Our Boy Pinky -low fat cat food? (NEED EYES)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ourboypinky

Member Since 2012
Our Pinky, 11 years old neutered male, part Burmese, currently on 2 to 2 1/2 units Prozinc 2x daily.
After a few scary hypos administering 3 to 3 1/2 units 2X daily, we are wondering about the role of low fat in diet for our cat. We had fed Pinky seafood on the two documented hypo nights, a change from the usual fancy feast beef or chicken "classics." His diet also consists of "Young Again Zero Carb" dry food, the ratio of dry to wet food being 2:1.
While striving to lower carb intake, I have noticed that the fat content in the "Young Again" dry food is quite high, i.e per guaranteed analysis: Protein 55%, Crude Fat 24%, Fiber 5%, Moisture 10%. I have read that in the Burmese breed, there exists the issue of insulin resistance, stemming from that breeds high levels of recirculating trigycerides that remain in the animals bloodstream for some time after eating. These triglycerides block the effect of insulin in regulating glucose. After successfully treating Pinky with 1 to 2 units Prozinc 2X daily for some time with albeit higher BG numbers (in an effort to eliminate hypos), we are now finding that these higher 2 to 2 1/2 unit 2X daily injections are not working. We were shocked to find nadirs climb from the low 200's into the low 400's yesterday and today.
I am seeking to work a low fat food into his diet while carefully checking BG numbers this weekend. I am looking at "Weruva Paw Lickin' Chicken" with a fat content by analysis of 1.4%. Again, this will be done slowly and with careful monitoring of his BG numbers.
Does anyone on the board have any input on the role of fat, and specifically triglycerides, on the health of the diebetic feline? Anything on the "Weruva" brand of wet food? Suitability for use in a diebetec diet?
Pinky has feline FIV and a minor heart murmur. He has recently recovered from a UTI (e coli) with the aid of antibiotics. He's had a tough life, is spoiled rotten and we love him to death. TIA for any help or advice on this topic.

__________________________________________________________________

Weruva Paw Lickin' Chicken:
Ingredients:

Chicken (Boneless, Skinless, White Breast Meat), Water Sufficient For Processing Balance, Potato Starch, Sunflower Seed Oil, Dicalcium Phosphate, Xanthan Gum, Choline Chloride, Taurine, Vitamin E Supplement, Zinc Sulfate, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Nicotinic Acid (Vitamin B3), Ferrous Sulfate, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin A Supplement, Potassium Iodide, Manganese Sulfate, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Copper Sulfate, Riboflavin Supplement (Vitamin B2), Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Folic Acid, Vitamin B12 Supplement.


Analysis:

Moisture (max)85.00%
Crude Protein (min)10.00%
Ash (max)1.20%
Crude Fat (min)1.40%
Crude Fiber (max)0.50%
Calcium (max)0.20%
Magnesium (max)0.01%
Phosphorus (max)0.17%

_______________________________________________________________________________

Young Again Cat Food Ingredients:
GUARANTEED ANALYSIS: Crude Protein (min) 55%, Crude Fat/Oil (min) 24%,
Crude Fiber (max) 4%, Moisture (max) 10%.

CALORIE CONTENT: 4,070 kcals/kg (590 kcals/cup) Calculated Metabolizable
energy.

INGREDIENTS: Chicken Meal, Pork Protein Concentrate, Poultry Fat (Preserved
with Rosemary Extract, Mixed Tocopherols and Ascorbic Acid), Soya Oil, Fish
Oil, Herring Meal, Cellulose, (Source of Dietary Fiber), Fructooligosaccharides,
Natural chicken flavor, L-Lysine, Guar Gum, DL Methionine, Coconut oil, Yeast, Yeast extract,
Calcium carbonate, Taurine, L-Threonine, L-Tryptophan, Salt, Dicalcium Phosphate,
L-Carnitine, Lactobacillus Acidophilus Fermentation Product Dehydrated,
Enterococcus Faecium Fermentation Product Dehydrated, Dried Bacillus Subtilis
Fermentation Extract, Saccharomyces Cerevisiae Fermentation Product Dehydrated,
Mixed Tocopherols, Rosemary Extract, Zinc Proteinate, Yucca Schidigera Extract,
Choline Chloride, Vitamin E Supplement, Magnesium Proteinate, Betaine Anhydrous,
Ferrous Sulfate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Niacinamide, D-Biotin, Manganous
Sulfate, Vitamin A Acetate, Copper Proteinate, Thiamine Mononitrate, Folic Acid,
Riboflavin, Calcium Pantothenate, Sodium Selenite, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride,
Calcium Iodate, Calcium Propionate, N, N-Dimethylglycine (DMG) HCI, D-Activated Animal Sterol (Source of Vitamin D3), Cobalt Sulfate.
 
I know I won't be much help, but I think I know of someone who can. I've messaged Carl to see if he can take a peek. (Carl is the closest I know of to a science geek. :-D He loves this kind of stuff!)
 
Carl is best at this, but just to get you reading: www.catfood.org. This vet explains why not only are the carbs in dry food bad for felines, but also other ingredients.

The dry food is probably what is keeping Pinky in the higher numbers. Can you switch to all wet, low carb? The same website has great ideas for that.
 
