Peeka 9/28 Lots of Blues last night!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peter (Boo) (Peeka GA)

Member Since 2020
Thank you to everyone for their encouragement yesterday. I appreciate the support from everyone here with our road to recovery. Peeka's numbers are below, I made some clerical mistakes with the dates and testing numbers initially that have been fixed. But she has been spending some time in the blues which I am thankful for. Hopefully after a switch to a longer lasting insulin, her PS numbers can start to lower as well. Thankfully, recent testing has her still in the low-mid 300's.

Going to be a busy October for us, lot's of scheduled regular job Saturday's and 2nd job events to account for. mid week testing will be critical. If someone wants to take a look at her numbers and offer dosing advice, that would be appreciated. I think we may be at a good dose currently, especially with the +3 numbers being where they are. But if someone has a difference of opinion, I would love to hear it as well.

Thanks, I hope everyone has a great week!
 
Ahhh Peter! how refreshing to see those blue numbers! It would be VERY tempting to lower her dose a bit. But like you I would wait for confirmation on that.
Peeeeeka! I wanna smooosh you! GOOD GIRL! Oh uh yeah ... you too dad! :p:bighug::p
 
Let's see what the Vetsulin sticky says:

The general guidelines for making dose changes are:
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
  • HOWEVER, there are some situations which signal that a larger than usual dose reduction is needed. If you are unsure, please post on this forum or in the Health forum and ask for input about your dose.
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], lengthen the waiting time between dose increases.

In other words, maintain the dose. ;)
 
Let's see what the Vetsulin sticky says:

The general guidelines for making dose changes are:
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
  • HOWEVER, there are some situations which signal that a larger than usual dose reduction is needed. If you are unsure, please post on this forum or in the Health forum and ask for input about your dose.
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], lengthen the waiting time between dose increases.

In other words, maintain the dose. ;)
OK so the amount of nadirs corresponds with the amount of days. This is so confusing to me.
Sorry Elizabeth I should have looked it up like that. sigh
 
OK so the amount of nadirs corresponds with the amount of days. This is so confusing to me.
Sorry Elizabeth I should have looked it up like that. sigh
I have to go back and remind myself constantly. :rolleyes:
With Vetsulin you do stick with the 7 days, then re-evaluate rule. Just because you get 1 day of nadirs below 150 doesn't mean you get to maintain the dose, if the other 6 days are over 150.
 
I have to go back and remind myself constantly. :rolleyes:
With Vetsulin you do stick with the 7 days, then re-evaluate rule. Just because you get 1 day of nadirs below 150 doesn't mean you get to maintain the dose, if the other 6 days are over 150.
I dont know why but this is particularly hard for my brain to grasp. I dont know if its because I'm not living it first hand or if it has anything to do with dyslexia. I constantly have check and recheck :arghh:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top