Out of remission after 4 years

Status
Not open for further replies.

ehsuan

Member Since 2011
Hi, I hope I am posting to the right place. It has been years (and it was on the old board) since I've been here. Back in 2007 my cat, Tableau, was diagnosed with diabetes. After the incredible support of this board, using PZI and Tight regulation, he went into remission after about 3 months. All has been good, until now. I had noticed him urinating alot and had lost weight, so I just tested him (it's been about 3 months since I last tested) and his BG is 506!!!

Recently, he underwent radiation therapy for nasal cancer. He also has recently been put back on Lactulose, for constipaiton. The vet said she didn't think the lactulose would have any effect on making him diabetic, but now I'm wondering if she was wrong, or if it's because of the effects of the radiation, or if it's just his time to become diabetic again. He has been on homemade wet food since 2007 - absolutely no dry food or high carb food.

So, that's his history. One question I have is about PZI. Last I had heard it was no longer available in the U.s. I just did a quick search of this board and it looks like it can be special ordered ...can anyone direct me to the best place to get it properly made? I am in Southern California. Is this still the preferred insulin for tight regulation?

Does anyone have an informed opinion about the lactulose? COuld this be what's tipped him back over to diabetes? He's been on it for about 2 1/2 weeks, so it does seem pretty suspicious, timing-wise. OR could the radiation have something to do with this? I don't really see how, but...

The other thing that's changed is that he's had a herpes outbreak which the vet prescribed a 2 x a day "treat" called optixcare. I wonder if this has pushed him over the edge?

Anyway. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. This is so depressing with all his other health issues, to now come back to diabetes. Ugh. But I know that I will get the answers and support I need from this incredible board. Thank you so much!
 
From the little I know lactuolose is sugar substances, as lactose. It says on mine that 1 ml contain 80 mg lactose. I have been very cautious to use it to my diabetic Simba.

The rest I don't know anything about as the radiation therapy's effect on the production of internal glucose.
 
a good guess would be the lactulose. I would ditch that and put on mirilax and see what happens. he may go back down on his own. can give mirilax 1/8tsp -1/4 tsp Bid. just sprinkle on food
 
Idexx PZI was discontinued. BCP PZI is still available and you can ask your vet to order your first vial for free. http://www.bcpvetpharm.com/products_bovine.htm There is a link at the bottom of the page for your vet to submit the request.

Other options that works well in cats are Lantus & Levemir. These are human insulin that is long acting like PZI. If you decide to use either one of these, ask your vet for the prescription for either the pens or cartridges. The cost is initially higher than a vial, but you get 5 in a prescription. Since both have a limited shelf life, it is very rare you would be able to use a whole vial. With the pens or cartridges, you will be able to use almost every drop and one prescription is enough insulin to last almost a year for most cats. There is also coupons for both in the Supply Closet.
 
I'm not a big fan of Lactulose. It's messy, expensive, and does contain sugar.

You can get Miralax, or house-brand versions of it (Polyethylene Glygol ) at most
pharmacies.

1/4 tsp to 1/2 tsp 2x/day...mixed into food, and add some additional water to
the food. Like a Tablespoon.
Its' a tasteless, odorless, white powder and most cats don't even notice it.
 
hoping you can remedy this with making a switch of those medications.
I too had to come back after 2.5 in remission with Tom
I too got Tom into remission the first time with the old PZI
Our next venture in with the new PZ was --- not so good.
After nearly a year of exasperation I tried Levemir and the results were within weeks.
Tom is nearly in remission again....barring his most recent decline in health----he was on his way to remission nicely.

Moral to the story...If you do need to use insulin again. Try Levemir or Lantus
And Best of luck that you never do need it at all>
Lori
 
If you haven't done so, I'd also have a blood check done for Hyperthyroidism. Simon was off
insulin for six years until this May, when I noticed what you did, the drinking/peeing/weight loss, and tested him
and he was high 400s. When we had a senior panel done, the HT was also diagnosed. Apparently the HT
can cause/contribute to a return of the FD. After getting the HT under control with Tapazole, and 3 months
on Lantus, he's back in remission. I'd also highly recommend you try Lantus (or Levemir) if Tableau needs insulin again.

Best of luck!
 
Thanks everyone for your ideas. I really appreciate it. Bruce and Simon - Tableau's at the vet right now so I've asked them to test for hyper-thyroidism, too, so thanks for that. I've also stopped the lactulose (and picked up some Mirolex) as well as stopping the l-lysine treats.

I really appreciate the feedback.
Thank you!
Emily and Tableau
 
ehsuan said:
Thanks everyone for your ideas. I really appreciate it. Bruce and Simon - Tableau's at the vet right now so I've asked them to test for hyper-thyroidism, too, so thanks for that. I've also stopped the lactulose (and picked up some Mirolex) as well as stopping the l-lysine treats.

I really appreciate the feedback.
Thank you!
Emily and Tableau

I wouldn't stop the L-lysine but don't give it via the optixcare treats. Looks like they contain sugar:

http://www.medi-vet.com/prod-Optixcare_L_Lysine_Chews_For_Cats,_60_Soft_Chews-5420.aspx

You can give L-lysine in powder form mixed into their food. Pretty tasteless. Just give 250 mg. twice a day.

http://www.iherb.com/Now-Foods-L-Lysine-Powder-1-lb-454-g/653?at=0

You don't want to keep giving it indefinitely though, just until the sniffles are gone (I wonder though could that just be because his nasal passages are still healing?)
 
Thanks, I will switch to the powder. He's had a rough road. Part of the nasal thing is because of the cancer, but they also think it's herpes-related (he had a flare uo in his eyes after the radiation). The nasal discharge was so severe after the radiation, that they finally did a culture and found that it was Bortdella (sp?). So he's being treated for that and herpes. ANd today when I took him to the vet they found he was completely constipated and are trying enemas right now. This poor cat. He's been through so much lately.

Anyway...I just love this group. It's amazing the support and brain-trust here. I'm sorry to need it again, but am so grateful it (and you all) exists.

Thanks.
 
ehsuan said:
Thanks, I will switch to the powder. He's had a rough road. Part of the nasal thing is because of the cancer, but they also think it's herpes-related (he had a flare uo in his eyes after the radiation). The nasal discharge was so severe after the radiation, that they finally did a culture and found that it was Bortdella (sp?). So he's being treated for that and herpes. ANd today when I took him to the vet they found he was completely constipated and are trying enemas right now. This poor cat. He's been through so much lately.

Anyway...I just love this group. It's amazing the support and brain-trust here. I'm sorry to need it again, but am so grateful it (and you all) exists.

Thanks.

Do you mean Bartonella? If so, here is some info compliments of Google! :)

http://www.manhattancats.com/Articles/truth_about_bartonella.htm

If that is what it is, you can also do a Search here to see what others have experienced.

Strange he is constipated on a home made, low carb diet. You might look up all the medications he is on and see if any of them may cause constipation.

Hope he gets better soon. It does sound like he has been through a lot. Poor guy. Hopefully, too, the diabetes is transient once he is feeling better. Keep us posted.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top