Pancreatitis

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marci and Buddy

Member Since 2009
Vet just confirmed spec pli test came back positive. Buddy is 35, should be 3.5
she prescibed 2 meds 1)Metromitazol, and 2)Cerenai.
she did not say give any SQ fluids, b/c when she saw him lsat week he was not dehydrated, and he is not vomiting very much.
Does this sound like the right course of action? please confirm , as i am going there soon to pick up meds. thanks !
 
Marci

So sorry to hear Buddy has pancreatitis. I have never heard of Metronidazole for pancreatitis unless he has diarrhea. The Cerenia is for upset stomach, I do think there are better medicines, see what the others say. Pancreatitis can be painful as well so sometimes it would help to ask for a pain med like Buprenex. Is he eating anything?
I sure do hope he gets to feeling better.

Terri
 
He is eating half of what he usually does. now about 3 oz. per day, before 6-7.
i gave him some Bup i had left over from his dental , but don't hink he's in pain. should i give him fliuds just in case?
can i get them online or from the vet? thanks Terri
 
Marci

I don`t know about the fluids, see what the others say. I would maybe get some Buprenex for him as I do know it is painful. I would also make sure he is eating that is very important.
I have seen mention Ondansetron for nausea and vomiting that some of the others have recommended.

Terri
 
I'm new to this group, but my cat Bugs was also diagnosed this by our first vet, he was put on ID cat food and some kind of antibiotic, I do not remember now because it has been 8 months ago.. Have u had him tested for diabetes, it does come along with the pancreatitis, or so I have been told from my vet. Bugs does not have the pancreatitis any more but type 2 diabetes.. He does go back to vet in 3 weeks to check on that... From my experiance diet diet diet... is he on ID?....food for thought...;-)
 
yes, he does have diabetes for 4 years now. if your cat has diabtest too you will need to home test-is he on insulin?
you cant give the shot until you see his BG level- do you know about that?
 
yes Larry that is what vet gave for Buddy.
Buddy has a hear murmer (mild) , i read somewhere not to give subq fluids if that is the case--is that true?
 
My Vandow who has pancreatitis takes the flagyl usually when he starts with diarrhea. He also has irritable bowel. The flagyl is thought to help with the inflammation in the bowel. Vandow has chronic pancreatitis. He get zofran twice a day, pepcid once a day, prednisolone every other day. He also gets atenolol for his heart every day. These meds he gets every day. When he is really off on his food I give him cerenia. Ususally 4 days on 2 days off. I will also give him buprene too once or twice a day. Cats are very good at hiding pain. I will also give him 100 ml subq fluids too when he is bad. It is very important to keep them hydrated. Lately he has been bad so he gets fluids every day. My vet is fine with this. Vandow's hydration has seemed pretty good at the vet office. My vet tells me to keep doing what I'm doing. She believes fluids are important for him. I would maybe try to do fluids every other day to start as long as your kitty doesn't have any cardiac issues. I thinks the fluids do help. Vandow has had one of the worst cases of pacreatitis my vet has ever treated. Vandow is the first cat she has ever used zofran on. I learned a lot by joining the pancreatitis support group on yahoo. Vandow presented with anorexia. Treating nausea and pain is very important. Hydration is very important. I also give him cyproheptadine as an appetite stimulant on occasion. If you would give an appetite stimulant you should make sure you give something for nausea first. Ask about getting zofran. Some vets will give mirtazipine for an appetite stimulant. It is also believed that mirtazipine has some anti nausea properties. It is something that is given every third day. It made Vandow extremely restless. I hated the way it made him feel. The cyproheptadine made him a little restless for a few hours but it wasn't horrible. Whatever you do don't let your vet give you reglan for nausea. I hate this med. I've tried it over the years a few times and had some bad results. Many years ago Vandow had it and it made him into an attack cat. I had to lock him in the den until the med wore off. Another kitty of mine the reglan just made him extremely restless. With zofran, anzemet and cerenia out now there is no reason to use this but many vets still do. Now Vandow isn't diabetic. I know I mentioned that he gets pred. With a diabetic cat a vet may be hesitant to use this. My diabetic cat get pred now because he has cancer. The pred has made managing his sugars more difficult.

Sandy
 
Hi, Marci. Sorry to hear that Buddy is dealing with pancreatitis. I'm linking to a post that Marje/Gracie put together on pancreatitis.

