Oscar

Status
Not open for further replies.

Msmarsbar

Member Since 2012
My name is Marissa and I have a 26 pound cat named oscar. He has been on lantus insulin for almost a year. He was once at 8 units and is now down to 4. i test him regularly and he has been at 100 to 140 consistantly. I feed him Pate friskies only half a can three times a day. His levels have been continuous and good for the past 4 months.
 
Welcome Marissa and Oscar! Oscar is quite a big boy! You must have had quite a journey to bring him down to safe levels.
 
A 26 pound cat is obese. Obesity is a precursor to diabetes for many diabetic cats. Dr. Lisa Pierson has a page on feline obesity. Slimming a fat cat down is a tricky job because you don't want to throw him/her into fatty liver/hepatic lipidosis. That is a life-threatening condition for a cat.

You don't say whether it is the big cans of Friskies or the small cans you are feeding. That makes a big difference in weight.

Are you hometesting his BG levels? How often and at what points in his cycle are you testing? Even 4U (I assume twice a day) is a higher than average dose of insulin for a diabetic cat. The numbers you give us seem good, but I would prefer to see a bit more detail.
 
small cans of frislies. For the first time in months I tested oscar before meal and his level was 73 ????? is he getting too much insulin? I was out of town but my mom took care of him. She has before and she kept my schedule logged it and everything > could he have benn stressed with me gone ? he is back at 101 after eating tonigh . I was only gone two days ???
 
It is impossible for folks here to provide dosing advice without more-complete information about Oscar's BG levels in relation to the timing/amount of his shots and the timing/amount of food.

ON FDMB, most people communicate that information with the use of an Internet-based spreadsheet. The instructions for doing that are at http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=50130

Given Oscar's lowish number (although it may or may not have been troublesome depending on its time in his 12-hour shot cycle), you should dose with caution. Please create a spreadsheet with as much recent data as you have and I am sure you will get lots of advice.
 
I'm going to see if someone can give you dosing advice. If you can get a spreadsheet started it will be better for the dosing advisers but please be careful. With a BG of 73 or 101, 4u of insulin is a lot. Please come on FDMB and post his BG # before you give insulin.
 
I skipped his insulin and in the morning checked his levels they were 120 before meal at 8 so i gave him 2 units. i came home at 3 he was at 100 gave him fourth of a can cause he was yelling at me. i have realized that when he yells his levels are low cause he only yells when they are or hes starving. at 8 gave him 2 units and food . he has ben consistant again between 100 and 148 . ever since he was diagnosed he WILL NOT loose weight and i can not not feed him. He has a checkup in December . Hopefully i will be working again by then and have further tests done.
 
It is possible he doesn't need insulin anymore, and that his higher numbers are the result of his liver's reaction to receiving insulin.
 
is that possible ??? hes 26 to 28 pounds !!! he urinates a lt if a dose is skipped . Tonight he was at 146 then fed insulin ... one hour later 126 > i dont see how he doesnt need it ??? please explain
how its possible
 
ps Hes never been reallllllyyyy high since i got testing kit highest was 180 .

OSCARS STORY >>>>
he is obese was tested for everything they said he was diabetic but low case diabetic. he was peeing AALLL over the house on himself etc. they gave me insulin. i was so stupid i gave him 20 UNITS instead of 2 !!!!! oh crap right ... One doc said he must need it other said lower slowley??? well three four days later talked to docter he said to lower slowly so not to shock his system and that cats obsorb a lot of it in fatty cells ... got him down to 8 units 3 weeks . since jennifer sent me kit and feeding. switched from iams dry to friskies pate and feeding schedule and regular checks. He has been down to 4 units to three now between two and 3 as i thought 100 to 120 was good. he is acting better at 2 after reading posts . since ive been home hes consistant at 120 to 148 on my chart. ALSO ACTING MORE LIVELY. so help what are your guys thoughts. cant afford doc till december appointment. what are a normal cats evels ? do i skip night ? day? or lower again etc thx for imput , HES BEEN ON INSULIN ABOUT A YEAR . HES 6 YEARS OLD
 
ok people i just checked my non diabetic cat to seeeeeeee and im FREAKED OUT !!!! she registerd 57 THERES NO WAY. IS MY METER OK WHATS UP ???
 
