OTJ PARTY FOR MR. TINKLES TODAY!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

CD and BigMac

Member Since 2009
LET'S GET THIS PARTY STARTED!!!

[youtube]JX9pbxGv9SU[/youtube]

CONGRATULATIONS MR. TINKLES AND LAURIE!!!

199 LL KITTIES OTJ SINCE FEBRUARY 2008
:-D Pelusa :-D Raja* :-D Bruce :-D Scruffy :-D Noisy :-D Cyrano :-D Chuck :-D Cosmo :-D Tobias :-D Flamie :-D Thomas :-D Brutus :-D Abby :-D Alex :-D Lexie :-D Tom :-D Smokie :-D Friday :-D Chloe :-D Calliope :-D Natasha :-D Gracie :-D Alex :-D Shadow :-D Grover :-D Fluffy :-D Mary :-D Rocket :-D Petie :-D Harley :-D Karre :-D Venice :-D Butcher :-D BigMac* :-D Ti-Mi :-D Zoe :-D Devo :-D Tuxedo :-D Pumpkin :-D Oscar :-D Morrie :-D Olivia :-D Fuzzy :-D Riggs :-D Cobra :-D Chip :-D Rosco :-D Emo :-D Jake :-D Peepee :-D Nosey :-D Lucy :-D Kato :-D Tom :-D Rascal :-D Cream :-D Chico :-D Casper :-D Maui :-D Crash :-D Blackjack :-D Joey :-D Arlene :-D Tom :-D Kahuna :-D Big Boy :-D Mika :-D Buster :-D Grey Boy :-D Smokie :-D Spooky :-D Cruiser :-D Sparky* :-D Miss Kitty :-D Raistlin :-D Boo :-D Seamus :-D Marco :-D Tizon :-D Scar :-D Alex* :-D Black Kitty :-D Guinness :-D Beethoven :-D Jesse :-D Moon :-D Barry :-D Beeker :-D Raja :-D Nefeli :-D Rocky :-D Tummy :-D Callie :-D Milo :-D Grace :-D Matty :-D Porky :-D Scruffy :-D Luna :-D MEL :-D Tommy :-D Indy :-D Jasper :-D Velcro :-D Max :-D Maximus :-D Mally :-D Dillan :-D Webber :-D Sami :-D Basil :-D Quincy :-D Tasha :-D Spot :-D Donovan :-D Smokey :-D Max :-D Hank :-D Jasmine :-D Boomer :-D Kitty :-D Max :-D Baby :-D Scrabble :-D Tugger :-D Jake :-D Pedro :-D Supermax :-D Jezebel :-D Nay :-D Vesta :-D Tuffy :-D Magnolia :-D Ducky :-D Maggie :-D Six :-D Heart :-D Trey :-D Milo :-D Lily :-D Bandit :-D Yoda :-D Johnny :-D Weeble :-D Achilles :-D Muffin :-D Trouble :-D Savannah :-D Sue :-D Esmeralda :-D Skipper :-D Bid :-D Gimli :-D Mowgli :-D Shadow :-D Frip :-D Tinkerbell :-D Cinnamon :-D Austin :-D Morpheus :-D Haley :-D Khan :-D Leonard :-D Mocha Jo Latte :-D Julius :-D Gracie D :-D Simba :-D Binks :-D Choco :-D Daniel :-D Noxin :-D Tasha :-D Kushi :-D Java :-D Yemala :-D Billy :-D D'Artagnan :-D Cedric :-D Titus :-D Checkers :-D Garfunkel :-D Curry :-D Angel :-D Simon :-D Cow :-D Junior :-D CheekyFace :-D Gobnait :-D Mr. Howell :-D S'mores :-D Jynx :-D Star :-D Cinco :-D Ahmin :-D Lug :-D Max :-D Apollo :-D MR. TINKLES :-D
 
Congratulations to Laurie and Mr. Tinkles!

Laurie, we're going to miss you! I hope you will come back and visit us.

CD, beautiful video, as always!
 
CONGRATULATIONS
MR. TINKLES & LAURIE!!!

catCongrats.gif
 
CONGRATULATIONS MR. TINKLES!!!

Welcome to the Falls!!!


:RAHCAT :RAHCAT dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat flip_cat flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat :RAHCAT :RAHCAT​

Congrats on a job well done. It is always so great to see one of our kitties move to the Falls. Enjoy this very special time!

CD - great video as always.

