Sarah12
Member Since 2019
Hi,
I have lurked here before over the last several months now and then trying to juggle advice from here with advice from vets. I should have posted here long ago but I'm not sure why I didn't...
Yoda is my 13-14 year old diagnosed with a BG of 800 spring of 2018. Things on the number front have by comparison been better, physically he has become nearly skin and bones and his behavior has worsened (from feeling terrible all the time probably). I have not been a great pet owner for him I don't think. I don't want to make excuses for it. Things are sometimes not kept track of very great and I apologize.
I will try to summarize the important bits of current events with him, it has been a long road with a LOT of changes which would be a lot of write up. I can answer questions if you have about his history. This last April Yoda changed vets after a hypo emergency one night, at this point he was on 12 units of Vetsulin (yeah, I know). The new vet put him on Lantus. This was started at 0.5 units and moved up by 0.5 until it was at 3.5 and back to 3.0. Along with this I then switched his food from Friskies pate to FF, saw a bit lower numbers, then to Tiki Cat which dropped them quite a bit (this is when it was moved to 3.0). There was still little regulation at this point as it mainly bounced with a only a few good curves speckled in.
This is the important bit as I think when I first got that first bottle of Lantus, at some point soon after it was frozen and thawed in the fridge. I say this because I got a new bottle after hardly any lower numbers in BG this last month, and with 3 units from that new bottle he was hitting 80-70-60-50 numbers right around dinner and shot time. We took the units back a little bit until I decided to start from 0.5 again to stop the low preshot numbers. You will notice I was changing dosage up and down last week and before that before I read that is probably not a good idea with Lantus.
Sorry I only have a week of good data right now, I do have the numbers but not the exact units for before that for a time while we were changing it. When I get more time I'll go back through my meter to before the new Lantus bottle where I think the dose was consistently at 3.0 units. I do have some older numbers with units from June if that would be helpful.
The last week he has started peeing in places he never did before. He is going to the vet to check for a UTI, but I'm afraid it may be stress related from things other family members are doing and his bad BG.
Any guidance would be appreciated, I need help so badly and I want him to gain weight and feel like a normal kitty again. He eats 3 6 oz cans of Tiki Cat a day but is still hungry all the time. He will eat ANYTHING he can find, so accidents do happen. If I let him eat as much as he wanted he would eat until throwing up...I also can't afford that much Tiki Cat. I use a Relion Prime meter also.
I have lurked here before over the last several months now and then trying to juggle advice from here with advice from vets. I should have posted here long ago but I'm not sure why I didn't...
Yoda is my 13-14 year old diagnosed with a BG of 800 spring of 2018. Things on the number front have by comparison been better, physically he has become nearly skin and bones and his behavior has worsened (from feeling terrible all the time probably). I have not been a great pet owner for him I don't think. I don't want to make excuses for it. Things are sometimes not kept track of very great and I apologize.
I will try to summarize the important bits of current events with him, it has been a long road with a LOT of changes which would be a lot of write up. I can answer questions if you have about his history. This last April Yoda changed vets after a hypo emergency one night, at this point he was on 12 units of Vetsulin (yeah, I know). The new vet put him on Lantus. This was started at 0.5 units and moved up by 0.5 until it was at 3.5 and back to 3.0. Along with this I then switched his food from Friskies pate to FF, saw a bit lower numbers, then to Tiki Cat which dropped them quite a bit (this is when it was moved to 3.0). There was still little regulation at this point as it mainly bounced with a only a few good curves speckled in.
This is the important bit as I think when I first got that first bottle of Lantus, at some point soon after it was frozen and thawed in the fridge. I say this because I got a new bottle after hardly any lower numbers in BG this last month, and with 3 units from that new bottle he was hitting 80-70-60-50 numbers right around dinner and shot time. We took the units back a little bit until I decided to start from 0.5 again to stop the low preshot numbers. You will notice I was changing dosage up and down last week and before that before I read that is probably not a good idea with Lantus.
Sorry I only have a week of good data right now, I do have the numbers but not the exact units for before that for a time while we were changing it. When I get more time I'll go back through my meter to before the new Lantus bottle where I think the dose was consistently at 3.0 units. I do have some older numbers with units from June if that would be helpful.
The last week he has started peeing in places he never did before. He is going to the vet to check for a UTI, but I'm afraid it may be stress related from things other family members are doing and his bad BG.
Any guidance would be appreciated, I need help so badly and I want him to gain weight and feel like a normal kitty again. He eats 3 6 oz cans of Tiki Cat a day but is still hungry all the time. He will eat ANYTHING he can find, so accidents do happen. If I let him eat as much as he wanted he would eat until throwing up...I also can't afford that much Tiki Cat. I use a Relion Prime meter also.

...