OTJ trial 4/15 Tasha, pmbg:127 4/16--ambg:142--pmbg: 142

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karisa and Tasha(GA)

Member Since 2011
Miss Ta's sugars looked great yesterday, today not so sure, waiting on a call back from the vet ( bout 35-40 mins) to find out how high it should spike before I call. Redundant I know :lol:

sorry bout fingies--they dyslexic this am cab't spell too good

Forgot the question: How high do you all think I should let it go? Hopefully it'll go back down on its own.
 
Re: Question 4/15 Tasha ambg: 119, pmbg:127 4/16--ambg:14

This cat is doing very very well--Sorry I dont know why you are waiting for a spike? Or why callng vet? Have you read all the Stickys at the top of the page?? Lots Of info--
But I will say that you need to do a curve, and test the cat during the day at +2 or +3, +6, pmps and before bed--That would be a mini curve--
According to our protocol here, your cat is doing quite well- her bg's are almost in normal range..
This is the BG curve chart & how the Bg's go during a day:

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip at +11 or +12
+12 Preshot number
Hope this helps-
 
Re: Question 4/15 Tasha ambg: 119, pmbg:127 4/16--ambg:14

Tasha has been off the juice since thursday night. Her vet wanted to check her before getting any more, and I can't get her in untill tues. She told me to call if her sugar spikes. I know her levels are good, but am curious on how high to let it go.

guess i should change subject and add otj trial silly me
 
Re: OTJ Question 4/15 Tasha ambg: 119, pmbg:127 4/16--ambg

Normal BG numbers are 60-120..I'm sorry you didnt indicate that Tasha is OTJ..
We believe here that the longer we keep our kitties even on the lowest dose, gives the pancreas more time to heal, and gives maximum healing ..See Ann & Tess who is on 4 drops of insulin. But this is our protocol, the vets have another way of thinking..
Hope it all works out well for you!!
 
Re: OTJ Question 4/15 Tasha ambg: 119, pmbg:127 4/16--ambg

another thing i forgotted using alpha trak :oops:

I sure am out of it this am :lol:

I would have been happy with a dose reduction when i talked to the vet, but she said no insulin.
 
Re: OTJ Question 4/15 Tasha ambg: 119, pmbg:127 4/16--ambg

hi karisa, so in other words, she's in normal range for a non-diabetic cat, i think. i always get befuddled on the alphatrak for some reason - but if she were on a human meter it would be 112 this morning, and Roni's saying up to 120 is normal.

have a nice Saturday! woo-hoo.

also, are you testing before you feed her? that's the number you want.
 
Re: OTJ Question 4/15 Tasha ambg: 119, pmbg:127 4/16--ambg

Yup she gets tested before fedded. I was meerly curious, since she has been running in the upper 110's to 120's.

In other news, she's happy and playfull today, just a silly girl. 4 of the 5 p's accounted for, haven't checked the box for poo recently.

Have a great day everyone!
 
Re: OTJ trial 4/15 Tasha ambg: 119, pmbg:127 4/16--ambg:14

vet called back spike level to call is 280. Ta is well within the limits!

She gave me a bunch of stuff the otherday, from this website!

Pretty cool that she's using it too!
 
Re: OTJ trial 4/15 Tasha ambg: 119, pmbg:127 4/16--ambg:14

totaly off the subject: I switched my civie patchy ( a kitty with major tortie tude) over to lc friskies wet last night, hopefully we don't have to go thru this with her
 
Re: OTJ trial 4/15 Tasha ambg: 119, pmbg:127 4/16--ambg:14

i have my civvie on it too. she was 6 months old when we got her, chronic diarrhea and too small - probably from being malnourished. she looks like a runt. anyway, the vet treated the diarrhea but warned us that if they've had it too long sometimes you can't get them on regular food without it returning. she's been on dry "easy on your gut" food for the past year and a half. oddly enough, now on FF she's totally normal. hmmmmm. perhaps there is something to this canned food thing?
 
Re: OTJ trial 4/15 Tasha ambg: 119, pmbg:127 4/16--ambg:14

patchy poo is 9 now. her and her bro showed up and adopted us. she used to be an outside kitty, but has had too many things happen, got hit hard enough on the head to blow a pupil, and also litterally got her butt busted. Needless to say, she's inside now. Spends her days loungin in the bathroom and roamin the house at night. Ta hates cats, and has never warmed up to her. Ta get day's in the house and nights in my bedroom. works for them.
 
Re: OTJ trial 4/15 Tasha ambg: 119, pmbg:127 4/16--ambg:14

Hey! Ho! Trying to sneak past me or something? Caught ya'!! :lol:

Congratulations on starting a trial for Tasha!

UncleSamphotos.jpg


More info to come via PM.
 
Re: OTJ trial 4/15 Tasha, pmbg:127 4/16--ambg:142--pmbg: 14

Congratulations! I didn't realize Tasha was OTJ, but I'm not surprised! Those are great numbers for the ATrak!
 
Re: OTJ trial 4/15 Tasha, pmbg:127 4/16--ambg:142--pmbg: 14

Congratulations Tasha!!! What day is this for her trial?
 
Re: OTJ trial 4/15 Tasha, pmbg:127 4/16--ambg:142--pmbg: 14

2-1/2 days she had thurs am shot, but not pm


she's happy bout it,, but is still waiting for the shoe to drop when she's eating :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top