Panicky liver, or compensating?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dragonfly229

Member Since 2012
I am really at a loss. Linus is happy, healthy, acting normal, has gained weight, and never has a BG level below 300. I have gotten a couple of reasonable curves lately - pink across the board. And really no curve to speak of. I'm wondering if his liver has kicked in and is maintaining this level. It's not really a bounce, It is very consistent.

Should I . . .
Increase dose again to try to lower numbers?
Decrease below 1u thinking I may be overstimulating his liver to produce unneeded sugar? (I've been watching all you microdosers and wondering if less may be more)
Hold?
Change insulin?

He's fine as is, except for the possible long term damage being done by the high BG.

I know I ask this question all the time, but I have increased by .2u about 3 times with no real changes.

Thanks, everyone!
 
It looks like on 1 unit he had some really long cycles and threw some blue pre shots. I'm new and all, but that makes me wonder if you in fact are correct and he is on too large of a dose....that is if there are no ketones/infection that might be causing him to be higher now. Bump for experienced eyes.
 
The more insulin I gave Baxter the higher numbers with really flat cycles. Take a look at our SS. It did take some time to get the dose figured out & get his numbers down where there is a nice curve.
I can't help with dosing, but some will come by who will be able to help you.

Our SS is updated except for this afternoon. Take a look & you will see 7 days of flatness.
 
Grayson had/has kept some flat-as-pancake numbers in the 300s for some time. When the ketones came into play, we jumped up on his dose - a lot - and about .2 units per pre-shot, so I can't offer much, other than to say that for me, ketones trumped BG #s, and doses were increased to fight the ketones (along w/ SubQ fluids and for a while, an antibiotic).

Make sure you're testing for those blasted ketones regularly!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top