Hi,
I'm not an expert, I just read a lot. Geek? Yeah, pretty much:-)
I won't be near a computer till later tonight though, but I have a couple of bookmarked sites that may shed some light once I get home.
In the meantime, you should post this in Health. There are a few very knowledgeable people on food issues that wouldn't see this posted here....
Carl
 
OK. This is the page I wanted you to see.
http://maxshouse.com/feline_nutrition.htm

It explains that cats have zero need for carbohydrates, because they can turn fat and protein into glucose for energy.

The big issue you are having is related to fat content, right? The problem with "low fat" is that it would then be higher in either protein or carbs, so as you already know, you've had to do sort of a balancing routine to find a food that won't raise BG, while at the same time your worried about the fact that he's Burmese? If lower fat means higher carbs, then that's not good. If lower fat means higher protein, that might be okay, but it's probably going to push you into the "seafood" choices, which is also not good, because then you have "mercury" concerns from eating too much seafood.

I found this, which maybe you've already seen?
Though all cats are at risk for diabetes, middle-aged and older males are more susceptible. Purebred cats tend to be at decreased risk for diabetes, except for the Burmese, which is four times more likely to be stricken with diabetes.

I can tell you that a study was done comparing Lantus to the older version of PZI and a lente insulin to see which worked best. There were Burmese cats involved in the study, and apparently what they found was that the fact that the cats were Burmese didn't matter in terms of the likelihood of going into remission. So that at least is encouraging. :smile:
http://veterinarymedicine.dvm360.co...diabeti/ArticleStandard/Article/detail/685806
The likelihood of achieving diabetic remission was not associated with breed (Burmese vs. other breeds).

I couldn't find anything quick about the triglycerides issue...

I know that dry food might be marketed as "zero carb", but I have a really hard time buying that.
These ingredients make me pause too:
Cellulose, (Source of Dietary Fiber), Fructooligosaccharides,
I guess they are logically "ok" because they aren't digestable (at least by humans), but Fructooligosaccharides, in the limited amount I read, can cause, or worsen IBD?

I did find this on the whole "Burmese" breed question though. Was your cat bred in the US, or oversees?
Diabetes mellitus (DM) is a group of disorders characterised by high levels of sugar (glucose) in the blood. It can be caused by defects in insulin secretion, insulin action or both. Most cats (>85%) have type 2 DM; a disease characterised by inadequate insulin secretion and impaired insulin action. In developed countries (e.g. UK and America) the prevalence of DM in cats is increasing, from 1 in ~1000 cats in 1970 to 1 in ~100-200 cats now. Old age, obesity and being male all predispose cats to the development of DM. While in America no particular breed of cat appears to have an increased risk for DM, in the UK, Australia, and New Zealand DM is seen most frequently in Burmese cats (in 1 in ~50 cats). It should be noted that Burmese breeders in Australia, New Zealand and the UK have not breed their cats with Burmese cats from America for over 20 years; therefore, the Burmese cats in these countries are quite different from those in America. Risk factors for the development of DM in these Burmese cats include advancing age, chronic or recurring medical problems, dental disease, repeated corticosteroid treatment, confinement indoors, lower physical activity and greater body weight; male and female Burmese cats are equally likely to develop DM.

Carl
 
Hi Richard & Michelle -

I'm not the science geek, but I've had to look around for foods w/ higher proteins. You may have already gotten a link to Janet & Binky's food list - the older one, and the newer one. I also recently saw one called Hobo's List. I wasn't looking at fat content, but I'm pretty sure it was there.

Weruva is on both lists. I've gotten some; Green Eggs & Chicken. I'll see if I can put my hand on the links for you.

Lu-Ann
 
Thank you Carl (and Grayson & Lu, Sue & Oliver, Theresa & Poopy, et al)

Although we had previously gathered some of the info supplied, there is good new information here, and we are grateful to you all for your time and effort in helping us.
Carl, all I know of Pinky's ancestory is that his dad was mostly Burmese. I don't know anything beyond that, particularly the question of American or Foreign breed. Unfortunately there is no way for us to dig deeper on this question at this time.
The balancing routine to find a food that won't raise BG will indeed push us into the "seafood" choices, which brings up the long-term exposure to mercury (tuna and mid-latitude ocean fish species). A way around this might be salmon or perhaps cod, but concerns about farmed fish come up with these choices. Discounting fish, turkey would be perhaps the ideal choice for us, followed by chicken. Besides the "Weruva", a brand called "95% Chicken and Turkey" might fill the bill. It is not so much fat in general, but the triglycerides we would be concerned with if the Burmese factor is a genuine problem. For this reason, we would want to avoid organ meat, red meat, and especially liver, all high in triglycerides.
While our last bit of advice from a vet concerning insulin was to raise Pinkys dosage to 6 units Prozinc 2X daily, we instead, with the aid of this board and some of you, managed to get better numbers by lowering to 3 units Prozinc 2X daily along with a diet change. Pinkys curve back when we started over at 1 unit 2X daily (after the hypos) can be found on this same topic header in the Health forum of FDMB.
Lastly, we will be testing for Pancreatitis via the PLI test and a culture for possible recurrence of his UTI.
Thanks again everyone for the many useful links!

R & M
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top