Overwhelmed and scared

Status
Not open for further replies.

Oonagh's Mom

Member Since 2014
My cat was just diagnosed on the 17th. Her blood sugar was in the 400 range (however, I'd just fed her dry food and didn't think about it until after we left the vet's office.) Not only is all the information I am reading just blowing my mind, but there is the cost. My vet wants my cat on Vetsulin, and he strongly urged me to buy her a prescription brand of cat food. I chose the canned because it costs less, but then saw that it has plant based ingredients in it. (It's DM by Purina.) (Up until Saturday, I was strictly giving Iam's Indoor Weight/hair ball control as I also have a long-haired cat.)

So far, I have not felt able to afford the insulin, AND the food AND the cost of weekly monitoring at his office until her blood sugar regulates.

I have tried to find insulin on-line and found the kind he wants Oonagh to use, but of course, when I called the vet's office, I was given many reasons why it is a bad idea to order it online.

I am in tears today. I am scared I won't be able to give Oonagh the quality of care she deserves, I don't know anyone I could give her to, not to mention, I don't think I'm quite at that point where I could give her to a stranger, and I'm afraid, after reading all these articles, that she will become seriously ill and die. She's only 8 1/2. She's my baby. I adopted her the year after I had cancer and I can't bear to lose her. I don't know what to do!

I know people who have dogs who've had diabetes and have been told that in Texas, the people there didn't go for pet insulin so my sister could get non-prescription over the counter. I am really thinking about trying that, but I don't know how my vet would react if I bought generic insulin at Wal-Mart. (my sister's dog's vet never did blood tests either, but I know dogs and cats are different so I wouldn't even begin to know if this could apply to a cat.)

And one of my co-workers tells me to trust my vet, but she is a nurse and earns a lot more than I do, so she doesn't understand my own financial situation.

Is anyone else trying having these same money issues?

Thanks to anyone who can reply.
 
Hi there! I'm new too.

You're amazing! You fought cancer? You can handle this sugarcat thing, no problem!

I don't want to talk against your vet, my own clinic (very aware of my own limited finances) told me that Fancy Feast Classic turned out to be some of the best cat food for diabetic kitties. They sent me home with a mix of the classic and the purinas to see what the Theo cat will like best, as well as a baggy of the Purina DM dry. I thought that was one of the saving graces - the best food happens to be the most inexpensive. :) Theo's going on Lantus which is pretty pricy around here and has no generic (are you US based? I got mine at Rite Aid using a discount card and a membership card - saved me about $50). My vet says it's got the best remission rates she's seen and if he doesn't show some signs of going over the falls, we'll switch to a cheaper alternative. Again, I can't speak for your cat, but perhaps call around and get some second opinions? It seems to me that diabetes could be a cash crop for a vet who wants to take advantage.
 
Hi sugarkitty Oonagh and your mom and welcome to the message board. Would you please introduce your mom to us? Maybe share her first name?

There are ways to save money with this diagnosis of diabetes. We can help you find some alternatives to what your vet has suggested.

The 3 important factors in treating feline diabetes are:
1. A good long lasting insulin that works well for cats. Like Lantus, Levimir or Prozinc.
2. A low carb, wet food diet. Like Friskies pates, Fancy Feast pate style or Wellness grain free. All nice and low carb for our sugarkitties.
3. Home testing. You can learn to home test your cats BG (blood glucose) levels at home. We've taught many people over the internet. Saves money over having the vet do the testing and it's more accurate and less stressful on your cat.

Do you live in the United States? You mentioned Texas, so I'm thinking you might live there.

Breath. We'll help you through this.
 
Vetsulin isn't as good as the options Deb gave. It's harsher and doesn't last as long.

Don't worry! You're in the best place to help your kitty! One step at a time...friskies classic pates are cheap and good for diabetic kitties. Can you afford those? That's what all mine eat now! It's about 45 to 50 cents for a 5.5 oz can.
 
Hi Oonagh and her Mommy! :YMHUG:

You have definitely come to the right place. We live and breathe feline diabetes 24x7 and will be able to help you with the day-to-day management of this disease. For the cost, it initially seems a nightmare because you're having to buy everything up front and you don't yet know of cheaper ways of doing things. Over time, however, this cost is significantly decreased. I was just commenting to my brother the other day that Mikey's diabetes only costs me less than $30 a month extra for insulin, syringes, and testing supplies (and I test a lot).

Feel free to take back the expensive prescription food and simply tell your vet Oonagh won't eat it and you should get a full refund under Purina's "guarantee." Since it's pork liver-based, most cats grow tired of it anyway once the novelty wears off.

