Out of Options?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Here's a shopping list

Getting started shopping list
1. Meter ie Walmart Relion Confirm or Micro.
2. Matching strips
3. Lancets - little sticks to poke the ear to get blood . new members usually start with a larger gauge lancet such as 28g or 29g until the ear learns to bleed. Optional - lancing tool.
4. Cotton balls to stem the blood
5. Neosporin or Polysporin ointment to heal the wound
6. Mini flashlight (optional) - useful to help see the ear veins in dark cats, and to press against
7. Ketone urine test strips ie ketodiastix - Important to check ketones when blood is high
8. Sharps container - to dispose of waste syringes and lancets.
9. Treats for the cat - like freeze dried chicken
10. Karo syrup/corn syrup or honey if you dont have it at home - for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast
11. A couple of cans of fancy feast gravy lovers or other high carb gravy food- for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast
 
Thanks, Wendy! I knew there was a complete shopping list floating around here somewhere. :lol:
 
Susiep1108 said:
Thanks for the advise KPassa. I didn't realize that switching to canned foods would drop his glucose that significantly. I'm happy to hear that since his BG seems to stay in the mid-300's. I'm going to start with the dry to canned food
some kitties actually can become diet-controlled diabetics.....mot always, but ya never know :-D
 
The curve test went wrong today. His first draw read 422 and 1 1/2 hours later it was 483 and then 573. She found an infected pea-sized tumor on his gums. She is thinking this is for the resistance all along! She will do the curve again in 10 days after this growth is cut off today. She also is willing to try the Friskies diet and see if there is any difference after the next curve test. I'm happy that she is willing to work with me. I just wish my printer was working to show her some of the spreadsheets that are posted.
 
She found an infected pea-sized tumor on his gums

I'm certainly no expert, but I'd think that could cause some wonky numbers!!

Good to hear your vet is willing to work with you too. What I did was give my vet the URL of the message board so he could do a little "educating" on his own!

Be sure to only get the Friskies pate's....the ones with gravy and sauces are too high in carbs. From what I've learned, we're shooting for 10% or under

Here's a link to a list of a lot of the foods and their breakdown...Carbs is the 3rd column of numbers (scroll down a little way to find brands/flavors/types)
http://www.catinfo.org/docs/FoodChartPublic9-22-12.pdf
 
ANY infection can cause the blood sugar to rise as a result and he could come down quite rapidly once the infection is gone! Did the vet put Buggers on antibiotics too?

And a change to a low carb food will help too. But you need to be real careful here, both these things could cause an almost immediate drop in BG... especially removal of the infection.

I know you havent started home testing and I wish you would as I am very worried here about this setting Buggers up for a hypo . So...

1. did the vet recommend an insulin decrease? My cat, I am cutting the insulin in half at least and testing the urine for sugar (? can you do that? Urine test strips are cheap)
2. Test the urine for sugar - if you dont see sugar - call the vet and reduce the dose
3. Here is info on hypos - print it out and stick to your fridge!! http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=15887 and get together a hypo kit now. We are playing Russian roulette a bit here..


IN CASE OF EMERGENCY - YOUR HYPO KIT
Put together NOW the following items and put in an easily accessible place!
Phone number of your vet
Phone number, address and map/directions to your nearest emergency vet (or phone number of the cab company and some cash/credit card)
Karo syrup, honey or corn syrup
High carb canned food with gravy – 2-3 cans
Some favourite treats
Spare pack of 25 blood glucose strips
Coffee for you ;)

Wendy
 
She thinks the growth may have been started two months ago when he was diagnosed. So that lead to insulin resistance. I'm hoping the biopsy shows it is benign. She wanted to keep him on 4 units but I will definitely mention it to her tomorrow. You have a point that with the removal of the growth and antibiotics, that his BG will drop. I'm hoping it does greatly! Not because I want him in shock but just want him better and tired of constantly testing and raising his insulin level.

You all have been there and know that this whole process is stressful!
 
Susiep1108 said:
She thinks the growth may have been started two months ago when he was diagnosed. So that lead to insulin resistance. I'm hoping the biopsy shows it is benign. She wanted to keep him on 4 units but I will definitely mention it to her tomorrow. You have a point that with the removal of the growth and antibiotics, that his BG will drop. I'm hoping it does greatly! Not because I want him in shock but just want him better and tired of constantly testing and raising his insulin level.

