring her average numbers down.
I'm not using that protocol anymore because at least once a day, her BG is quite low and we don't want to risk hypoglycemia. We've reduced the pred about as far as we can - she stops eating without it. I can understand pred causing her BG to be raised but it shouldn't cause BG swings.
Lately she's become more and more finicky - I think her nausea from her severe IBD is getting worse and she's not eating well. A few days ago she stopped eating all food but she's liking poached chicken breast for now but I'm sure that will be short lived like everything else is.
Thanks in advance for all opinions and discussion.
I just joined about a month ago (or so) and have to say I really enjoy the posts I've been reading and the discussion.
My Zoe has a host of issues which I listed in my introduction post (I don't want to bore you with it again) but now that I've updated her spreadsheet, I'd like to get input from anyone that is or has experienced the same thing. When I created her spreadsheet, I went back to the beginning of Sept but she's had diabetes for a year now, except for the slight remission between Oct-Jan.
Zoe's BG numbers are swinging. The recurring theme is that in the morning she's well within normal ranges and does not get any insulin. Then by the PM testing, she's quite high and needs insulin.
We used to have her on a very strict protocol where, even if she was within normal ranges, she was getting a wee bit of insulin. This was to try to get tight control on her BG when she was in the mid-20's. The protocol worked and with a slight reduction in pred and the protocol, we were able to bring her average numbers down.
I'm not using that protocol anymore because at least once a day, her BG is quite low and we don't want to risk hypoglycemia. We've reduced the pred about as far as we can - she stops eating without it. I can understand pred causing her BG to be raised but it shouldn't cause BG swings.
Lately she's become more and more finicky - I think her nausea from her severe IBD is getting worse and she's not eating well. A few days ago she stopped eating all food but she's liking poached chicken breast for now but I'm sure that will be short lived like everything else is.
Thanks in advance for all opinions and discussion.