Mr T - as head chef in LL it is my honor to cook for your party today. We are all so orous of you!!! Say Hi to all our friends therem and be sure to write, OK? We will miss you here in LL! I hope you enjoy your party fuds. ~~ Chef Mannie
Mr Tinkles OTJ Party Menu
Beverages: Apple Infused Niptinis, Orange Julius, Champagne Flutes with Tuna Juice, Micro-Brews
Gracie’s Beverage Special: Copper Moontinis
Appetizers: Spicy Buffalo Chicken Wings, Manhattan Style Clam Chowder, Grilled Shrimp Kabobs
Entrées: Grilled Speckled Trout garnished with Bay Scallops, Sicilian Deep Dish Pizza with Tuna Crust, Grilled long Island Duck, Grilled Chicken Fajitas with Jalapeno Jelly
Mannie’s Entrée Special: Grilled Sausage and Hot Dog Extravaganza
Salads: New York Field Greens with Catnip Sprinkles, Butthead’s Ice Chilled Grass Greens with Freeze Dried Butter and Cream Cheese Morsels
Desserts: Stu’s World Famous Catmint Parfaits, NY style FD friendly Cheesecake, Black and Whites
Tess’s Dessert Special: Pumpkin Cheesecakes​
OK kitchen krew - we gots work to do!! and all kitties out there in LL - come join us - cooking is fun - you'll see. Ok everybody! Grab your ladles ad aprons and chef hats - we are off to New York!! ~~ Mannie
 
CONGRATULATIONS MR T. AND LAURIE!!

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT​

ENJOY THE FALLS AND DON'T FORGET TO WRITE!!

Ella & Rusty

Hey Mr T. When I come to visit you will you give me a ride in your boat?
Rusty


p.s. Laurie, you must be so pleased. This is terrific! Please keep visiting LL. We need you!
p.s. to CD: Wonderful video!
 
Congratulations on a job well done. Welcome to the Falls.

Mr T has such a stunning coat. He is certainly one handsome dude.

And Carolyn....your video is priceless. What an incredible job you do with the photos. It's definitely hours of work with photoshop. Just amazing.
 
CONGRATULATIONS MR TINKLES AND LAURIE!!! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
CONGRATULATIONS MR TINKLES AND LAURIE!!!

Mr. T, you are sooooo handsome, Tinkerbell is standing at the front of welcoming line at the Falls!
 
CONGRATULATIONS MR. T AND LAURIE!! OTJOTJOTJOTJOTJ!!!!!

What an awesome job you have done with him, Laurie. This is a special one for all of LL!!! So glad to see Mr. T go to the Falls and may he have a very long, happy, healthy life there!!

OTJ.jpg
 
Thank you everyone! I am so excited to see the video, it's awesome! :thumbup Thank you so much for making it, CD....you and D put so much time and effort into the OTJ videos, I don't ever want to see them taken for granted! :YMHUG:

I've been working on this all day, please bear with me....I know it's a novel. I apologize for the length of the post, and understand if anyone falls asleep reading it! Feel free to skip the boring parts. :lol:

It's been a long journey....18 months. Sometimes it seems like we've been on this journey forever, probably because I haven't gotten much sleep over those 18 months! :lol: I've learned so much here...on FDMB, not just LL....and I appreciate all that everyone here does so much! I can't name everybody who has helped us get to this day, there are just too many of you....and some don't visit LL and would never see their names. A lot of people have no idea that they helped us, since I read a lot of archived/old posts. This board is an irreplaceable asset in the treatment of FD, IMHO. Thank you to all of you who have contributed to the collective knowledge here, and for the help you have given us directly or indirectly!

When Mr Tinkles was diagnosed, his BG was over 600 and he had an URI. When the vet told me he had FD and I would have to give him insulin injections, I was shocked. :o I'm needle phobic.....I pass out If I even watch anyone else get a shot....I didn't think I could do this! :shock: I love my furbabies though, so I said I would try. It's a good thing he's a long haired cat, I couldn't have done it if I could see the needle go in....a whole different meaning to shooting blind, huh? ohmygod_smile I gave a lot of fur shots until I got the technique down, but we got there.

My vet was like many here have experienced....she started him on ProZinc, told me to shoot 2.0u, didn't mention home testing or diet change, and told me to come back in 2 weeks. Fortunately, I found FDMB almost immediately, and tried to get up to speed as quickly as possible. We used PZ for 3 months, then switched to Lantus to get the flatter curves and try to get rid of his chronic URI...it took another 3 months after the insulin switch and 2 long courses of Azithromycin, but it finally cleared up, and he started feeling good. It has taken about a year since then to get to this point, tweaking the protocol to fit his needs and reduce the bouncing (Mr T loved the trampoline), then being patient as the bouncing sloooowly went away, and he started sloooowly going down the ladder. Mr Tinkles does nothing quickly, he is the perfect teacher of patience. If I tried to reduce more than a drop at a time, the reduction would fail. He couldn't tolerate ANY variation in dose....I used reading glasses AND a lighted magnifier to measure doses.

