Past Bouncing, Increase Dosage

Status
Not open for further replies.

geekgirldany

Member Since 2013
I've started using the relion meter now... just can not afford the Alpha Trak stirps anymore.

So AMPS 331.. in the 400s on Alpha Trak probably. +6 yesterday 126.
I've been giving him 2.00 units since PM 12/19/14, should I consider going ahead and upping the dose to 2.25 this evening?
I am assuming he has got through the bouncing?
 
Some cats may always bounce; it just comes with the territory.

So long as the nadir is safely above 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer around the nadir period, yes, you can increase the dose on similar pre-shot tests. If you get a much lower pre-shot, you may need to back off the dose when you have data that show the planned dose could take the glucose too low.

Ex if you normally shoot 1.25 units on a pre-shot around 350 mg/dL and the nadir is between 50-100 mg/dL, a pre-shot of 250 mg/dL would likely need a lower dose to be safe for your cat.

You'd do some rough math and note that 1.25 units dropped the glucose as much as 200 mg/dL. This is roughly 160 mg/dL drop for 1 unit (and it can vary).

Subtract the 160 from 250 and you get an estimate that the dose could drop the glucose to around 90 mg/dL, which would be safe, so you give 1 unit.

Over time, you work out a sliding scale based on knowldege of how your cat responds to the insulin.
 
Thank you so much for that information. It makes sense.... will just have to do the mat as you said :)

I feel like a dummie, I gave Catee his shot 1 hour early... I was half asleep I guess and looked at the clock wrong. Do not know what I was thinking. My friend told me later when I realized it that they thought I was giving it early. I was like why did you not tell me?

Will doing that cause any problems? Feel like a goof.
 
As long as he was rising and over 200(which it looks like he was) it shouldn't be a problem.

If a different schedule would be better, you could shoot an hour earlier than your usual tonight and start with a new one?

A curve would be good. As his preshots are in the 200s, it'd be nice to know how low he goes and when it occurs in the cycle. I am guessing lower doses are in his future (anti jinx)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top