OTJ trial have some questions

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by JenaThompson, Oct 20, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JenaThompson

JenaThompson Member

So yesterday opi started out at 51 for his amps fed him and then gave insulin a hour later(prob shouldn’t have) so he had no shot last night or this morning. His amps were 135 this morning and 90 at +4. I have no experience with the OTJ trial so wondering if the start of it is looking good and how many days with no insulin is considered in remission. We have come a long way since Jan with his numbers starting in the 700s at the vet and they basically told me we would never get to this point so I don’t want to screw it up for him.

2. jt and trouble (GA)

jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

I think its 14 days

Deb & Wink and JenaThompson like this.
  3. jt and trouble (GA)

@Panic can you confirm?

NOT an expert here but it does look like he will need a little help (insulin) to get down to the greens.

Deb & Wink likes this.
  4. JenaThompson

JenaThompson Member

That’s what I was wondering but he hit 90 at +4 today without any insulin

5. jt and trouble (GA)

Its where hee goes after that 90. I'm really over my head in advice Hoping Elizabeth gets this tag... lets ask Mogs for a quick review
    @Critter Mom

Mogs hope you dont mind me tagging you. I know youre not a prozinc user.

Deb & Wink and Critter Mom like this.
  6. JenaThompson

JenaThompson Member

Thank you. I’m home now so I will test him again around +6

7. Panic

Panic Well-Known Member

Tagging @Deb & Wink , she's good at OTJ trial recommendations. She may say to shoot any blues, skip any greens. :)

8. Critter Mom

Critter Mom Well-Known Member

Hi Jena,

Wow! What a difference when you changed Opi from Vetsulin to Prozinc!! Great response. What a great job you're doing! :cool: