Ozzie 10/13- No insulin again. Does this make sense?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vhens2211

Member
PMPS 129.

No shot, fed food at 6am.

+2 BG at 124.

Ketone test also neg.

Does this make sense?

I'm off today, but need to run out for 2 hours or so. Will test again when I get home.
 
Yes, it does. It looks like his pancreas has decided to wake up. You may still need to give a drop of insulin every so often to help him out. The small frequent, lowest carb meals can help.

I would say we need to set a target at which you would give a drop of insulin - like 150 or 180 - whatever you feel comfortable with. If he goes over that, give him a drop like the .25 or smaller if you can measure it. (Did you see the offer for U100 syringes on Health?)

Since you are home today, let's see what he is like at +6.

Check out Stinky's thread. She is doing the same thing.
 
Yes, it is Sarah and Baby's post for the syringes.

93 is a non diabetic number with no insulin present. Very nice job, Ozzie and Mom!

180 sounds good. At this rate (anti jinx) you may not need those syringes!
 
This is great news! Hope it continues!

Thank you Sue for all your help, as well as everyone else on FDMB :-D Ozzie is doing his happy dance (yes he picks up his back legs when he gets excited and shakes his butt) for you!!!

I'll hold off on the syringes for now.
 
Super! No insulin tonight either!
Great news.
Carl
 
I wish Stinky would do a happy dance for me about not needing insulin (he hasn't gotten any since yesterday morning & I'll be reducing his dose whenever he does get it again.) Instead, he prefers to growl at me as soon as he sees the meter & rice sock, the whole time we're testing & glare at me for a few minutes after. I think Ozzie needs to have a talk w/Stinky!
 
Alyssa,
You are giving him a nice and tasty treat every time you go near him with anything sharp, right?
Bob only gets tested about one a week now, but he comes running as soon as he hears the zipper on the meter case, just waiting for his shrimp fest.

Carl
 
Alyssa & Stinky

That stinks that stinky growls at you! I've been pretty fortunate that Ozzie hears the zipper to the meter pouch and climbs into his bed for testing. For the first week he fought with me! Glad he's gotten the hang of everything.

You've probably tried all this, but this is what I do with Oz.

I get him when he's in one of his beds so he's relaxed, pet him for a little while, the prick-take blood. Lots of praise after, neosporin with pain ointment, and some low carb cookies. He only gets cookies now after pricking and shots.

Laura-

Yes, the vet is going to be shocked. I have no idea how he'll react to me reducing his dose. I'm going to bring my meter with me so we can test on theirs and mine on Saturday. If he gives me a hard time or gets pushy with any kind of increased dosing, it will be time to start looking for a new vet.
 
Ozzie is doing his happy dance (yes he picks up his back legs when he gets excited and shakes his butt) for you!!!

Is it just me, or does anyone else think that would make an awesome YouTube vid?

Carl
 
Go ozzie!
hoping for another sugarfree day
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top