Pancreatitis: is my vet insane?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squeakycats

Member Since 2017
Hi, all--long time no see! My kitty Misha was pretty well regulated on Lantus until last fall, when I moved across the country. Since then it's been struggle, but his numbers were usually below 250, and his curves weren't too dramatic (I'm sorry--I wasn't keeping a spreadsheet, just a log). In the last month or so, though, he's been much worse. He is pretty routinely in the high 200's or low 300's at PMPS, and in the mid to high 300's at AMPS--but his nadirs, especially at night, have gone as low as 50, at which point I've doled out the high-carb food until he settled. He has sometimes dropped almost 200 points in 2-3 hours. I was worried that he was bouncing and tried reducing his dose significantly, but then he just stayed consistently in very high numbers and seemed to feel quite ill.

He was diagnosed with pancreatitis two weeks ago--probably chronic (his symptoms haven't been severe). He's on buprenorphine and Cerenia, and I think we've got those doses adjusted to where he's comfortable but not overly sedated. He nonetheless spends the entire day sleeping in a closet. He'll eat if he's offered food. His levels tend to stay in the 300's. At night he perks up considerably and comes out to hang out with us, and his numbers are lower--sometimes dramatically, suddenly lower. I'm awaiting the results of some blood tests to see whether he's making any progress on the pancreatitis front and whether he might have a B12 deficiency or markers of IBD--but whatever else is going on, I just can't get his blood sugar under control, and he clearly feels lousy during the day.

He's only been to this vet a couple of times, but she's at a fancy cats-only practice and seems to care deeply about her patients; she's put a ton of work into reviewing his medical history and meeting with me to strategize. But her proposal to me right now makes no sense. She wants me to stop his insulin cold turkey! She says she's done this with another cat in a similar situation and it's working well, albeit slowly. She has an almost cult-like belief that if a cat is put on a truly species-appropriate diet, it WILL go into remission--unless it has had several rounds of steroid injections, which he never has. The thing is, Misha has been on a low-carb diet for years now. What she objects to is any kind of vegetables whatsoever being included in food--as they often are in the raw freeze-dried foods he likes best. Since his pancreatitis diagnosis two weeks ago, he's been exclusively on a food she approves of--as he was about six months ago for several weeks, right before RadCat shut down (he loved their venison flavor!). He didn't magically go into remission then, but of course he was on insulin the whole time. (He *has* been in remission twice in the past, once for almost a year.) My best guess, based on what she's said during our visits, is that she thinks the insulin is making his pancreas "lazy" and is concerned that as the magical diet does its work, he will become hypoglycemic. She would strongly prefer to have him run high numbers for a few weeks rather than have a hypoglycemic episode.

I have written her a very lengthy email explaining my thoughts about this. He's been diabetic a long time; I monitor him carefully and know how to handle hypos if they arise. My husband is between jobs right now, so Misha is rarely alone for more than a few hours. In about a week, we'll be moving to another state, after which I will be the between-jobs person and will be able to stay with him. While his diet has changed, the carbohydrate level really hasn't, so this doesn't seem analogous to the situation with a newly-diagnosed kitty whose diet has just been radically altered and/or whose caretakers don't know how to manage things yet. I've expressed my concerns that taking him off insulin will just damage his pancreas further and make him sicker--when he was first diagnosed, he wouldn't eat and was very, very ill, so that's my image of what he's like when he's untreated. However--it's true that I'm not having a lot of success doing what I'm doing now, and I'd be willing to try just about anything if it would help him, so if she can explain to me why stopping the insulin might be expected to help him improve, I might try it, though I think I would be overwhelmed with anxiety the whole time.

I have wondered whether rather than stopping insulin it might be worth experimenting with a different one--perhaps something shorter-acting like ProZinc that might make it easier to manage the different between his nighttime and daytime response and/or help me be able to move faster to get high numbers down. But I have read that ProZinc can also drop kitties pretty hard and fast, which is already weirdly happening with the Lantus.

I'm sorry this is such an epic post. My questions are basically these:

(1) Has anybody heard of this whole "stop the insulin and the pancreatitis and blood glucose levels will improve" theory before? Does it make any sense to you?
(2) Does anybody have advice about possibly switching from Lantus to ProZinc (or another insulin)? Might that be worth experimenting with?

One last note: all this moving has been very stressful for Misha; I've done everything I can to mitigate that, including renting a house instead of an apartment so things will be quieter and putting pheromone diffusers absolutely everywhere, but I know it's probably not helping. But I wouldn't expect this level of stress to have an impact quite this dramatic. Hopefully things will truly settle down after our move next week! Thank you in advance SO MUCH for any suggestions!!!!
 