The silver lining to this disease is that he is healthier now than he has EVER been since we adopted him. He never played, I thought he was just a lazy cat. Once he started feeling better, he started playing....but he didn't know how to play, he had to learn...at 14 years old! It's an amazing, wonderful thing to witness....it makes all the lost sleep, the frustration and worry worth it. Now, he plays every day, and every night...he chases Pita around the house, climbs trees and tries to catch the resident chipmunks, voles and mice in the yard. If he never went OTJ, I wouldn't care...and if he needs insulin again, so be it. He's healthy and I know how to manage his FD to keep him that way.

For any newbies: It's a marathon, not a sprint! I learned that from the PZI forum, but it gets said a lot here too, and for good reason. Look at a lot of SSs, read a lot of condos, ask a lot of questions! Look at the SSs of the people who offer you advice.....you hold the syringe, it's ultimately your decision what to do. Gather data in every cycle, there are no crystal balls available here! ;-) Study your SS and learn to see the patterns so you can make good decisions on your own eventually. Ask a lot of questions, even if you've asked it before....if you don't understand, ask again! It will help someone else too. Most of all, remember that your cat leads the dance, there is only so much that you can control. Be kind to yourself when things don't go perfectly, and you think you have made a mistake....there are no mistakes, only opportunities to gather data! ;-)

Thank you to everyone who contributes to making this the wonderful supportive community that it is! This dance can be frutrating and difficult, and the support provided by each of you is immeasurably precious. :YMHUG:

I'm not going anywhere, I just can't be here all the time....life gets in the way.
 
had to take a second look at the subject line....wow!

CONGRATULATIONS MR TINKLES AND LAURIE FOR MAKING IT TO THE FALLS.....DO ENJOY LIFE AT THE FALLS!!! dancing_cat
 
MR TINKLES OTJ!!!MR TINKLES OTJ!!! MR TINKLES OTJ!!!! party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat drinking24 drinking24 drinking24 GREAT JOB LAURIE & MR T... MOONIE SAYS THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE DANCE--
Please stay with us as you are a great helper!! Hugs & Love from us!!
 
party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat​
Congrats Laurie and Mr. Tinkles!!!​
dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat​
Welcome to life at the Falls!!!
:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT​
 
oh laurie, so many newbies go OTJ right away, which is wonderful, but there is something extra, extra special about someone who has worked as hard as you have, been as diligent about testing and learning, and brought their cat off of insulin. without you, Mr Tinkles (love his name!) would never have made it to the Falls.

I'm so very glad for you - and i'm glad for all you have contributed here. you were one of the first to help me and i am beyond grateful for your teachings.

so thank you! and glad to hear you aren't going anywhere! that's the second best news of the condo! we miss you when you're not here.

i love his video (CD you are amazing!) and the pictures. it's like looking at punkin, although punkin doesn't wear as much bling as tinkles! :lol: those were some beads! hahahaha

great news to hear that mr tinkles has learned to play at 14 - that's a huge inspiration!!! Celebrating with you!!!

126661740_09fc5a03ab.jpg
 
I can sincerely echo a lot of what Julie wrote. You were the one I turned to in the beginning for advice. You were always so patient with me and helped me tremendously. You were a big part of reducing my panic in the early days. I'm so glad Mr. Tinkles has finally hit the falls, gladder still that he's so healthy and happy!!! His story gives me hope that maybe, just maybe Champ will one day go OTJ. But you're right...if our kitties continue to need insulin, or need insulin again, the only thing that matters is that they're healthy. I'm glad I'll continue to see you pop in. When you do, make sure to say hi to me and Champ!!
 
:RAHCAT CONGRATULATIONS MR. TINKLES AND LAURIE!!! :RAHCAT

drinking24 We are so happy for you both! What a great job you have done with him, Laurie! It's wonderful considering what you have personally had to overcome in order to get to this day!! You both deserve all the cheering and accolades.....it is a wonderful accomplishment!! We hope you have a wonderful life at the Falls!!! Sending hugs to you both! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Loved the video CD...great job! :mrgreen:
 
Welcome to the Falls, Mr. T. Be sure to look up Barry. He's practicing his marathon napping at the moment and probably missed all the noise. It's a Zen thing for him, so he says.

Congrats Laurie. Thank you for putting his history in writing. Barry went OTJ quickly. We don't know how long Paisley has been diabetic and expect to be in this for a long time but are hopeful. Your story definitely gives us hope. But even if she never makes it to the Falls or does and then needs insulin again, that's the way it will be. Thanks again.

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top