P - AMPS: 421, +10: 346

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa and P

Member Since 2014
Last night: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=114064

As suspected, he bounced from last night's blues. (oh my gosh, BLUES!)

I'm wondering if he's already been working to clear it, I kind of thought he'd bounce a little higher. Gave 4u again, will be coming home early to monitor.

Come on, P! You can do it baby!

Just want to say thanks to Deb and Jen for all their help last night! :-D

AMPS: 421
+3: 474
+4: 531 (yucka)
Edited to add:
+6: 466
+7: 413
+8: 416
10+:346

He likes those late nadirs...
 
Re: P - AMPS: 421

That bounce isn't as bad as the 500's he was seeing.

Sending SAFE good number surfing vines!
 
Re: P - AMPS: 421

Wonderful job last night, ladies! Melissa, how nice to see some blues on P's spreadsheet. Hope this is the start of something new for you two. :-D
 
Re: P - AMPS: 421

If that is lower than his usual bounce, then you're heading in the right direction. :thumbup Every little bit is an improvement.

You should feel safe going to class now, not having to worry about him dropping too low before you get home and can monitor him.

You did a good job last night, sorry I couldn't stay up any longer and keep you company, I've had little sleep in the last week and was falling out by 2AM. :o
 
Re: P - AMPS: 421

Thanks everyone!

I understand completely, Deb. The last few nights I've been only getting a few hours sleep and it hurts lol
 
Re: P - AMPS: 421

It's a struggle right now since P's just starting to try to feel out his patterns. Once he starts settling down a little bit, and you know roughly when to expect nadir, mama bean will get more sleep. :smile:
 
Maddening. You told me. You told me those bounces that last a full cycle were maddening. :evil:

He seemed to feel pretty darn good today. The weather was beautiful, so we threw open the windows and he laid in the sun and groomed and groomed and groomed. He ran from window to window. I think he enjoyed himself today. :smile:
 
I'd give the dose another cycle to see if the bounce clears. If he is still high, then maybe try 4.25? My thinking is while those blues were lovely and did cause a bounce, he had more room to drop.......
 
It's too early for me to figure one out. :mrgreen: not sure how things will look. If 400s need 4.25, the 300s might need 4. If he does okay on 4 for 400s, then maybe 3.5 for 300s. The fun part will be when he needs a scale for numbers in the 200s.
 
Good drop on the +4: 308

So if he clears the bounce tonight, and he's still high in the morning, should I shoot 4.25, or keep at 4 to really make sure the bounce cleared? The more I read Sue's comment, the more confused I get. ohmygod_smile
 
I think that if he's pushing the 350s or 400s on pre-shot, you can up the dose a smidge to 4.25u.
If he comes in a bit lower in the AM - like between 300-350, maybe do 4u again. It depends on how aggressive you want to be.

The concern about increasing when a bounce is clearing is when the low that caused the bounce was a little too low so you don't necessarily want to increase at the same time that those bouncy hormones are clearing out. An example might be let's say a 50 nadir caused a big bounce into the 300s the stayed flat for a cycle. You might want to be a little cautious increasing on a 300 pre-shot for a couple cycles in case those bouncy hormones cleared out at the same time you increased. Those blues last night are beautiful, but there is some cushion for downward movement, so even if he does clear the bounce, a small increase shouldn't (in theory), take him too low, assuming your pre-shot is roughly the same. Does that make sense?
 
Yep, makes sense. I gotcha. I'm open to being a little aggressive tomorrow. That's how I feel right now at least. lol I could feel totally different in the morning.
 
Melissa and P said:
Yep, makes sense. I gotcha. I'm open to being a little aggressive tomorrow. That's how I feel right now at least. lol I could feel totally different in the morning.

Dosing according to your gut seems to be about as effective as anything else, sometimes. :-D
 
Melissa and P said:
Psh, dosing according to your gut, maybe. You're pretty damn good at this. My gut is a wimp and a bundle of nerves.

LOL. I'm really just guessing most of the time based on what I've seen with Eddie and what I've read. In my personal opinion, sometimes it's just easier to try something and see what happens than to try to figure out ahead of time what WILL happen. :smile: Your gut will get tougher once you feel more confident about seeing lows. :-D Trust me, I was having mini-heart attacks the first time I was seeing numbers in the low 50's with Eddie. Once we did that once, I didn't panic nearly so much the next time. :-D

The key is that you're testing frequently, and you've got all the tools you need if you do happen to catch a low. With those tools, you can be a little more aggressive and experiment a bit more, and you will gain confidence as you go. :-D

Looks like P is going to clear out that bounce this cycle. :smile:
 
Actually my gut is like that because I hate all these numbers over the renal threshold. I'm terrified of ketones, organ damage, and all the terrible things that come with these higher numbers. I am so sick of seeing red and pinks, not to mention those hideous blacks. He's been in them since he's been on insulin. So when I saw those blues last night, I was ecstatic, not nervous or worried in the slightest. At first, at least. Then I realized, wait a minute, this is only +4, maybe I should be a little anxious! But I was just anxious, not scared. I still wasn't as anxious as I am every time I look at his SS. I've got the hypo protocol (actually, two) printed out and taped to the fridge. I've got them memorized, but I still stop and read them sometimes. Don't get me wrong, thinking about P ever being in a hypo scenario scares the bejeezus out of me. I know I could lose him in an instant to a hypo. But I know that these high numbers kill slowly, and to me, that just makes me stress worse. Knowing it's coming scares me worse. Hurts worse. All that.

Sorry. I brought my doom and gloom out. I feel a little better though, oddly. I haven't really said this to anyone yet.


You can disregard this post, really.
 
Looks like he'll be ready to go for you in the AM.

I feel you on the frustration with getting him out of those higher numbers. He has shown you that he can move out of those numbers though, so I think you're in the ballpark of a dose that's going to start making some headway for him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top