OTJ, but with low numbers. QUESTIONS!

Status
Not open for further replies.

h3ll000kitt3h

Member Since 2014
Hey everyone. I know I should be around more but I've been sick as of late and slacking.
The last time I posted little Butter was getting 2 units of BCP PZI in the morning and 1 unit at night. Since then everything has changed. His numbers started to go lower and lower and on the 7th of Feb. I no longer felt comfortable giving him any insulin for fear of hypo. I updated his numbers, which like I said I've been lacking lately. But I'm worried, his numbers are so low. Why are they so low? Am I feeding enough? I feed twice a day (which is really all I can afford right now at 45 cents per 5.5oz can). I feed 2, 5.5oz cans split between all three of my cats. Sometimes if I notice Butter is getting low I give them a handful of dry food because I am terrified of him going hypo. He is drinking, peeing, pooping, and eating all normally. He may be a little hungrier than normal. Anyway I'm nervous. Am I doing something wrong? Are his numbers supposed to be that low? I am calling my vet tomorrow but I wanted to hear it from ya'll first. Mostly because the vet is probably going to yell at me hah. Anyway, please please annnny advice however big or small. I'm going crazy!
'
 
His numbers look great the last few cycles. A cat off insulin can be normally as low as 40 when off insulin. And they can't go hypo if they are off insulin. So he is in great shape!

We generally consider a cat in remission if they range from 40-120 for 14 days, without insulin. You are on your way!
 
Ohhh I am so mad right now. My vet is so judgey. I called them to let them know I stopped giving Butter insulin and the girl on the phone gave me a whole lecture on how my numbers that I've collected "don't count" and aren't accurate readings since I don't have mid point numbers. WHATS THE POINT IN GETTING MIDPOINT NUMBERS IF IM NOT GIVING INSULIN? OMG! Ok. The vet tech I usually deal with is off today so shes going to give me a call tomorrow. Am I doing something wrong by taking him off insulin? Am I mad for nothing? Grr!
 
Well, I don't think so. If he is under 120 for both preshots in a cycle, then it doesn't matter what his nadir is. And her idea that your numbers don't count is ridiculous. They are much more accurate than the stress induced numbers they would get at the vet . You wouldn't want to shoot at 70. He would hypo. That makes no sense.

If I were you, I'd keep doing what you are doing for the 2 week period. Then if you want, go back to the vet for a fructosamine test so the vet can see it's "official." Or not. :mrgreen:
 
Shall we start an OTJ countdown? :mrgreen:

Test and post Butter's numbers at AM & PM so we can watch her progress to OTJ. It is exciting. :mrgreen:

During Rumpelteazer's OTJ trial, she had gone real low and I panicked a little bit. When I posted in her condo, I was also told that she cannot hypo if not on insulin. What a relief!!! :-D
 
Be sure to print out the following before your next vet visit, to educate the ill-informed tech. You're doing the right thing not shooting when he's already very low!

Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
How to use the glucose reference values chart:

When you get a test, look for the number on the chart that either equals, or contains, the test value you have. Read the information. As needed, make a decision and act.

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top