Oreo below no shoot all weekend.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paige & Oreo

Member Since 2016
Hoping for some guidance, as I'm not sure I'm doing the right thing. Oreo has been below his no-shoot number all weekend, getting down to an 87 PMPS last night and a 101 AMPS this morning. He's already on such a low dose at 0.5 U and we are so new to this that I'm uneasy giving him anything below 225-200. I was hoping to do a curve at home this weekend, but didn't make much sense to without insulin. Best information I have to go off of is when he was at the vet and started with 1 U @ 431, then dropped down to 48 at +8.

Any thoughts on what we do from here? I thought this weekend might have been a fluke but seems to be holding. I think I'll try to stop home on lunch today and get a +5 to see what he's doing during the day.
 
It does look like he might be headed toward remission (quiet hurrah, anti jinx). We generally consider a kitty OTJ if they are between 40-120 off insulin for two weeks. I think you are using a pet monitor (?) so your numbers might be higher overall. So I would start counting and monitor his levels . Sometimes it is not an all or nothing thing - sometimes they sneak up and need a tiny dose. Sometimes they drop off and that is it.

It looks like Oreo was a transient diabetic. If you changed to low carb, that could have made the difference, or an infection or? Regardless, if he is on a low carb diet, keep him on it. People report cats slipping back into high levels when high carb is reintroduced.
 
I am using a pet monitor - AlphaTrak2.

I did change his diet to Fancy Feast Classics exclusively after diagnosis, which clearly seems to have helped. Previously he had been on a prescription dry food. Definitely staying on the low-carb wet food moving forward!
 
Wow what nice numbers! Id say you're doing everything right. Even in cats who've been on the juice for some time we wouldn't advise shots at those low levels....here's hoping Oreo is heading to OTJ (anti jinx)!
 
Wow what nice numbers! Id say you're doing everything right. Even in cats who've been on the juice for some time we wouldn't advise shots at those low levels....here's hoping Oreo is heading to OTJ (anti jinx)!

Thank you for the reassurance! Will keep monitoring...fingers crossed
 
Thanks for the tag Kris, sorry I wasn't around!
I see you've already receives great advise from everyone :) and I agree with those advises!
You're doing a great job with Oreo! Great numbers!!! :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top