? Panic PMPS 131 Need advice now!!

Panic

Member Since 2019
Not a bad strip as I double checked, I am pulling her shot back by a half hour tomorrow because I'm leaving early and not sure what to do! I may have to skip if I don't get immediate help due to my schedule tomorrow.

Edit: Skipping. My schedule tomorrow isn't leaving me with any stalling time. :/
 
Last edited:
If you’re able to monitor tonight how about trying a reduced dose for tonight? You could partially drain the depot for the early shot in the morning. Then tomorrow you can re evaluate what dose you need to give after AMPS
 
Yes :)

Oops yes but I skipped, I put in 1 unit for tonight by habit. I did not shoot.
 
I could have monitored, I just know a few days ago she was on 1.25 and she pulled a high blue and then stayed in the 50s all night so we reduced, wasn't sure if something similar would have happened tonight so I didn't know what to shoot, especially since I was having to pull schedule back. In the future though it would be safe to do a full dose at 130?
 
I could have monitored, I just know a few days ago she was on 1.25 and she pulled a high blue and then stayed in the 50s all night so we reduced, wasn't sure if something similar would have happened tonight so I didn't know what to shoot, especially since I was having to pull schedule back. In the future though it would be safe to do a full dose at 130?

In future if you get a lower than normal Preshot, I would stall, post and ask for guidance. Things that influence the decision are the BG, if you can monitor all cycle if necessary, if you have some high carb food and if you are comfortable with the decision. As Lantus doesn’t onset for 2 hours you have some time to get food in and the BG to go up before the onset.
But tonight because it was lower than normal and you had to shoot earlier tomorrow and couldn’t hang about, it was fine to skip. Ultimately you hold the syringe and you must be comfortable with the final decision.
 
Thank you, Bron. I think another thing that makes me hesitate at shooting lower than average pre-shots is I'm not fully sure of how Lantus works in terms of reduced doses etc...since it's a depot, and not in-and-out insulin, the previous dose can still affect the next cycle?
 
Thank you, Bron. I think another thing that makes me hesitate at shooting lower than average pre-shots is I'm not fully sure of how Lantus works in terms of reduced doses etc...since it's a depot, and not in-and-out insulin, the previous dose can still affect the next cycle?

Yes the depot does influence the next shot. For example if you shoot a reduced dose, that first reduced dose will be influenced by the depot of the previous dose and the subsequent doses less so until it had drained.
However you should try and work your way down to a lower shooting number. No one expects you to do it straight away. Your lowest so far is 184 so next time see if you can shoot a 160 or 150 if you can monitor. It is always a good idea when shooting lower than normal to get a +1 and a +2 so you have an idea of what is in store. Then monitor as needed after that. You can always be in control with monitoring and having high carb food ready to use.

If you can learn to shoot low you will get better numbers and flatter curves/ cycles.
 
Right, so that makes me wonder how reduced doses are handled since even if you DO reduce a dose kitty will still be affected by previous dose, meaning you still have to keep a close eye out correct? Like if it was in-and-out and I skipped a dose there wouldn't be any need to monitor because the insulin is all gone. But with depot there's still insulin in the body from previously. So I guess what I mean is just...always be monitoring? lol

Yes, definitely, We are still fairly new to Lantus (less than a month) and that 184 was the first blue we had. She likes to do her lows at the worst times LOL.
 
Lantus is a great insulin for cats. Yes when reducing you need to be aware for the first dose of the reduction that it is being influenced by the depot. But don’t be scared of the depot. It is a good thing. You will get more used to lower numbers. I remember the first time I got a lower Preshot after months of wishing for them (this was the second time around after remission) I completely panicked (pre forum days) and didn’t know what to do.

You are doing very well with Panic. A month in and you have had a reduction and a sprinkling of greens and blues. That is real progress.
Cats always give us low numbers at the most inconvenient times... :p;)
 
That's so reassuring to hear! Yes that's how I feel a bit ... and I know people aren't always going to be available to help during time-sensitive stuff so that just stresses me out more with me making the decisions on my own. Can't wait for the day that blues and greens are the norm!
 
Back
Top