Thank you everyone! I am so excited to see the video, it's
awesome! :thumbup Thank you so much for making it, CD....you and D put so much time and effort into the OTJ videos, I don't ever want to see them taken for granted! :YMHUG:
I've been working on this all day, please bear with me....I know it's a novel. I apologize for the length of the post, and understand if anyone falls asleep reading it! Feel free to skip the boring parts. :lol:
It's been a long journey....18 months. Sometimes it seems like we've been on this journey forever, probably because I haven't gotten much sleep over those 18 months! :lol: I've learned so much here...on FDMB, not just LL....and I appreciate all that everyone here does
so much! I can't name everybody who has helped us get to this day, there are just too many of you....and some don't visit LL and would never see their names. A lot of people have no idea that they helped us, since I read a lot of archived/old posts. This board is an irreplaceable asset in the treatment of FD, IMHO. Thank you to all of you who have contributed to the collective knowledge here, and for the help you have given us directly or indirectly!
When Mr Tinkles was diagnosed, his BG was over 600 and he had an URI. When the vet told me he had FD and I would have to give him insulin injections, I was shocked.

I'm needle phobic.....I pass out If I even
watch anyone else get a shot....I didn't think I could do this! :shock: I love my furbabies though, so I said I would try. It's a good thing he's a long haired cat, I couldn't have done it if I could see the needle go in....a whole different meaning to shooting blind, huh? ohmygod_smile I gave a lot of fur shots until I got the technique down, but we got there.
My vet was like many here have experienced....she started him on ProZinc, told me to shoot 2.0u, didn't mention home testing or diet change, and told me to come back in 2 weeks. Fortunately, I found FDMB almost immediately, and tried to get up to speed as quickly as possible. We used PZ for 3 months, then switched to Lantus to get the flatter curves and try to get rid of his chronic URI...it took another 3 months after the insulin switch and 2 long courses of Azithromycin, but it finally cleared up, and he started feeling good. It has taken about a year since then to get to this point, tweaking the protocol to fit his needs and reduce the bouncing (Mr T loved the trampoline), then being patient as the bouncing sloooowly went away, and he started sloooowly going down the ladder. Mr Tinkles does nothing quickly, he is the perfect teacher of patience. If I tried to reduce more than a drop at a time, the reduction would fail. He couldn't tolerate ANY variation in dose....I used reading glasses AND a lighted magnifier to measure doses.
The silver lining to this disease is that he is healthier now than he has EVER been since we adopted him. He never played, I thought he was just a lazy cat. Once he started feeling better, he started playing....but he didn't know how to play, he had to learn...at 14 years old! It's an amazing, wonderful thing to witness....it makes all the lost sleep, the frustration and worry worth it. Now, he plays every day, and every night...he chases Pita around the house, climbs trees and tries to catch the resident chipmunks, voles and mice in the yard. If he never went OTJ, I wouldn't care...and if he needs insulin again, so be it. He's healthy and I know how to manage his FD to keep him that way.
For any newbies:
It's a marathon, not a sprint! I learned that from the PZI forum, but it gets said a lot here too, and for good reason. Look at a lot of SSs, read a lot of condos, ask a lot of questions! Look at the SSs of the people who offer you advice.....you hold the syringe, it's ultimately your decision what to do. Gather data in every cycle, there are no crystal balls available here! ;-) Study your SS and learn to see the patterns so you can make good decisions on your own eventually. Ask a lot of questions, even if you've asked it before....if you don't understand, ask again! It will help someone else too. Most of all, remember that your cat leads the dance, there is only so much that you can control. Be kind to yourself when things don't go perfectly, and you think you have made a mistake....there are no mistakes, only opportunities to gather data! ;-)
Thank you to everyone who contributes to making this the wonderful supportive community that it is! This dance can be frutrating and difficult, and the support provided by each of you is immeasurably precious. :YMHUG:
I'm not going anywhere, I just can't be here all the time....life gets in the way.