Ozzie 5:45am- PM UPDATE # 2 BG @ 52

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vhens2211

Member
BG 362.

Time since last test 6.5 hours.


going to give 1 unit....

Please see my other thread for more specifics and history.
 
Re: Ozzie 5:45am

Hi Vivian, Just checking in on you from work this AM and you did great! Both last night and also this morning. :-D

I recall you mentioning you would be doing a curve this weekend. I suggest holding him at 1 unit (provided he's above 200 at shot time) and then running a curve and posting up your numbers so everyone can see and advise. It's too soon to tell if the dose is too high - last night was a new dose and sometimes it takes a day or two for a new dose to "settle" or show what it really can do.

I won't be available at PMPS tonight but hopefully others will.
 
Re: Ozzie 5:45am

I saw you posted on last night's thread also which is fine but just so it's easier to follow let's continue with today on this one.

I'm not sure who, if anyone will be on at 5:30 EST. I will try but I'm not that confident I can. I would say to go ahead & try to get a BG when you get home at 4:00, every little bit of info is helpful. I know you're a bit concerned about going back down to 1 unit but it's better to be safe at this point. Do you know how to use the ketone strips? There are some posts about that if you need to read up on that. I will bump to the top again. I'm thinking like Laura said to go ahead & stick with the 1 unit if he's over 200. That 60 he threw out the other day is what has us all concerned. If you are needing help & no one is on here try posting in health. I also know it seems crazy/scary to go against what your vet says, just keep in mind that vets just don't have the time to research diabetes. I am not saying anything against them it's just they have to keep up with so much.
 
Re: Ozzie 5:45am

I will try to be around at 5:30 EST. I think staying with one unit while the picture clears is a good idea - unless he is under 200. (He has had 3 units and then nothing, then one unit - it may take him awhile to "back to normal".)

Good job on the spreadsheet BTW. Looks great!

If you can get some mid cycle numbers in this weekend, it would help us set what is happening. So, get some strips and some ketone strips for urine tests and we will see what we can figure out about this boy.

You are getting a real trial by fire, Vivian, and doing a super job.
 
Re: Ozzie 5:45am

Thanks Ladies :-D

Picked up 100 test strips as well as ketone strips. I'll read up on how to do the ketone testing.

If he's above 200 I'll continue with 1 unit. I'll post his PM number later.
 
Re: Ozzie 5:45am

Vivian,
I'm working 2-10 all weekend, but i'll try to check in near 6 when the boss isn't looking!
Carl
 
Re: Ozzie 5:45am

If you have trouble catching him peeing (Oliver would never pee if we were watching) you can put aquarium gravel in a litter box, put him alone with it (kitties usually Have to christen a clean box) and then swoop in after to collect the sample.
 
Re: Ozzie 5:45am

Thanks Carl.. don't get yourself in trouble though! I'm sure someone will be online to help.

Sue, Ozzie is easy to get urine from. I just slide a clean tupperware container or bowl right under him and catch the urine.
 
Re: Ozzie 5:45am- PM UPDATE

I would stick with the one unit and see how he settles in to the dose. (Some kitties do okay with switching up the dose; others want consistency. We don't which one he is yet.)

Try to get another test around 3-4 hours after the shot to see if he pulls the same trick of going down fairly fast and then surfing along.
 
Re: Ozzie 5:45am- PM UPDATE

I would stay with 1 unit
carl
 
Re: Ozzie 5:45am- PM UPDATE

How about a second test? Just since PMPS is lower than AMPS, to make sure he is rising at this point.
 
Re: Ozzie 5:45am- PM UPDATE #2 BG 52

Just got two readings back to back at 52.

He did pull away both times when I first put the strip up to his ears. Does that affect results?
 
Hi Vivian, It might, depending on what kind of strips you are using. Some will return a low # if they didn't sip enough blood. I suggest testing again. How is he acting (besides pulling away saying "Mom, enough already!"
 
If you are going to wait an hour to test again then I suggest giving him a little (1 to 2 tsp) of his regular Fancy Feast low carb. food. to keep him from going any lower. Ideally when you see a number in the 50's you need to test every 15 minutes to make sure he's not dropping on you. But the fact that he's acting fine is in his favor.

Got to go give my cat his SubQs but will check back in on you.
 
Yes I'd feed a snack of some cat food and test every so often to make sure he doesn't drop more. I'll be around for a bit tonight too, prob for another hour or so at least....
 
Hi, just came in on the fun....please dont wait an hour if he is at 52, please take
another test in at 15 or so minutes....
you want to make sure that he is not going to low...
lower than 50 you want to start feeding him..
 
Well, shoot. One unit seemed like a nice safe dose with a pmps higher than last night. He seems to be adjusting each cycle downward, responding to the insulin and food change.

Agree with Denise. Get a test in the next 15-20 minutes. If he drops lower than 50, you may need to break out the gravy. Last night we was back up again at +5, right?

Definitely plan on a curve this weekend.
 
I just tried to test him.... not happening.... I'm barley getting anything and he keeps pulling away.

His ears are starting to look bad!!!

I'm going to have to wait till the morning.

He seems to be acting fine, and I just gave him some treats.
 
Neosporin or a little hydrogen peroxide on his ears will help. If it were my kitty I'd try once more to test before bed just to make sure he isn't going too low. Might want to leave a snack out he can get to overnight also, just in case he needs it.
 
It would be nice if you could get another test. You could try wrapping him in a towel with just his head showing and get a test that way.

And definitely some food overnight.
 
I picked the wrong weekend to work nights....Full moon isn't until Wednesday night, kitties!

I'm thinking one test at 52 might have been wrong, but the odds go down with 2 tests, even if it was a struggle both times.
That was at +3.5, right?
I also thought one unit was an easy, no way too high dose.

Carl
 
Vivian. how is Oz this morning? I'm sorry I had to leave last night but I saw other users come on and knew you'd be in good hands.

Please post when you can and let us know how you both are. We're worried. nailbite_smile
 
Hi all.

Ozzie is good.
He had enough pricking last night, plus my kitty Milo was fighting with him and he got some wounds on his ears from that so I decided to give him a break.

AMPS was 277.

Gave 1 unit.

Just checked 10 min ago, so +3.5 was at 228.

Do I need to increase? Not sure when or if I should do that?
 
Glad things are looking good for you and Ozzie this morning. We need some numbers to see what is going on with him, so any that you can get will be helpful, especially 5-6 hours after the shot and around the 9 hour mark.

The 3 number could be a spike from the food in the am. Let's see what the rest of the day brings.

About his ears - as Donna suggested, neosporin really helps. And if you can hold the ear for a few seconds after the poke, that reduces bruising also.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top