? Ozzy AMPS 295. We are back. Have Questions. Need help.

Ozzy Pawzbourne

Member Since 2016
Hi Kitty Committee. Trouble in Ozzy Pawzbourne land again and need some help/ feedback.

Since December on, Ozzy's numbers have been hard to bring down. For those who may not remember us, Ozzy is a long term sugar kitty (going on 3+ years w DM) and he has been as stable on his usual 1 unit dose of insulin as a non-stable diabetic cat can be. Since December I noticed his numbers have been hard to bring down. We usually would test him preshot most days and a spot check here and there. Remember he is a long term diabetic and has been on same dose almost the entire time with diabetes so we haven't felt need to do daily curves and such as we did early on when we were still learning and when we were not sure how to calibrate him to the correct dose.

I know that since his numbers have been whacky i need to test him more to see what's going on so we can adjust his dosage accordingly. At his last 2 vet visits, his fructosamine levels have showed his numbers were low which the vet said could mean he is in remission or is being overdosed.

Ozzy has lost a bit of weight these last few months. Prediagnosis he was almost 19 pounds. For last 2 years he has been around 14 lbs. Vet said she liked him at this weight and didnt want him below 14lbs (he is a big cat). Today he is 12.7lbs. I am assuming it's because his numbers are out of whack. I have been testing his ketone levels with a meter and sometimes he has low levels of ketones (under 1) and recently was over 2. We have been testing more regularly and have been slowly upping his insulin dose and monitoring as much as we can while not at work and his numbers are just not falling below 200. At first we thought he was bouncing high and was on too high a dose (due to the low fructomisone levels and thinking the weight loss might mean he needs less insulin per pound of weight, and the kinda stagnant numbers) so tried to reduce his dose. But after several cycles, that didn't help his numbers and only increased his ketones so we went in opposite direction and started increasing his dose.

I know dose requirements can change, and Ozzy is getting older, but he has never done well over 1 u. He might do ok for a few days on a higher dose but then eventually crashes.

I feel like we have been at this for so long now and know what to do but also feel complacent with this and maybe I am forgetting some important things.

Our SS is up to date for last few weeks. Please take a look at let me know your thoughts. I am sorry I have not been able to update and separate out 2020 from previous years. I can't do it on my phone and cant access google drive from my laptop so this is the best its going to get.

Appreciate any feedback.

Do you think we need to increase dose again?

Is it possible for a cat to go into remission and not need insulin anymore unbeknownst to his humans who are still (over)dosing him and have his numbers be as Ozzy's are lately with low blood ketones and weight loss? I gave up hope on remisson a long time ago but my vet said it sometime back and makes me wonder. Those low fructosimine numbers I mentoned were from 2 years ago and his most recent vet visit about 6-8 months ago. He primarily eatd a raw food diet ( Darwin's) and some.fancy feast pate every once in awhile.

We got a new pen of insulin yesterday thinking maybe his insulin was going bad but it didn't change things.

Thanks for reading!
 
Hi Jo. :bighug: Results from two years ago or even six months are ancient history. The presence of ketones is worrying. How is his appetite? Might be worth a vet check to make sure he has no infection or inflammation going on.

The depot takes at least six cycles to build, have patience on this dose. You are only on cycle 3 of this dose, so not yet on the increase. But I suspect he might need another increase eventually. Don’t get attached to a dose. Infection/inflammation (how are his teeth?) can also increase BGs.
 
Hi Jo. :bighug: Results from two years ago or even six months are ancient history. The presence of ketones is worrying. How is his appetite? Might be worth a vet check to make sure he has no infection or inflammation going on.

The depot takes at least six cycles to build, have patience on this dose. You are only on cycle 3 of this dose, so not yet on the increase. But I suspect he might need another increase eventually. Don’t get attached to a dose. Infection/inflammation (how are his teeth?) can also increase BGs.
That's why I mentioned the time table on the fructomasine levels.... figured it was dated info but still a pattern over 2 years of possibly too much insulin.

What are you considering 6 cycles? 3 days or 6 days? I thought 1 cycle was one 12- hr period. Ozzy is on 5 12-hr periods on this 1.25u dose. i kinda want to take him up tonight because weekends are the only time I can really monitor him and do a curve since I work during week. I could get in 3 good monitored cycles tonight and tomorrow if I up his dose tonight.

