Oscars AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

j_o

Member Since 2012
Well no shot for Oscar he didn;t get a shot last night and this morning he was 3.7 (not sure of the conversion) and the foster was shooting blind!! Will try testing in a few hours to see what his number is.
 
Glad you didn't shoot that, for the conversion multiply by 18, rounding up he was at 67. A very nice normal number, definitely no insulin. I've adopted a kitty who didn't need insulin from the moment he came home. It's great that you are testing.
 
Wow! Thank goodness you tested! :shock:

It's really looking good for Oscar! (Am beginning to wonder how he was diagnosed....? :? )

Oh, re the numbers; to convert to US numbers you multiply 'rest of the world' ( :lol: )numbers by 18, and vice versa.
 
This was the first time he was tested since he was diagnosed and hopefully I can test him a couple more times but right now he is hiding under the bed again. He still isn't sure of us and me poking his ear this morning did not help. On a good note he turned up his nose at his dry food this morning and went right for the wet foos :-D Now for a question does anyone have any suggestions on how to get this BIG boy down to a resonable weight? The poor boy is so fat that when he rolls over on his side which takes a lot of effort he has a hard time getting back to his feet :cry: I can't believe anyone would let their cat get that fat.
 
This is Oscar on his way home yesterday he was a very happy boy in the carrier
 

Attachments

  • 558829_10152030375525260_493630963_n.jpg
    558829_10152030375525260_493630963_n.jpg
    27.8 KB · Views: 867
If you remove all the dry food, that should help with the weight loss. And feeding a high quality low carb canned food will help too. You can also try to get him to play more with a fishing pole and chase it, do you have a cat tree or a place he can climb? Maybe put his food up there, to make him work for it, will help too.
 
We have a floor to ceiling "fire pole" for the kitties that he keeps looking longly at....hopeully we can get him up on that :) He's can food is Wellness can and I know Boomer (our first Diabetic) lost weight on it so I am hoping maybe he will too. Tried the fishing pole but he just growled at it or maybe it was at us. Once he gets out of the bedroom hopefully he will get moving a little more.
 
PMPS 65
OK Oscar hasn't had any insulin since yesterday moning at 8 am it's now 5 pm is my new little boy actually diabetic? I guess only time will tell. Will test again tomorrow morning.
 
Now for a question does anyone have any suggestions on how to get this BIG boy down to a resonable weight? The poor boy is so fat that when he rolls over on his side which takes a lot of effort he has a hard time getting back to his feet I can't believe anyone would let their cat get that fat.

There's another thread ongoing that you might find useful as far as slimming him down.
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=84291

wow, a 65? It looks like Oscar may have come to you "broken"!

Carl
 
yup I think he might be "broken" which is just fine by me :-D thanks for the link on weight loss now to get him settled in his home and call the vet that diagnosed him and get the records faxed to my vet
 
so Oscar's morning test was 70 :-D called his vet with the SPCA and asked that all of his tests be faxed to my vet. Can't wait to find out what his numbers where like when he was diagnosed.
 
j_o said:
so Oscar's morning test was 70 :-D called his vet with the SPCA and asked that all of his tests be faxed to my vet. Can't wait to find out what his numbers where like when he was diagnosed.

This is looking SO good for Oscar.

I know you were expecting to adopt a diabetic cat. Are you going to send him back if it ain't so...? :lol:
 
Definetly not he is a wonderful boy who needs a good loving home :-D I'm just glad we rescued him when we did so that the insulin has been discontinued
 
ohmygod_smile scary stuff!! Just spoke to my vet who recieved a 1 page fax from the former vet about Oscar's medical report. He presented at the vet due to being overweight, eating and drink were normal, litter box use was considered normal. The vet did blood work and tested his BG and it was 240 so they started him on 3 units of Caninsulin twice a day!! They diagnosed him on a one number (possible stress number at that) test!!! cat(2)_steam I don't pretend to be an expert on Diabetic cats but this scares the heck out of me!! I am so glad we got him out of there I know the SPCA tries their best but really.....OK done my rant. So we don't know if he never was diabetic or if maybe he went into remission or what is going on so for the next couple of weeks it will be testing a couple times a day and hoping for the best
 
j_o said:
ohmygod_smile ....scary stuff!! Just spoke to my vet who recieved a 1 page fax from the former vet about Oscar's medical report. He presented at the vet due to being overweight, eating and drink were normal, litter box use was considered normal. The vet did blood work and tested his BG and it was 240 so they started him on 3 units of Caninsulin twice a day!! They diagnosed him on a one number (possible stress number at that) test!!! cat(2)_steam I don't pretend to be an expert on Diabetic cats but this scares the heck out of me!! ...

Crikey! That IS scary stuff!

Thank goodness you offered to adopt him. I believe you really have saved a life there.... :thumbup
 
PM number is 59 going to try for a reading two to three hours after eating as recommended by our vet. I am loving these numbers and thanks Elizabeth
 
Yep, Oscar is definitely looking broken to me. :-D
Carl
 
Since it looks like you got a broken cat and you don't want to return it, I suggest you call them and ask for a refund of the fees you paid. After all, they gave him to you broken and you shouldn't have to pay for it....that's my two cents.

Your thought process sounds logical to me - he was overweight, taken to the vet, tested there with a blood test, not a fructosamine - which would have given the average BG for the past couple weeks and based on one test alone, deemed diabetic. Yeh, you did a good thing rescuing him and getting him out of a potential dangerous situation. 3 units! Yikes!

Now you're sure you don't want to return the broken toy? ;-)
 
The actually didn't charge any fees because he was diabetic :-D and nope keeping the broken toy he is just so sweet. His reading 2 hours after eating some wellness wet food was 81 his highest reading yet but still an awesome normal number
 
Depending on how assertive you'd like to be, you might send some info on feline diabetes to the vet who got it wrong.
 
I've actually been thinking about sending her some info and sending some to the local SPCA too especially the importance of testing before every shot...the foster home even had a test kit but had never used it because he was told it wasn't nessecary
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top