The Cerenia (maropitant) is an anti-nausea/anti-vomiting medication. It does much the same as Zofran (ondansatron). Either of the two drugs is fine. Once the nausea is under control, an appetite stimulant may be useful if Buddy isn't eating well.

Marje's post goes over all aspects of treatment.
 
You can, if necessary, use both Cerenia and Ondasaton together, they are different and do not interact.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Hi, Marci. Sorry to hear that Buddy is dealing with pancreatitis. I'm linking to a post that Marje/Gracie put together on pancreatitis.

The Cerenia (maropitant) is an anti-nausea/anti-vomiting medication. It does much the same as Zofran (ondansatron). Either of the two drugs is fine. Once the nausea is under control, an appetite stimulant may be useful if Buddy isn't eating well.

Marje's post goes over all aspects of treatment.
 
Hi Marci.
My cat Mia has pancreatitis and is currently under treatment. She's been diabetic for 3 years and is almost 12. She has been on Lantus, 1 unit for most of the 3 years, was off insulin for about 6 months and then back on. She has had stable BGs for most of this year.
When I had her at the vet's this past Wednesday, we tried to treat it without hospitalizing her. I went home with meds - Anzemet injections for anti-vomiting, Buprenorphine orally for pain, Vitamin B12 injection and Amoxicillin orally. When she did not improve and had no appetite, nausea and diarrhea, Her BG was was up at 400 on Wed and then way down. She's had readings of around 100 after the following treatment at the clinic. I had her hospitalized on Friday for 24 hours. She was on IV fluids and additional meds - Metronidazone for the runs,Cefazolin as an anitbiotic injection instead of oral antibiotics Famotidine injection for an antacid. They also fed her blended canned food by syringe. She started to respond to the treatment and trying to eat small amount of wet food on her own. I took her home late Saturday and today on Sunday she is slowly improving. She ate a tiny meal and drank water from her fountain. She's still recovering, but think less stressed at home.
Hope your Buddy is doing better. It depends on how severe the pancreatitis is, but without the in clinic treatment and meds via IV, I do not think my Mia would be back to trying to eat on her own.
It's a difficult situation and requires lots of patience, but as we all know diabetic cats have their ups and downs.
Hope to hear an update on how everyone is managing.
Thanks,
Mia's Mom Jane
 
Re: Pancreatitis and sub-q's

My kitty is also CKD (and has pancreatitis and a heart murmur), so I do have a bit of experience with the sub-q's and when to administer.

No, you don't want to give sub-q's unless kitty is dehydrated. I'm told especially with a heart murmur, giving fluids when not dehydrated can actually be dangerous.

So, to test for dehydration: Pull up a tent of the scruff - if it goes back down slowly, then check to see if the gums are tacky. If gums are moist, then still not dehydrated enough and should check gums again every several hours. If gums are tacky, definitely time for sub-q's. However, if skin tent just hangs there without returning to normal, cat is very dehydrated - time to administer. That being said, I had no idea my girl had pancreatitis due to the CKD-necessary sub-q's. Apparently, the fluids kept her comfortable while her pancreas was angry. I only figured it out through looking at her latest CKD labs and then requesting an fPL.

Just to throw another thought your way, after my kitty's fPL was 27 two tests in a row, I went ahead with an ultrasound to check both her kidneys and pancreas. It turns out that her pancreas is toast and she is very unlikely to get off the juice, ever. You might want to consider doing an ultrasound just to see what kind of condition kitty's pancreas is in. It was helpful to me to know the reality of the situation. The fPL is an excellent test, but it won't help you determine your kitty's prognosis (e.g., if it's just a momentary flare up with a little inflammation or a permanently damaged organ issue that you'll need to deal with for the remainder). If it is a more permanent issue, then you'll need to discuss with your vet proper protocols for long-term meds, etc., since some of the drugs can have issues if used for too long. Luckily, so far, my girl does just fine on 1/4 Pepcid AC once a day with no pain killers. Of course, all kitties are different how they deal with it.

DZ and Sarah
 
Hi Marci
Have you had an echo done? It will give you a clear picture of what is going on in your kitty's heart. My Vandow has a heart murmur and has mild HCM. He's on atenolol and does fine with fluids. He gets 100ml almost every day when his appetite is really bad and he does fine.

Sandy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top