? Oreo 10/15 AMPS 408, +2 339, +4 263, +6 210, +8 281

Oreo'smom

Member Since 2023
This is my first post on this board. Sorry if I'm not doing it right.

Today was Oreo's curve day so it looks like I should be increasing his insulin again which will be to 3.5 units now. This is the most he's ever been on and I'm very worried about him. He seemed like he was doing okay-ish for a while but for the past couple months, his numbers have been higher.

I worry about him all the time. I feel like there's something else going on. The gum around his one tooth on the bottom looks kind of inflamed to me. He was diagnosed in March so you would think I'd be doing better with this but I'm feeling very overwhelmed. The vet had told me never to change his dose without consulting her but I had started following the SLGS protocol in June. As far as the vet knows, he's getting 2 units. I had called about his higher numbers and was basically told his pre-shot numbers and we don't change dosage based on one high number but I had sent a whole month's worth of numbers that were all pretty much high. I feel like I'm failing my baby.

The vet had mentioned the Somogyi effect. Do you think I'm possibly giving him too high a dose?
 
Somogyi does not occur in cats. We have a sticky on it that I will link later. I need to feed my cats and get dinner.

With SLGS an increase is not needed. As you are seeing some nadirs under 150. You don’t have any tests later at night so we only see half of the picture. Cats often go lower at night. I suspect you are seeing bouncing caused by gong lower than Oreo is used to. What are you feeding? It would be good to add it to your signature.
 
Last edited:
I'm feeding him Fancy Feast classic pate or the Savory Centers pate one 3 oz can three times a day, 9 am, 3 pm, and 9 pm.

I did just give him 3.5 units before I saw your message. I know he had the two days in the 120s but most of his nadirs are higher than that. That's why I increased it. That's why I feel like I don't know what I'm doing. I'm trying to do what's best for him and apparently I'm not. So should I go back to 3.25 in the morning?
 
I'm feeding him Fancy Feast classic pate or the Savory Centers pate one 3 oz can three times a day, 9 am, 3 pm, and 9 pm.

I did just give him 3.5 units before I saw your message. I know he had the two days in the 120s but most of his nadirs are higher than that. That's why I increased it. That's why I feel like I don't know what I'm doing. I'm trying to do what's best for him and apparently I'm not. So should I go back to 3.25 in the morning?

Since you increased see what he thinks about that and don’t go back to 3.25 unless he drops under 90. He due have 3 nadirs in the 120’s but did not go lower during the say. I think he bounces when his bg drops to the 120’s and then is higher by pmps. The question is what happens at night.
 
Thank you so much for your help and for the link. Okay, I'll keep him at the 3.5 and see how it goes. TR kind of scares me but I do want to get him at least regulated. I'm going to start getting some evening tests so I can see what's going on there.
 
Thank you so much for your help and for the link. Okay, I'll keep him at the 3.5 and see how it goes. TR kind of scares me but I do want to get him at least regulated. I'm going to start getting some evening tests so I can see what's going on there.
I was scared at first as well. I think everyone is. The thing is it gets them regulated faster. Soon the green becomes addictive though.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top