Oreo: Prednisolone VS. Prednisone ????

Status
Not open for further replies.

oreosmom

Member Since 2012
Hello All,

I have some questions regarding Prednisilone and Prednisone and how they effect cats and diabetes. Oreo has GI lymphoma and diabetes brought on from the preds. He was on Prednisilone for several months, but the vets couldn't get it stocked for some reason, so then Prednisone was issued as a substitute. He had been in excellent control on Prednisone up to a week ago , until the vet wanted him back on Prednisiolone. His BG shot up from the low 100's to the high 200-300's!!!! His appetite is ravinous and I can see he isn't feeling the best. We have phoned his vets, and waiting for a reply, but I am WORRIED. I read that prednisilone was more effective in cats than prednisone, but I wondered if any of you have dealt with a similar issue or know about these drugs.

I appreciate your input.

Best,

Carol...Oreo's worry-wart mom
 
Prednisone needs to be converted by the liver into Prednisolone, for that reason it's easier on the kitty to take Prednisolone.

Before Tucker passed away he was on Prednisolone for a brain tumor, same thing happened, vets could not stock it so we switched to Prednisone. Tucker went blind for almost two days after the switch, we immediately had to double his Prednisone to be as effective as the Prednisolone, his vision was restored. Once the Prednisolone was back, thankfully some friends at FDMB sent us some, we were able to lower Tucker's dose.

The Prednisolone dose you are could be too high, if I'm reading your message correctly he's hungrier now on Prednisolone and BGs are high. Talk to the vet and see if a dose reduction is in order.

I would recommend sticking with the Prednisolone, since it's less taxing on the liver.

I'm not a vet or expert, this is just my own personal experience.
 
ditto what Jenn said.

Both are steroids and can affect bg's. but prednisolone is less taxing on the body.

And yes, there was a shortage of it, unless you purchased millipred - which is the name brand version and more expensive.
 
Thanks Jenn and Hillary,

I appreciate your information. We did get Millipred this time from Costco pharmacy. I assume it is the same as the Prednisilone. It is good to hear that we are on the right drug...so we probably will be adjusting the dose and insulin when we hear from our vet today. I feel like I need to get a degree in chemistry!

God Bless,

Carol confused_cat
 
My vet told me never to give my cat prednisone over prednisolone. Since they are usually out he gave me the number of where they get it. Wedgewood Pharmacy. You can get the pills or get it in treat form. I think they have the ear kind too. Their number is 877-357-6613 or their website

I tried local pharmacies and their prices were outrageous. 100 treats in 5mg cost $27. My cat thinks they are gross but I can usually trick him into eating it. It definitely makes him HUNGRY.


ETA: I was looking through my vet bills and they charged me $26 for 56 5mg tablets. So def cheaper at this pharmacy.
Also if you have your cat come off of it, make sure you do it very very slowly. Their are several complications if you do it too quickly.
 
I've only ever used prednisolone. The last time I got it they didn't have the generic so I had to get the brand name millipred. Prednisolone is much better to use on the kitties. Blood sugar management can be challanging for a diabetic cat on steroids. When you're dealing with cancer there really isn't much of a choice. I'm wondering if there is something else going on with Oreo or is it just the change between the two steroids. When a cat is on steroids they can also be more prone to infection. Infections can also increase blood glucose levels.

Sandy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top