Peanut - Increasing to 1.75u

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sieden

Member Since 2016
Previous thread
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/peanut-missed-1-dose-back-into-the-300s.175618/

I've held the 1.5u for 4 consecutive days and I believe that I've gathered enough data to increase by .25u according to the rules of TR.

Looking at his numbers though I am concerned about his high numbers that he had within the the last cycle. The 335 and 314 were both taken when he had been without food for a few hours or more. He had already eaten his first portion of the day. I do measure their food because Peanut is overweight. I feed the cats twice daily. I give them 2 large meals and they pretty much munch on that through the day but depending on the day sometimes they eat it quicker than other days. Today it was gone by 4:45am and I did not put down another meal. I don't want to feed them 3 or 4 meals during the day but only be available to give them one meal during the night and I usually sleep a full 10 to 11 hours due to my meds anyway so feeding them more meals during the day and then 1 meal at night really doesn't make sense if I want Peanut's BG to be balanced, at least to me, let me know if I'm not understanding this correctly. Anyway with this being said, he had gone awhile without food by the time that I got the 335 reading and then he went several hours before I got the 314 reading. I know for certain that I gave him his injection and didn't forget, I didn't miss and give a fur shot or anything like that. I can't understand why he had a spike like that. I'll take any suggestions into consideration.

Thanks,
Erika
 
I think you increased a little too quickly. You need 6 consecutive cycles in a row at the same dose before seeing how it's doing. The last six cycles started with a no shot and you had a 1.25 units dose a couple nights ago with only four shots at 1.5 units. You need to give the depot time to stabilize, which means waiting at least six cycles after you skip a shot. Here is a post on Counting Cycles. Lantus needs patience. TR is already an aggressive method so you shouldn't rush the increases.

As for last night, it's possible he had a little bounce. He might have gotten into the blues in the latter part of yesterday's cycle, leading to that PMPS of 217, and he's not used to those numbers.
 
okay I'll try to check him more often. Now that my move is coming closer I'm finding myself busier with more and more stuff to do and a lot of it is away from home but I'll try.
 
I'm just going to continue making updates for him like this daily and they can serve as a diary for me if nothing else, unless there is another way that you guys do your own little "diary" or journal threads... be sure to let me know and if that's the case then I'll start one of my own.

I was up all night and I did 2 spot checks, I wanted to do more but my ex was drunk and acting like a crazy fool, I don't want to get into specifics but it was enough for me to just stay hidden in my room (we have separate rooms) all night long to avoid him. He also has impeccable timing, I had just picked up Peanut to do a spot check and put him on the dresser and he's always a good boy for me but he's also always a little tense so everything has to be quiet. Peanut is used to Dan working a 12 hour night shift and doing all of this during the night while he was gone was absolutely no big deal because the house was 100% our play ground while he was away but now that he's not working at all, if Dan gets drunk the cats stay hidden in my room and it's kind of sad. Anyway as I was saying, I had Peanut up there and ready to test when all of a sudden "Mr. Stumbles" decided to get up from his computer desk in the living room and go into the kitchen. He was banging around and doing all kinds of sh!t. I had to catch Peanut in mid air because he was running to go hide under my bed but I wanted to hurry up and get the test done before he had a chance to spike from all of this commotion. I managed to get the test done but I don't know how accurate it was, believe it or not it was the 233 number that I got during all of this BS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top