You all have been there and know that this whole process is stressful!

It is absolutely stressful! And that's why we're also here: to offer emotional support when you need it. :-D Please keep us posted on how everything goes! :YMHUG:
 
The growth removed. Now I'm fighting extreme lethargy. He has only drank a little all day. The vet doesn't know if it is extremely high or low. I'm pumping him up with maple syrup. My 3 y/o is telling me he is a live and it is fine. The vet said part of the problem is he didn't eat a thing. I didn't know eating was required. There is just so much to know about this disease and there should be classed held to learn it. I get to learn as I go! :lol: The laughing face is because Lily thinks the emoticon are cool.
 
I equate this sugardance to a crash course, college master's degree level in Feline Diabetes Management. You will all receive your diplomas when your cat goes OTJ or is well regulated and you start helping others. Grading is on a Pass/Fail basis. We need everyone to pass this course to help their kitties the best they can.

Yes, there is a lot to learn. Keep asking questions. Read other new members posts. We may have mentioned something that you did not know about in another post.
 
Hi, Susie:

I am pretty new to all this FB myself, but wanted to drop in and welcome you.

My kitty was dealing with an asthma attack when they found the diabetes. Long story short, it's been about a month for me here now.

I think if there was anything I could add here is how really really important it is to home-test. Injecting insulin, or not injecting it, without testing is, in my opinion, shooting in the dark.

With testing, it gives you a bit of predictability in where kitty is going to go after the dose or without it, which is imperative for those of us who work and have busy schedules. But it also gives a HUGE peace of mind being prepared.

I considered this crash course in FB as learning backwards really. I had all the equipment...had the diabetic kitty...then learned as I went day to day with support from this awesome group, which fortunately for me, was given to me by my vet who is totally on board with the protocols here. She even borrowed me her own extra personal meter until I could get my own, complete with strips and lancets. She also has a diabetic cat.

Testing is not as traumatic to kitty as it is to us I think. I remember the first night I "attempted" to poke him...I totally had the wrong spot on the ear UGH, but he just took it and gave me faces from time to time...of course he got LOTS of treats!! That's probably why he tolerated it :lol:

I never did get a test that first night, but then I read up on that "sweet spot" on his ear, and now he comes to me, lays down, and lets me poke away (only one poke now..I'm pretty good at it now :-D )

The next night, I tried again, and we had SUCCESS! It took just a bit to get a nice size bead, but it took only 2 pokes, lots more treats, and even after that he just stayed where he was and cat napped.

Anyway, this is just my experience, and I honestly never thought I could be able to do this. When I went in to the vet for my Crash Course in FD, they had a hospital kitty there (they also had ones out for adoption) that they wanted me to get a test on and do an injection (saline). I didn't even attempt the test, and got as far as tenting his belly, and I had a meltdown...right in front of a young very good looking male tech (UGH!!) I cried like a baby wondering how the heck am I gonna do this for Poe????

But, here I am, almost a month later....testing him several times a day and shooting him (which I think is easier :P), and knowing that when I do dose him, I will know that when I test him 2 hours later after the dose where he is going for the cycle and can rest easy if I have to leave. Although, to be honest, I do always leave him food out.

Wishing you the best in this journey....this board might be the one place you don't want to be, but the best place you can be when you find yourself on this road.
 
Was Buggers put under when the growth was removed? I wonder if this is related to the anaesthetic.

I know you arent home testing but I know a way we can kinda find out if this is high or low blood sugar. Go pick up some urine glucose strips and test his pee ( I can give tips as how to do this). They are cheap ( ketostix). If there is no sugar in the urine he is low , if there is high sugar in the urine.. he is high! It gives you a kind of average over the last 12 hours or so depending on how much he drank and when he last went pee.

Wendy
 
Wendy,
Buggers was under anesthesia for his surgery. He is now hospitalized for ketosis. He stopped eating and I thought he was dead last night when I got home. I gave him syrup and took him to the vet this morning. It's a relief not to have him here as far as feeding my other cats and worrying about him in general. I keep wondering and pondering to call the vet and tell him just to put him down. Then I think this may be just a stumbling block and the biopsy may come back benign. It's so hard.

I'm thinking I should home test then I would have known last night that his blood sugar was high and not have given him syrup. I'm wondering if there is anyone that has the testing supplies that aren't using them anymore, that would be willing to pass them on to me? I just PM'ed two people that are offering them but don't know if they are gone to someone else already.
 
Hi Susie-I'm sorry ur having a hard time. My cat Bob was diagnosed about 7-8 weeks ago. He was on prozinc insulin for 6 weeks and his numbers would fluctuate between 300's and 600s. He was like a zombie and I was horribly depressed and felt helpless. I finally took him to a specialists and she ruled out other causes and changed his insulin. I'm just now starting to see it affect his numbers. Don't give up!! Everyone here is very helpful and u just have to take things one day at a time. I have a relion micro meter and supplies I can send to u if u haven't found one yet. I can overnite to u on Monday so u will receive on tues. just pm and let me know. Testing is HUGE. My vet said I'm one of only 2 ppl he's ever seen test at home. Crazy! U have to know what's going on.
 
Did you try the diabetic cats in need request in the supply closet of this board? They might help with a free meter etc http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=29535

Or you could go to Walmart if you are in the US. I got these prices from the Walmart website

Relion prime $17
Pack of 50 matching strips $9
Pack of 210 lancets $6
Urine ketone test strips $7 (good to have)
Neosporin pain relief $8
Keeping your cat safe $priceless ;)

Wendy
 
It is so hard to acclimate to home testing right away. My Abigail was on insulin for 10 months before I started. The vet who diagnosed her never mentioned it. She was very nice but the hospital where I go let her go and said she was not up to their protocol. The vet I see now is awesome and super impressed with the urine testing, and the blood glucose readings. It's a lot to take in but its the little things that get you excited. When I see their numbers in the right range. When Abigail eats! It's a process but the more you invest you most likely will have a regulated kitty.
 
I don't know what level he is in. I know this morning when the vet called that his BG was down to 61 from over 600 and he was still very lethargic. He wouldn't lift his head. The Lasix cause him to pee.

I let Buggers go. The vet was thinking that the growth that was his gums may be elsewhere and causing his poor health. He and I tried really hard for 2 months for fight his diabetic numbers so I'm done.

Thanks all for the information and help.

Susan :(
 
Oh Susan--I wish I lived near you so I could give you lots of hugs. You've made the kindest and loving decision for Buggers. As the tears are flowing down my face, I'm am truly so sorry. You did everything you could and you did a great job. You've showed him just how much you love him. I seriously believe that animals have souls and therefore he's in a wonderful place, prancing around in perfect help, waiting for the day when his mommy comes home. Believe me, you did the right thing. I'll miss you on this board and I respect your decision; I've had to make that decision several times and it was one of the hardest things I've ever done in my life. With love and compassion, Kat
 
Oh Susan, I'm so sorry for your loss. We did not realize the extent of the health problems that Buggers was having.

We all reach a point where we have to decide if the quality of life for our kitties is good enough to keep them with us a bit longer or let them go. Buggers was telling you to let him go and you listened. This is the hardest and kindest decision we can make for any of our pets.

Crying tears of sympathy here with you. Take care of yourself. You have a hole in your heart now where Buggers used to be. In time, you will remember all the good times you had with him and know how blessed you were to have each other in your lives.

We have all been there. We understand and will support you in anyway we can. There is a Grief forum here. Please, when you feel able, post there all you want.

{{{{{{{Susan}}}}}}}
 
Thank you all so much. I didn't know all of his health problems either. The vet is just assuming that cancer is the underlying cause of his numbers remaining constant, more or less. She said he has been the hardest cat so far to treat, again not responding to any level of insulin. I will tell you like I told the vet, it was a relief when he wasn't here because we have other animals and always had to worry if the dog food was on the floor still, so he didn't get any and so on. I tried but he wasn't responding. The vet also stated how strong he was because he didn't pass on his own.

My 3 y/o told me after I told her that her BugABoos has died, she said we could go to the animal shelter and get another because they have lots of them. I smiled and laughed so she said see I make you smile!
 
I am so sorry and send my deepest condolences. It's never easy to make that decision, but there are times when it is the best decision...sometimes doing the right this IS the hardest thing.

Buggers now runs and pounces freely...healed and happy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top