Paige & Oreo
Member
Oreo was just diagnosed earlier this week. Thanks to all the information on the forum, finally starting to feel like I can handle this, so thank you!
We started at the vet on Wednesday with 1 U of ProZinc. The vet monitored him during the day and he dropped down to a 48, so we held off on the evening shot.
Thursday was back at the vet, this time starting with a 1/2 U. Again the vet monitored him, but this time he stayed above 400 all day. Decided we'll still with the 1/2 U and redo the curve in a week.
I started home monitoring on Friday, but it's been a little tricky for both Oreo and I so I could not get an AMPS this morning. I did get one at AMPS +2 - 424.
Came to his PM shot, did our easiest test yet (yay!), and we're at 122. Figured it was bet to skip our shot this evening, but I'm not sure what to do tomorrow. The vet is closed on Sunday, should I hold off until I can call the vet, or go ahead with the shot if his BS gets higher tomorrow? Should I keep testing tonight?
I had been feeding Fancy Feast Classics chicken for the past few weeks (RC dry food prior to that), but just read here about the new formula being too high in carbohydrates, so will go get some other flavors for him tomorrow. Hoping that will help get him closer to regulated.
Both the vet and I are using the AlphaTrack2.
We started at the vet on Wednesday with 1 U of ProZinc. The vet monitored him during the day and he dropped down to a 48, so we held off on the evening shot.
Thursday was back at the vet, this time starting with a 1/2 U. Again the vet monitored him, but this time he stayed above 400 all day. Decided we'll still with the 1/2 U and redo the curve in a week.
I started home monitoring on Friday, but it's been a little tricky for both Oreo and I so I could not get an AMPS this morning. I did get one at AMPS +2 - 424.
Came to his PM shot, did our easiest test yet (yay!), and we're at 122. Figured it was bet to skip our shot this evening, but I'm not sure what to do tomorrow. The vet is closed on Sunday, should I hold off until I can call the vet, or go ahead with the shot if his BS gets higher tomorrow? Should I keep testing tonight?
I had been feeding Fancy Feast Classics chicken for the past few weeks (RC dry food prior to that), but just read here about the new formula being too high in carbohydrates, so will go get some other flavors for him tomorrow. Hoping that will help get him closer to regulated.
Both the vet and I are using the AlphaTrack2.