ehsuan
Member
Hi, I hope I am posting to the right place. It has been years (and it was on the old board) since I've been here. Back in 2007 my cat, Tableau, was diagnosed with diabetes. After the incredible support of this board, using PZI and Tight regulation, he went into remission after about 3 months. All has been good, until now. I had noticed him urinating alot and had lost weight, so I just tested him (it's been about 3 months since I last tested) and his BG is 506!!!
Recently, he underwent radiation therapy for nasal cancer. He also has recently been put back on Lactulose, for constipaiton. The vet said she didn't think the lactulose would have any effect on making him diabetic, but now I'm wondering if she was wrong, or if it's because of the effects of the radiation, or if it's just his time to become diabetic again. He has been on homemade wet food since 2007 - absolutely no dry food or high carb food.
So, that's his history. One question I have is about PZI. Last I had heard it was no longer available in the U.s. I just did a quick search of this board and it looks like it can be special ordered ...can anyone direct me to the best place to get it properly made? I am in Southern California. Is this still the preferred insulin for tight regulation?
Does anyone have an informed opinion about the lactulose? COuld this be what's tipped him back over to diabetes? He's been on it for about 2 1/2 weeks, so it does seem pretty suspicious, timing-wise. OR could the radiation have something to do with this? I don't really see how, but...
The other thing that's changed is that he's had a herpes outbreak which the vet prescribed a 2 x a day "treat" called optixcare. I wonder if this has pushed him over the edge?
Anyway. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. This is so depressing with all his other health issues, to now come back to diabetes. Ugh. But I know that I will get the answers and support I need from this incredible board. Thank you so much!
Recently, he underwent radiation therapy for nasal cancer. He also has recently been put back on Lactulose, for constipaiton. The vet said she didn't think the lactulose would have any effect on making him diabetic, but now I'm wondering if she was wrong, or if it's because of the effects of the radiation, or if it's just his time to become diabetic again. He has been on homemade wet food since 2007 - absolutely no dry food or high carb food.
So, that's his history. One question I have is about PZI. Last I had heard it was no longer available in the U.s. I just did a quick search of this board and it looks like it can be special ordered ...can anyone direct me to the best place to get it properly made? I am in Southern California. Is this still the preferred insulin for tight regulation?
Does anyone have an informed opinion about the lactulose? COuld this be what's tipped him back over to diabetes? He's been on it for about 2 1/2 weeks, so it does seem pretty suspicious, timing-wise. OR could the radiation have something to do with this? I don't really see how, but...
The other thing that's changed is that he's had a herpes outbreak which the vet prescribed a 2 x a day "treat" called optixcare. I wonder if this has pushed him over the edge?
Anyway. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. This is so depressing with all his other health issues, to now come back to diabetes. Ugh. But I know that I will get the answers and support I need from this incredible board. Thank you so much!