What do you think of the weight loss? Do you think he could just have steadily been losing weight over years due to reduced diet and raw only diet? you know my gut thinks no. His appetite seems ok btw.

I knew someone was gonna say a vetty visit is in order. i know it myself. But they charge me over $400 every time and advice is always to just curve him and adjust accordingly. Feeling discouraged.
 
One cycle per 12 hours. Any time you do a reduced dose, the cycle count starts over. I thought I had seen a 1+ dose in there. Guess not - rubs eyes. You could increase tomorrow.

There are a few possible reasons for weight loss. Uncontrolled diabetes is one, hyperthyroidism is another. Needs bloodwork to diagnose. Can you get a tech to draw blood and just pay a vet consult on that? Shouldn’t cost $400. But of course, you are in California. :rolleyes:
 
One cycle per 12 hours. Any time you do a reduced dose, the cycle count starts over. I thought I had seen a 1+ dose in there. Guess not - rubs eyes. You could increase tomorrow.

There are a few possible reasons for weight loss. Uncontrolled diabetes is one, hyperthyroidism is another. Needs bloodwork to diagnose. Can you get a tech to draw blood and just pay a vet consult on that? Shouldn’t cost $400. But of course, you are in California. :rolleyes:
No- you did see a 1+ in there but i changed it becsuse it really was more like 1.25. you have good eyes!

I will take him to vet. i know thats what's in order. This whole weight loss and whacky numbers is not normal for him and I am concerned.

BTW...regarding the blood ketones. Ozzy is extremely ketone prone. He throws ketones often so I have to check them regularly and I usually up his dose, feed him more, and add more water to his food. They usually flush out if I monitor and do as described. Vet said that it's really the urine ketones they look at and blood ketones can be present awhile before they get to the urine. i figure if im flushing them out early that's better.

I will get a ketone test on him at his PS here in a few mins and see if they are going down.

Such a dance . this is....
 
Tested blood ketones. 1.6. they doubled overnight. I upped to 1.5u. I need to flush those out asap. Will keep eye on him to see how he does on increased dose. We haven't been up to 1.5 in forever. Something odd is going on. Will see how soon we can get in to the vet.

How do you go to just a tech to get blood drawn for cheaper? We have always only gone to the vet and yes unfortunately it's always several hundred dollars here in CA.
 
Just ask if a tech blood draw can be done. Neko’s regular vet always wanted to do her, but Neko got a bit cranky for her. :p Her internal medicine vet was fine with the tech doing the blood draw,
Thanks. Will ask about that.

+3 on the 1.5u dose and Ozzy is still up higher than his preshot . Ugh. Something is just not right..

Any chance he could be getting too much insulin? Can a cat who really requires much less insulin or none and is getting too much just bounce like crazy, have excess sugar dumped into blood to compensate for the overdose of insulin, throw ketones, lose weight, etc???
 
Any chance he could be getting too much insulin? Can a cat who really requires much less insulin or none and is getting too much just bounce like crazy, have excess sugar dumped into blood to compensate for the overdose of insulin, throw ketones, lose weight, etc???
Doubt he is getting too much insulin, as evidenced by with ketones going up. :( In a cat getting too much insulin, there will be lows between the highs. Your recent testing is enough to show that is doubtful. Ozzy just looks like a cat that needs more insulin for some reason.
 
Doubt he is getting too much insulin, as evidenced by with ketones going up. :( In a cat getting too much insulin, there will be lows between the highs. Your recent testing is enough to show that is doubtful. Ozzy just looks like a cat that needs more insulin for some reason.
Ya, that's what I figured. Thanks.

This cat has been so tricky. He just has never been well regulated and always causing his mama concern. Hoping we can get him back to blues and greens here quickly and get his weight back up.

My 2year old son really stresses him out. Ozzy has always been a skittish scaredy cat and has never ever likes the baby in the house. He is too noisy and scares the cat often (doesn't hurt him, the baby just is excited by Ozzy and squeals a lot which freaks Ozzy out). I'm sure the constant daily stress isnt helping. We separate him in a quite room when he needs it daily but it's just a little chaotic in this house.
 
Back
Top