Ozzie 10/9- BG +4 37 & 36

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vhens2211

Member Since 2011
Oz had insulin at 6am. I didnt get home from work till 3:30am, so I didn't test him when I woke up at 6am for his shot.

Just tested at +4 first got a 37. Immediatley retested and got a 36.

This really can't be right.... starting to question his meter!??!

He's acting totally normal.
 
Possible, depending on how low he was at preshot. If you question the.meter, test yourself. Give him some feed and keep checking every 20-30 min until you get 2 rising numbers in a row. Could be an early nadir but hard to tell.
 
How is he acting and what was his dose at 6?
Carl
 
I just signed back on at 1:30 pm east coast time and was shocked to see your numbers. What’s up now, everything ok? Did you feed him and has he come up?
Did you test yourself with the meter?
 
Hi Vivian, Just checking in on you and Oz and I'm with Donna - shocked at the low #'s. How are you both doing now?

The reason why we keep asking for reports on how he is acting is that each cat reacts to low numbers differently and each has their own threshold. For example, everyone laughed at me and Harley when we were on PZI because he was symptomatic for hypo in the 60s - he'd run screaming to the cupboard, open it, and dump out cans of food telling me to feed him already. Just yesterday, he jumped up on my counter, opened my upper cupboard where I keep the dry food, and tore into a bag and pigged out. When I came home at Noon and tested his BGs he was at 58.

I doubt that your meter (I use the same one for my little Molly) is wrong. What you've learned these last few days is that Oz may not be symptomatic for hypo and unlike me, you can't depend on him to alert you when he's going too low. If you are not home to catch this like you were this morning, it could have been deadly. Hypoglycemia kills. I don't like to tell people what to do but for this I am making an exception - you must test before every shot - because it's clear from your posts how much you love Oz and don't want anything to happen to him. (Climbing down off of the soapbox now. ;-) )

As for what we've learned from this, without a doubt now - even 1 unit is too high. Looking at his SS I see a slight pattern - he goes low, bounces into the 200s and then runs higher for the next cycle or two until the insulin resistance created by the lows wears off - and then he goes low and the cycle repeats itself. He needs less insulin. I think that you should reduce the dose to 0.5u tonight.

Are you using U40 syringes? They generally come with a red cap and say something like "for U40 insulin only" on the barrel. They are marked only in whole units. To measure 0.5u, you will have to eyball halfway between the zero line and the first 1 unit mark. If this dose works, and you find yourself measuring less than 1 unit doses on a regular basis then there is another way of doing it using U100 syringes but you'd have to buy new syringes and use a conversion chart. But first things first, we need to find a dose that will keep Oz safe and let you sleep at night and not be afraid to leave him alone when you have to.
 
You really are playing with fire here. Have you read the info on the hypo post? If you are too tired to test before you shoot it would be better to just skip the shot or make it a little late.
 
Hi Vivian,
We are all very concerned about you and Oz. If we seem over anxious it is because we have had a lot of experience with feline diabetes and want to protect you from the dangers.
If you can, it would be most helpful to us if you can let us know what is currently happening. If you need us to back off, you can say so. If not, we are eager to help.
 
Saw Ozzie at 1pm, 3 hours after his +4 test. He was doing fine. I am using U 40 syringes.

I'll test around 6pm, and post my numbers. If they are still low, I only give .5 units.
 
I appreciate all the help, and value your advice an opinions.

In a perfect world I would be able to stay home all day and test him, but I simply cannot. I am working on finding the best balance between everything.
 
Thanks for letting us know what is happening. When you test him, if he is below 200, we would not recommend giving any insulin at all---till he reaches 200.
 
Will do..

At school working on a paper with my team members, but will test as soon as I get home before 6pm.

I'll post his number and won't shoot under 200.
 
Hi Vivian,
I think you should stop questioning the meter. you have previously tested on yourself
and received accurate numbers.
If you see that your cat is below 50, please feed some food.
Ozzie will most likely be high tonight. I am in agreement with Laura that you need
to lower the dose, even if he has a high number tonight.
 
After cats go low, they often zoom up because their bodies are dumping sugar in their blood to protect them from hypoglycemia. Don't be fooled into thinking that means he needs more Insulin.
 
Exactly correct.
You are doing a great job!
carl
 
judy and squamee(GA) said:
After cats go low, they often zoom up because their bodies are dumping sugar in their blood to protect them from hypoglycemia. Don't be fooled into thinking that means he needs more Insulin.

Vivian,
Look at yesterday (oct 8th) on our spreadsheet. Notice the low blues early then the zoom up to pink...that is the 'bounce' Judy is mentioned. It's easy to see because I tested quite often yesterday. There are several more of them further up - every time he dips into the greens now.
 
Hi all... just tested Oz man... he's at 213.

I'll give him .5 and test again in the morning before his dose.

Again, thank you for all the advice. Ozzie and I are forever grateful!

I feel like I am slowly getting the hang of things.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top