My diabetic cat Maxie usually ran in the low 100s after he went off insulin and before he died of cancer a year+ later. Some cats have high normal numbers. Your non-diabetic cat registering 57 is a good non-diabetic number.

My diabetic Ennis was very well regulated on Levemir for 4+ years. Despite that, he drank water like a horse. I ascribed that to his kidney disease. Polydipsia (excess thirst) is a symptom of several feline diseases.

It would help Oscar if you could take a more methodical approach to his diabetes treatment--taking regular BG readings and posting them and the doses and feedings in a spreadsheet for others to see when you ask for opinions. It could be that if you were to find his nadir (low BGL of the cycle), it might tell you that he doesn't need as much insulin as he is getting. And less and less of an insulin dosage can eventually lead to diabetic remission. There are stickies on the Lantus Insulin Group that can help you to understand that process.

Being obese doesn't mean that Oscar will always be hyperglycemic. Obesity is a risk factor for diabetes but not all fat cats are extra sweet. You have changed Oscar to a species-appropriate diet, and that helps his BGLs, and will help his weight, over time.
 
I just have to ask- what meter are you using? Some meters don't work that well with diabetic cats- Freestyle Lite with the BUTTERFLY strips and anything with TRU/E in the name.

Those are regulation numbers but if he has been in those numbers he should be getting the insulin he needs and the nutrients he needs from the food so the starving kitty is strange. Is there a chance to feed him smaller meals during the day? Just spread out the amount, freeze the food with water and put out two or three cubes for mid-morning snack.

We have several lists that show not only the carb count but also the calorie count- move to the smaller calorie foods and see if that will help against the bulk. Also, some humans (and cats) gain weight on insulin- lantus is the type where some gain the MOST weight.

Have you tried lowering the dose and seeing if his numbers change (for worse or better?) It looks like you've gone down over time. If he does a whole lot of low numbers where you have to not shoot he may be needing a reduced dose anyway so you can get a 12/12 dose schedule.

And the 57 on your civie- GREAT!
 
i have been keeping a chart for the past few weeks . oscar was very level 100 to 150 the last few weeks have been challenging very uop and down . three days ago i realized he was sneaking Iams dog food !!!!! so i take it away from my dogs now. he is level again at 100 to 150 for three days 1. 5 units at 8 and 8 every day. if he drops bellow 80 i skip insulin correct and adjust him to 2 if above 170 ??? thx
he has no kidney problems and does not drink a lot of water. his urine is normal i check the box daily. OH i also give him a little dry two tablespoons and grainlow sugar food when he is yelling hes starving... i am writing from a broken computer i will print out this tomorrow and read all coments again thx u
 
Msmarsbar said:
i have been keeping a chart for the past few weeks . oscar was very level 100 to 150 .... he is level again at 100 to 150 for three days 1. 5 units at 8 and 8 every day. if he drops bellow 80 i skip insulin correct and adjust him to 2 if above 170 ??? thx
At what time have you been testing his glucose?

Are these numbers his morning/ evening pre-shot numbers ("amps" and "pmps") or his mid-cycle lowest point ("nadir") readings?

With lantus insulin it is very important to know what is going on with your cat's blood sugar between the morning and evening shots - this is what dosage calculations will be based on, not what his blood sugar is right before you give him his insulin shot.

I don't have experience with lantus myself, but I know that this is the info that the guys on here will need, in order to be able to properly advise you with regards to lantus dosing. It sounds like Oscar's numbers are coming down nice and low, with a bit of luck and continued good care, you might be able to get him off the insulin altogether. This is the right place to be for sure!

Good luck!

H


EDIT - oh gosh, I just re-read one of your above posts - you initially gave your kitty twenty units instead of two?! Wow you and Oscar are both so very lucky that he survived. Did he suffer a seizure? The vet should not have let you leave the surgery without being absolutely certain that you understood what dose to give, that was very poor practice on his part. The vet should have taught you how to draw up the correct dose, and watched you do it to ensure you had it right. I was given a stuffed Garfield toy to practice on in the vet's office when Cleo was first diagnosed - they wouldn't let me leave with the insulin until they'd watched me inject that poor Garfield stuffed toy successfully!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top