Our feline friends are obligate carnivores, meaning that they all need low carb, wet food, as explained by Dr. Pierson at catinfo.org. For our diabetics, you'll want foods with less than 8-10% calories from carbs, the lower the better (Column C). Many people here feed their kitties the Fancy Feast Classics, Wellness Grain Free, and Friskies Pates. And your other kitty will also benefit from the diet change. I have two long-hairs (only one diabetic) and they both eat the same thing (Friskies Special Diet Pates) with no weight or hairball issues. :-D

Since you haven't yet started her on insulin, my suggestion would be to transition her to low carb, wet food first and learn how to home-test. This will also save you from having to take Oonagh to the vet's every week for "monitoring" since you'll be able to do it at home. After about a week on the new diet, she might become diet-controlled and never need to start insulin in the first place. :thumbup There's a "getting started" shopping list at the bottom of this page that will help give you an idea of what you'll need.

If she's still running in higher numbers, then you'll want to start insulin, but there are quite a few cost-saving techniques to do so and you can even apply with Diabetic Cats in Need to see if they'll be able to help. Vetsulin is not a good insulin for cats. There are only three insulins recommended by the American Animal Hospital Association for long-term use in felines: Lantus (glargine), Levemir (detemir), or PZI/ProZinc. The cheapest insulin per unit is actually the Lantus if you get a prescription for it in pen form and can find a pharmacy that will sell you the pens individually. You use the pen the same as you would an insulin vial: with a syringe (and not the pen tips they try to give you). Lantus also has a proven protocol with an estimate of about 86% of cats achieving remission while on it, meaning they no longer require insulin shots. You can also buy online, but you'll want to be careful if you do decide to go that route.

I hope some of this has eased your mind a bit. This disease is manageable and you've found yourself in the best place you never wished to be. ;-)
 
Hello Oonagh & Mum,welcome aboard.
We have all started this journey feeling scared and alone,put your trust in these amazingly knowledgable people who will support you every step of the way,one day at a time,let them be your guide,believe me it does get better.
Good luck. Bailey & Diane
 
Thank you everyone. I think my vet is a very kind person, but I begin to have doubts about the cat food when I saw that it had wheat, corn AND soy in it.

And then he only seems to offer Vetsulin or another that is even more expensive. I called his office the other day and spoke to (I am assuming a vet tech) who was very discouraging about ordering insulin meds on-line (MUCH cheaper that way) and it left a bad taste in my mouth. I hate to say they are trying to milk a cash cow, but...l.

I already explained to him that I might have trouble with all the expense, and he did mention maybe doing something to help me with payments. I have to admit, it embarrassed me at the time, but I will be speaking with them about that again on Saturday (when I'm not at work).

Thank you for responding. I have just been overwhelmed and yesterday, I was just basically told very strongly by a family member that I can't afford the care and it was like someone ripping my heart out.

Thank you for the advice on food and insulin. Does anyone know if cats can take the over-the counter human insulin from Wal-Mart? (So far, my Oonagh is still very "bouncy" but i want to be prepared.)
 
This article by DCIN, tells you how to get Lantus insulin at a better cost. You need a prescription for the pens from your vet.

Does anyone know if cats can take the over-the counter human insulin from Wal-Mart?
Yes, they can but we do not recommend the use of NPH insulins such as Humulin N or Novolin N insulins for use in cats. This is because:
1. Duration - does not usually last more than 6-8 hours
2. Very quick onset, when the insulin begins working
3. Steep drops. A cat can go from a BG of 400 to 90 in an hour or two.
4. Harsh. These quick drops make your cat feel awful.
5. Needs intensive home monitoring to prevent hypoglycemia

You will find that very few people on this message board have any experience in using the NPH insulin types. Yes, the initial cost of the Lantus pen, around $90 may be more than the NPH insulin at $20-30, but the Lantus is much safer for your cat. That pen of Lantus will last you about 2 months at normal doses.

You may want to review this Humulin 101 primer if you are thinking of using the NPH insulin.
 
My Lily is on 2 units of Novolin 2x a dayfrom Wal-mart ($25) and she is doing well on it. I do wait an hour after she eats before I give her the insulin. I too have to be careful of finances and also have a vet that is against home testing. I am not listening to him as I feel that he is also 'milking' the situation. These fine people have made me believe that home testing is the way to go. I am still struggling with testing, but won't give up. I will check in with the vet periodically, but I plan to home test for the long haul. She is gaining weight again and is alert and playful. I must be doing something right. She also eat Fancy Feast Pate and Friskies Pate from the low carb list found on this site.

Good luck and don't give up on your sugarbaby!
 
Welcome to the BEST place for you and you kittie. I too was new 2 weeks ago and very overwhelmed with having to learn about diabetes quickly. The people on here helped me through it, as they will help you.

One thing I will say as I found out - Vets do not know what is always best for our kitties. But on here we are all dealing with the same thing, so my advice to you as I learned is to listen to people here. They definitely know what is best and have the interest of YOUR kittie and will guide you all the way.

Soon you will be comfortable and see the results.

Trust what you read here, it's an amazing place
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top