OTJ Trial- on the 5th/6th Day, numbers creep...Depot?

Angie & Millhouse

Member Since 2018
As a newbie, I'm thrilled at the lower numbers and the days with no shot. However, after reading more, I think I should be easing in slower. I'm thinking the numbers creep when the depot runs out. To get him to a AM/PM BG of 90 or lower, where do I reestablish a dosage? His SS is beautiful to me, but I want a lasting remission. Any suggestions are much appreciated.
 
Hi Angie, usually we take the dose down in increments of .25 with 0.1 being the last dose unless 1 drop looks like a good idea. It looks like you took Millhouse ( love the name ) from 2.25 to no shot then gave 1.25 for a cycle and then stopped again. And surprisingly, his numbers haven't been too bad since.

When they are on the OTJ trial, if you get a blue pre shot number, it's suggested to get a +3 or +4 to see if after eating he can bring himself down again showing the pancreas is working. How about seeing what the PMPS is tonight and if it's another blue, test again at +3 or +4 and see if he made it back into the greens. And then post the results to see if members think you should resume insulin and how much.
 
No, nothing really changed. I had changed his diet early on and when I eliminated the dry food, that's when I started getting blue and green. The dx was when I thought he had a UTI, but didn't.
From reading, I thought any number under 150, you don't shoot. He dropped below for multiple cycles, so I thought not shooting was right. When he has a number above 150, it was only 154 and I was afraid to give the 2.25u, so dropped it 1u. Then, low numbers again. I worry about shooting at that point, then leaving him alone when I leave for work.
 
Ok, so PMBG was 64. He then ate close to 3oz of FF roasted turkey with turkey bone broth mixed in and at +3 bg is 72. How do I resume a lower dose with numbers like that? It just seems too easy.
 
I would just keep doing what you are doing and see how he does. If his numbers start to creep up during the 14 day trial, then we can revisit if you need to restart insulin. Looking good Millhouse! :D
 
2830FC03-5412-426C-A980-4638471BF211.jpeg


I'm sending a pm with details! :)
 
Back
Top