Pasha's diabetes went away!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Anyone else have this happen? We took Pasha in for a BG curve a few weeks ago AND HE'S NOT DIABETIC ANYMORE!!

A couple of spot checks since then confirm it. No shots, but random BG has been like 132 or 124; water consumption normal.

What happened is that last December, his BG FINALLY dropped to a better range after being always (since his diagnosis the previous June) in the high 300s or 400s even on high doses of insulin. We switched from dry to wet food and boom! his BG went down, but still it was not consistent, all over the place. Switched to PZI but we still could never get him properly regulated through the day.

At that point the vet suspected he had kidney cancer, he already had FIV and an unknown myopathy, could barely walk due to diabetic weakness in his hind legs, was losing weight, and we thought he was a goner. Also, I couldn't seem to get home readings from him anymore--only error messages despite thinking I was doing everything right. So, we stopped torturing the poor guy with the constant trips to the vet for blood curves, stopped poking his little foot, and decided to let nature take its course, though continuing with a regime of shots, wet food, and buprenorphine for presumed pain (teeth, kidney, whatever).

Well... nature's course was: his back legs got better, and in a matter of weeks or a couple months he was walking and jumping normally, he became more active, gained a little weight. So in the spring we decided to go ahead and risk anesthesia to take out his few remaining teeth, which were all either infected (due to FIV, probably), loose, or suspect. After he healed up, we took him in for another curve, and got the ecstatic phone call from the doc: "Pasha is not diabetic anymore!"

We are not sure when he turned the corner, but we think that getting rid of the constant low-level tooth infection might have tipped the balance. And the vet said sometimes cats just become non-diabetic for one reason or another; their metabolism or some other factor changes.

And... I figured out what stupid mistake I was making with the home monitor. I had started, for no reason in particular, to hold it with the display downward (facing the floor) when sucking up the blood drop from his foot as my husband held Pasha on his lap. I thought the test strip would pick up the drop OK if simply held straight against the drop, but somehow it didn't work well when I held the monitor turned the other way. So now we can continue to spot-check him at home.

He is still pretty skinny but eats well, is very active and strong, seems fine! Wow!!! :)

Thanks everyone for all the help you've given us! I hope Pasha won't relapse...we'll sure keep an eye on him.

Best wishes,
Nancy
 
Keep up the good work with proper food.

Test once a week for a while...then less often.

He could get another tooth infection or other issue and
have high BG again.

Be vigilant.

Congratulations, though...I'll bet Pasha is a happy boy !!!
 
Thanks, Maryjo and Karen! :)

No more worries about tooth infections... he has NO remaining teeth!

This also allows us to (with a relatively clear conscience) let FIV Pasha roam the house without having to keep him and our FIV-less cat separate, as he cannot bite her (which he probably wouldn't have anyway, but you never know). So the whole family are happy campers now. :)

We still only let Pasha outside on a harness, as he hasn't had his shots and I still don't want him fighting with the neighborhood cats, to avoid any possible disease transmission one way or the other. But ah, we're all living the good life now... no more shots!!!!!!

We will indeed keep monitoring him.

Nancy
 
That is wonderful! And sooo inspiring!! My Lucky has bad teeth and has had infection. He's been all over the place with his BG. He's scheduled for a dental on the 12th!! Hopefully this will be enough to send him remission also. Thanks for sharing your story!
 
Yeah Pasha and Nancy! So glad that you have a vet that will work with you.

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Congratulations!

Jeanne and Sebastian (sugar cat) and Sabrina (blind kitty)
 
To all4--good luck with the dental, I hope it helps. Pasha's BG was also all over the place... nothing consistent or expected throughout the day. The vet had long suspected that infection might play a role.

Thanks for all the replies, everyone!

Nancy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top