Paw PMPS 411 ugh....

Status
Not open for further replies.

tarams

Member Since 2012
I gave Paw 2u's last week after seeing a BG of 559 (we're newly on Lantus & still new to the whole diabetes thing). He's gotten 1u BID since then and I've been pleased to see his numbers come down some. Tonight he was at 411 so I gave him 1.5u (mainly because there's practically no way to give 1.25 from the syringes I have!)

Sitting down with a quiet moment now and looking at his SS,I realized that this higher # may be because my dh gave him his shot earlier today & it could have been a fur shot. Either that or maybe the 2u I gave him exactly a week ago has been depleated throughout the week. I have no other thoughts as to why he would be in the red again. So, if anyone has any thoughts to share I'd appreciate hearing them.

And if there's any way to dose 1.25u, from a 3/10cc syringe, would someone please tell me? I think we're ready for a slight increase now so 1.25 or 1.5 may be in order; what do you think?
Thanks!
 
Yes, there is a way to shoot 1.25u if your syringes have half unit marks on them...you simply eyeball it. It helps to have someway to magnify the syringe, I have a little thing that clips on the syringe that helps a lot.

But at this point I would stick with the 1.5u for a few days and see where it settles out at, try to get as many mid-cycle tests as you can.

And here it the important part....Do Not React to a high preshot number...they can bounce off any number that is out of what is their bodies new "normal" That 411 could have very well been from Paws dropping lower than he is use to during that cycle before or dropping faster than he is use to, and you just didn't catch it with a test.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
tarams said:
I gave Paw 2u's last week after seeing a BG of 559 ...
He's gotten 1u BID since then and I've been pleased to see his numbers come down some.
Tonight he was at 411 so I gave him 1.5u (mainly because there's practically no way to give 1.25 from the syringes I have!)...

Notes on Lantus
- Never adjust the dose based on pre-shot numbers.
- If below 200 and just starting with Lantus, do not shoot
- Dose adjustments are based on nadir numbers, the lowest point in the cycle.
- To find the nadir, you must do some tests between 5 to 7 hours (whenever you can) after giving Lantus, or run a curve
- Lantus is given every 12 hours; time changes are no more than 30 minutes in 1 day and for a sensitive cat, works best as 15 minute changes per dose
 
I've got a 135 now & feel like I should skip this shot....anyone on right now that can advise me quickly?

I thought I had a sampling of different hours inbetween and was seeing some general pattern - purple at +4 & +5, yellow for the next 5 hrs, then back to purple before next shot. Unfortunately I am not able to do a curve at home w/so many tests day or night.
 
You're still gathering data on how he responds to insulin, so NO shot.

Yes, he may be high tonight; thats to be expected. Return to the 1 unit dose again, or go with 1.25 units (eyeball it as a smidge more than 1 unit, and under 1.5 units.

When you're under 2 units, increases are only 0.25 units and held for 3 days (6 cycles) minimum
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top