Ozzie 10/11- I think he had a hypo last night.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vhens2211

Member Since 2011
Good Morning all.

Yesterday, Ozzie's PMPS was 198. I have him .5 units.

I got home around 10pm and noticed he was VERY hungry. He ate a whole small can of low carb FF, and half a can of DM.

Checked his blood sugar at this time, +4 and he was at 40. I then fed him a can of non-low carb gravy FF.

Tested again at +6 and he was up to 100.

This morning he was at 241.

I also tested him for ketones last night, which were neg.
 
There's no way to get daytime nadirs right now with your schedule, right? If we knew what he does with a pre shot of 230 and .5 as opposed to 198 and .5, you could give a tiny bit less with one than the other. I am wondering if he is a cat who goes lower at night than during the day, in which case you could alter the dose am/pm (sometimes if they eat more during the day or play more during the night - or whatever the pattern is, that changes the bg levels....)

More data needed. But in the absence of it and with last night's numbers, I would lower the dose. Are you using the U100 syringes? Could you try .3 or .25?
 
Oh my. You might have narrowly averted something bad. You certainly did the right thing by feeding him like you did. I am sure a dose reduction is again in order. I would think maybe move to .2 but lets see what the experts say. They may want to go lower. I am no dosing expert.

I guess moving to low carb food has helped him a lot, more than one would think. I think you are going to have to make sure he has food out at all times, especially when you are not home, until you get him more settled on a dose. That way if he starts to go low he may eat some on his own. Many kitties will do this.

Keep checking here to see what others say on a dose. Just know you are doing the right thing by checking him as often as you can and being prepared for him going low. Did you read the hypo links here on this site? Do you have a hypo kit ready, like Karo syrup, etc?

(edit: looks like Sue and I were simultaneous)
 
Thanks Ladies :smile:

My schedule is pretty bananas, work full-time, grad school 2 nights a week and bartending one weekend night! I'm trying to manage him as best as I possibly can.

I'll check him before his PM dose tonight, and an hour or so afterwards.

I always leave out extra wet food for the guys.

I printed out the hypo instructions, they are on my fridge. Have Karo and non-low carb food.

Going to the vet Sat.

So just need to figure out how to proceed later.... I only have U40 syringes, so not sure how I could 1/2 the 1/2.

The low carb diet must be working... no more ginormous pee clumps anymore in the box.
 
The U 100s would be way easier to do these smaller doses with. I think they are easier for bigger doses too, you just have to use the U 40 to U 100 conversion chart to make sure you are giving the correct dose since we all talk in U 40 terms as to doses.
These are the syringes we use (there are many other brands, even walmart has their own brand, we mail order them):



You want to make sure you get the ones that have half unit markings.

Here is the chart you use to do this:

http://felinediabetes.com/insulin-conve ... rinter.htm

Please ask us for help if you want to make the switch, but I think it’s gonna be way better for you giving these smaller doses.
 

Attachments

  • 1a.gif
    1a.gif
    83.9 KB · Views: 894
If you can't get the U100s, you might practice with the U40s. Put some water in a syringe and work at getting half of the half. When you get something that looks like it is correct, mark it on that syringe with fingernail polish or permanent marker. Then, use that syringe as model each time you draw up the insulin. (Not easy, but worth a try?)

Syringes are pretty cheap and sometimes available without prescription. You might call around and see if you could pick up some U100s. If you do, be sure to use the conversion chart as you would be using U100 syringes with a U40 insulin. http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-c ... rinter.htm
 
I got some syringes at Target one time when we ran out before our mail order shipment came. They were willing to sell me a ten pack at a time so we didn’t have to buy a whole box. Might be worth a try just to check it out.

But Sue has an excellent suggestion on the U 40s with the line you draw with marker.

Up to you, what you have time for and what you feel comfortable with.
 
I went to WalMart today to buy syringes and testing strips. They wanted to see my script for the syringes. That was a first and I've never had a script. Fortunately, the pharmacist on duty remembered me from another time and said she'd put a script on file for me? And I had to go to a second WalMart to get the box of 100 test strips.

That's what I like to do on my vacation!!! Shop at WalMart. NOT.
 
At least you didn't have to do it at 2am when the scary people are shopping!
carl
 
Had that happen at a CVS while trying to buy syringes. They refused to sell them to me until I showed them a script. They told me it was up to the pharmacist as to the policy of each individual store. Seems there's a lawsuit somewhere holding some pharmacy liable for selling a bad person some syringes. Maybe their policy is for that same reason???

Normally nice, sweet me kinda lost it and sweetly told them what they could do with their syringes....

Glad you got yours worked out!!! Congrats on the home testing decision too!
 
Hello. Some kitties are more sensitive to carbs than others. Changing to the low carb wet food made a huge difference for my cat Max. I'm wondering if you are seeing some of the same here with Ozzie. It took a little while for me to figure out a dose because it kept changing, decreasing, which is a good thing...shows the diet and insulin are working their magic and Ozzie is feeling better. Like the others have already suggested, I would reduce the dose (maybe .25u if you're in the low 200's) and consider trying out the U100 syringes using the conversion chart. I think it's worth being able to measure the smaller doses more accurately (but definitely no fun if you've already invested in some U40 syringes). Be sure to get the U100's with 1/2 unit markings. Sue's suggestion is good too (marking about where .25u would be). I did that for a couple days until I could get the other syringes.

If you're interested and don't already have it, here's the link to the handy dandy conversion chart...
http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm
 
Hi all Ozzie's PMPS at +11.5 was 130.

No shot tonight I take.

Just wondering how to proceed with him AM?

I hope the diet change may have my bud OTJ sooner!
 
Vhens2211 said:
Hi all Ozzie's PMPS at +11.5 was 130.

No shot tonight I take.

Just wondering how to proceed with him AM?

I hope the diet change may have my bud OTJ sooner!

You got it, no shot tonight. :-D Any chance you could sneak one quick test in tonight if your schedule permits? If his pancreas is trying to work, it'd be helpful to see what his BG is after he's had food but no insulin. If the number you get is less than his PMPS, his pancreas is starting to work again. If the number is higher after food, not to fear, he just might still need a little help from a tiny bit of insulin for a few more days.

And I agree with Sue, if he's over 200 tomorrow's AMPS, the half of a half on the U40. If under 200, nothing.

Give that boy some scritches and lovin' from us!
 
Ok.. so where can I get syringes where they won't give me a hard time?

I used the U40 this morning for the .25, but it seemed like a teeny drop!

Would my vet have them? Ozzie is going there Sat.

I have a feeling my vet won't be happy I reduced his dose on my own!
 
Others can tell you exactly what and where for the syringes. I never had to use them.

As far as your vet, I would take the ss and start with "He is doing so well!". Should be hard for him to argue with success, and impossible for him to argue you should have stayed with the original dose.
 
I get U-100 syringes with half-unit marks at WalMart; they've never asked me for a prescription although apparently some do. I think someone else said they get theirs at Walgreens. You should be able to get them at any pharmacy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top