missyandlittlegray
Member Since 2010
My foster cat, Kitty, was diagnosed with pancreatitis yesterday, and I have many questions.
I took her to the local ER Tuesday night because she hadn't eaten all day and I was afraid of DKA. She didn't have ketones, but she was very, very anemic and had a fever (infection). The ER vet gave her fluids and sent us home with a page of scary test results and repeated instructions to take her to an internist for ultrasound because, he said, she was losing blood. Wednesday morning, my vet referred us to a specialty hospital and asked them to admit her through the ER so she wouldn't have to wait for treatment.
The ultrasound revealed "changes" in her intestines and an enlarged lymph node. The internist was positive she had lymphoma, but the lab that analyzed the fluid in her stomach found no signs of cancer. Her PLI test was 19. Is that very high? Can pancreatitis cause "changes" in the intestines?
She was hospitalized on IV fluids until this morning. She also got a plasma transfusion yesterday to help the pancreatitis. She ate sometimes in the hospital and refused food other times. She hasn't eaten since we got home. Should I have asked for a feeding tube? How long should a cat with pancreatitis be hospitalized?
She's on Clavamox for the infection, pepcid, buprenex and mirtazapine. None of these things seem to have helped her at all yet. She got the mirtazapine this morning in the hospital. I gave her the pepcid and buprenex when I got home, around 5 pm. She also getting Norvasc for high blood pressure. I asked the internist if I should give her fluids at home, and he said to wait until her recheck next week.
I'm freaking out. My "ex" paid for her hospital stay... $3,600, and she's no better now than she was when she went there on Wednesday. He'll freak out, too, if I ask him for more money, but should she be hospitalized again. Or can I deal with this at home, maybe with a feeding tube and Fluids?
Poor cat... she's had such a crappy life. She's been in a shelter twice, and now she's in a foster home she doesn't especially like because she despises other cats. Six other cats live here.
I've been a bad bean about her ss and haven't updated it for months. She's on 0.05 units of Lev twice a day. I lowered her dose from 0.75 units last week when she dropped into the 40s. She was going from double digits (60s, 70s) to the high 300s until last week. I thought I'd finally found the perfect dose at 0.05 units because she was in the 100s all last week. At the hospital, they don't shoot if the cat isn't well over 200, so she went into the 400s a couple of times. They gave her insulin this morning, and her preshot test tonight was 273. Not bad, I guess, considering she's been getting insulin on a sort of erratic schedule the last couple of days.
I took her to the local ER Tuesday night because she hadn't eaten all day and I was afraid of DKA. She didn't have ketones, but she was very, very anemic and had a fever (infection). The ER vet gave her fluids and sent us home with a page of scary test results and repeated instructions to take her to an internist for ultrasound because, he said, she was losing blood. Wednesday morning, my vet referred us to a specialty hospital and asked them to admit her through the ER so she wouldn't have to wait for treatment.
The ultrasound revealed "changes" in her intestines and an enlarged lymph node. The internist was positive she had lymphoma, but the lab that analyzed the fluid in her stomach found no signs of cancer. Her PLI test was 19. Is that very high? Can pancreatitis cause "changes" in the intestines?
She was hospitalized on IV fluids until this morning. She also got a plasma transfusion yesterday to help the pancreatitis. She ate sometimes in the hospital and refused food other times. She hasn't eaten since we got home. Should I have asked for a feeding tube? How long should a cat with pancreatitis be hospitalized?
She's on Clavamox for the infection, pepcid, buprenex and mirtazapine. None of these things seem to have helped her at all yet. She got the mirtazapine this morning in the hospital. I gave her the pepcid and buprenex when I got home, around 5 pm. She also getting Norvasc for high blood pressure. I asked the internist if I should give her fluids at home, and he said to wait until her recheck next week.
I'm freaking out. My "ex" paid for her hospital stay... $3,600, and she's no better now than she was when she went there on Wednesday. He'll freak out, too, if I ask him for more money, but should she be hospitalized again. Or can I deal with this at home, maybe with a feeding tube and Fluids?
Poor cat... she's had such a crappy life. She's been in a shelter twice, and now she's in a foster home she doesn't especially like because she despises other cats. Six other cats live here.
I've been a bad bean about her ss and haven't updated it for months. She's on 0.05 units of Lev twice a day. I lowered her dose from 0.75 units last week when she dropped into the 40s. She was going from double digits (60s, 70s) to the high 300s until last week. I thought I'd finally found the perfect dose at 0.05 units because she was in the 100s all last week. At the hospital, they don't shoot if the cat isn't well over 200, so she went into the 400s a couple of times. They gave her insulin this morning, and her preshot test tonight was 273. Not bad, I guess, considering she's been getting insulin on a sort of erratic schedule the last couple of days.