Dusty didn't have pancreatitis but was bouncing like crazy so I stopped his insulin cold turkey to stabilize either high or low and then restart but when I stopped it his BG just kept going down and stabilized at a normal level; he's been OJT since then and just eating Fancy Feast and now recently Weruva. Probably not the same factors involved but that was my experience.
 
I stopped his insulin cold turkey to stabilize either high or low and then restart
The keyword being "restart". Did your vet mention this?
edit
Noah bounced and over time his dose went from 2 to as much as 6 units. I cannot remember why I did it but one day I just cut his dose in half. He still bounced but not as frequently and not nearly so wildly.
 
Last edited:
My concern with stopping insulin is the risk of DKA. That's one of the 3 causes of DKA - not enough insulin. Without insulin, glucose cannot enter the cells - no glucose in cells also means no potassium in cells as potassium must 'ride' glucose at the molecular level. No glucose, no potassium also equals the muscles can't work.

With that said, I see lots of cats actually overdosed on insulin causing rising numbers, erratic glucose levels and generally feeling really 'yucky'. Removing that insulin finally allows their body to readjust to their own insulin secretion.
 
Last edited:
Nope. She seems to firmly believe that he will just go into remission over the course of a few weeks. The good news is that she responded to my lengthy email by inviting me to come in and chat in person on Friday. If I learn anything that might be useful to anyone, I'll update here for sure!

I'd be very curious too! Good luck! :)
 
That makes sense, Squeaky--thanks! So maybe I could take him off it, or put him on a really low dose (he's on 1.75 u now, maybe try .5?), for a while and see how he does, checking for DKA daily (or more frequently if his behavior is off)? He's incredibly cooperative about me stick a ladle under his butt so I can use the urine test strips, though I need to make sure my strips aren't expired. Hmm.
 
With that said, I see lots of cats actually overdosed on insulin causing rising numbers, erratic glucose levels and generally feeling really 'yucky'. Removing that insulin finally allows their body to readjust to their own insulin secretion.

I'm wondering, do we know how long that might take? I know ecid but... just a ballpark... *if* that's a possibility for a particular cat...how long might it take to start to see that taking place after pausing insulin?
 
I'm wondering, do we know how long that might take? I know ecid but... just a ballpark... *if* that's a possibility for a particular cat...how long might it take to start to see that taking place after pausing insulin?

I'm NOT advocating whatsoever that you try it especially since you're moving soon and won't have a vet to work closely with you. In my opinion, you're nowhere near a low enough dose to know that nor even consider it. I was only providing info of what I've seen occur over years which may be part of what the vet is thinking. The more info you have in your pocket, the better informed decision you can make.
 
I'm NOT advocating whatsoever that you try it especially since you're moving soon and won't have a vet to work closely with you. In my opinion, you're nowhere near a low enough dose to know that nor even consider it. I was only providing info of what I've seen occur over years which may be part of what the vet is thinking. The more info you have in your pocket, the better informed decision you can make.

I know. I'm not the OP and also couldn't do this anyway because my cat is underweight.

I knew you weren't advocating it anyway. Just wondering how long it takes to see changes IF it's working for a particular cat. In other words, if someone were trying it, how long should they wait before determining the cat really does need to be back on the insulin.
 
Lyresa, at least go into lurking mode or I'll continue to nag you. I'm a little over protective and after all, Father knows best! Was that a TV show or a documentary? I need some horizontal time. zzzzzzzzzzzzz ker-plonk! Take care, now you get three :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: (my personal limit)
 
Thanks, all--I will see what the vet says and report back! It's just interesting to know that stopping or greatly reducing the insulin might not be a completely bizarre suggestion...
 
Update: the vet was persuasive, and after looking back at the last 2 years' worth of logs of his readings and insulin doses, I came to the conclusion that after his initial remissions (total of about 3.5 months) failed, he just hasn't been doing all that well on the Lantus--he has fairly routinely had numbers ranging from 60 to 350 within a period of a few days, on the same dose--at different doses over time. He never really hit a flat-ish curve for more than a few days in a row.

We're doing buprehnorphine and maropitant to help with the pancreatitis (which is improving, thank goodness), and we're going to follow her incredibly strict diet (absolutely no plant matter whatsoever; nothing but a frozen raw food--Vital Essentials) to the letter. He'll be getting his teeth cleaned in a few days. I'll be checking for ketones, monitoring his behavior, and probably continuing to test his blood sugar levels a couple of times a day even though he won't be getting insulin. I have some concerns that he may have arthritis, so we're also starting Adequan injections. I'll report back on this whole scary experiment!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top