peepee 3/12

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doreen and PeePee

Active Member
Peepee was at vet until +7. Came home her appetite was ravenous, scarred me, but tested and got 202.Just didn't eat at vet. I'm hoping her PS numbers come down. She has UTI , maybe when that's under control it will help. She has a real problem on AB's throws them all up and loses her appetite completely. Probably start AB's in a couple of days after culture.
Doreen
 
She got a low nadir yesterday on one unit. Today is a wash numbers wise because of the vet visit. I would think the UTI could be keeping her numbers higher, so I'd be careful. When the infection clears, her numbers may come back down more.

With ProZinc, we suggest you not to shoot a preshot under 200. Instead wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. We want to make sure she is rising, not falling.

ProZinc is different than Lantus in that you do consider preshot numbers and nadirs both. With Lantus, you would concentrate on nadir numbers.

If you post about antibiotics on Health, you may get some ideas for ABs for sensitive stomachs.
 
I snuck a peek at PeePee's ss, Doreen. Looks like he is doing pretty well, very near the renal threshold. How is the infection? How did the tiny increase to .6 do?
 
Some of the GI upset cats get on antibiotics, its because good bacteria were killed off along with the bad. An hour or 2 after giving the antibiotic, adding FortiFlora to some food or a bit of plain yogurt with active cultures can help with that.
 
Hi Doreen -

4 years OTJ - I'm impressed! Hopefully PZI will get you back there!

I'm Lu-Ann and an "old timer" here - 15 months actually. My boy Grayson had to switch insulin May 31 of last year as he is an insulin resistant Acro-cat.

You've already gotten some great advice here. I just wanted to pop in, intro myself, and let you know I'll be around from time to time checking in on you and the others here. Let me know if I can help you.

Lu-Ann
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top