OTJ trial day 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda & Ham

Member Since 2017
Ok the other night at shot time Ham's BG was 85 so of course no shot. In the morning his BG was only 106 so I thought maybe we should try it. Here we are the am of day 2 and his BG is only 102.

He's eating 3 out of 4 meals for the most part. He eats 2 full meals and a half of one and a bite or 2 of the last. I was thinking that has to do with his diabetes being under control (his numbers down)

I really want to thank everyone on here again. I can not express how much all of you have helped me along the way and still help us.
 
I am not an expert but i think that you can give him some more time, you can shot at 85.

Hope people with more experience give you their opinion.
 
I would not have started an OTJ trial at this time. I would have reduced to .25. For a strong remission you want to see mostly green. Good luck with your trial if you continue.
 
Hi there! I agree with Tiffamaxee. Ham is not ready for a trial yet. You need to go from .25 dose and be in all greens for a week, then reduce to .10 in all greens for a week and many of us do a drop for a week. ( of course if he were to go below 50 on a human meter then you would reduce) The idea is that you have given kitty the best possible chance at remission with all the insulin support that you can give. Take it from me, Bubba has been on and off insulin for 4 times. All that you can do to support the pancreas is all good. Don't set Ham back by going OTJ to fast. As an example, I recently tried to take Bubba down the dosing ladder too quickly. BIG mistake. I had to take him back up from .30 unit ( I am using calipers ) back up to 0.60 to get him back to all green numbers.
 
I agree, I don't think Ham is there just yet, that 163 from last night on an AT is probably well in the upper 200-300 range. I think he's well on his way, but needs a little more time. :bighug:
 
I am going to offer a differing opinion. In normal circumstances, I would agree that those greens are indeed shootable and you should reduce the dose systematically. However, Ham has something else going on with him. There is a mass in the tummy that is possibly cancerous and he's green 5 cycles after stopping insulin. As long as he stays low, and until you can find out what the mass it, it may be safer not to give insulin. This is a suggestion only for Amanda, given Ham's situation,:bighug:

Good to hear he is eating some. How is Ham otherwise doing now?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top