Hello everyone,
I am from Germany so please excuse any mistakes.
My cat has been diagnosed with diabetes about 1,5 months ago. We were given ProZinc and started with 1,2 I.E., currently we are at 3 I.E. since monday (today is friday).
We do glucose testing at home at least 3x/day, pre shot and 1-2, sometimes 3× in between. Our cat really helps us by being very cooperative, he is a sweetheart!
At first, we barely ever had blood Glucose levels above 400.
It was often in the 300s and the Nadir usually was in the lower/mid 200s, sometimes a bit lower. We increased the dose with our vet 0,3-0,5 I.E. at a time a few times.
It will usually be like this:
- numbers are high/ very high most of the times
- New dose gives us a few "better" numbers the next day, usually in the morning but not the whole day. We never had a completely good day until now.
- after that the numbers stay high again. We do have a drop/nadir but overall the numbers stay way too high and there is no improvement to lower doses. I know about Bonuces but this longer than a few days. Can bounces last a week and longer?
- if we miss a dose (because fur injection etc.) Sometimes his numbers become better(??). This only happened two times but both times we had very good numbers after the next shot. As if 1x daily was better than 2x.
- the average numbers seem to increase. Now we often have numbers over 400.
I guess when I talk to my vet he will only increase once again but I feel like maybe I am missing something?
Can anyone maybe help out here? Something I can talk about to the vet? A blind spot? Especially regarding the fact that his average glucose levels seem to climb despite medication and insulin?
I am afraid we will soon see our first 500 number and I feel so helpless. I just want to help my little friend.
some info:
He is 10 years old and not overweight. He weighs 6kg but is a tall cat so he is normal and even and rather slim. He is an indoor cat and spayed. He also has a heart conditon but gets Medication and is doing fine in that regard.
We completely eliminated dry food, added sugar and grains.
He only eats wet food (medium and good quality combined because he will lose weight and eats too little if only fed the high quality food ["mjamjam" brand])
Thanks a lot everyone!
I am from Germany so please excuse any mistakes.
My cat has been diagnosed with diabetes about 1,5 months ago. We were given ProZinc and started with 1,2 I.E., currently we are at 3 I.E. since monday (today is friday).
We do glucose testing at home at least 3x/day, pre shot and 1-2, sometimes 3× in between. Our cat really helps us by being very cooperative, he is a sweetheart!
At first, we barely ever had blood Glucose levels above 400.
It was often in the 300s and the Nadir usually was in the lower/mid 200s, sometimes a bit lower. We increased the dose with our vet 0,3-0,5 I.E. at a time a few times.
It will usually be like this:
- numbers are high/ very high most of the times
- New dose gives us a few "better" numbers the next day, usually in the morning but not the whole day. We never had a completely good day until now.
- after that the numbers stay high again. We do have a drop/nadir but overall the numbers stay way too high and there is no improvement to lower doses. I know about Bonuces but this longer than a few days. Can bounces last a week and longer?
- if we miss a dose (because fur injection etc.) Sometimes his numbers become better(??). This only happened two times but both times we had very good numbers after the next shot. As if 1x daily was better than 2x.
- the average numbers seem to increase. Now we often have numbers over 400.
I guess when I talk to my vet he will only increase once again but I feel like maybe I am missing something?
Can anyone maybe help out here? Something I can talk about to the vet? A blind spot? Especially regarding the fact that his average glucose levels seem to climb despite medication and insulin?
I am afraid we will soon see our first 500 number and I feel so helpless. I just want to help my little friend.
some info:
He is 10 years old and not overweight. He weighs 6kg but is a tall cat so he is normal and even and rather slim. He is an indoor cat and spayed. He also has a heart conditon but gets Medication and is doing fine in that regard.
We completely eliminated dry food, added sugar and grains.
He only eats wet food (medium and good quality combined because he will lose weight and eats too little if only fed the high quality food ["mjamjam" brand])
Thanks a lot everyone!
Last edited: