Opinions?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hmmm, not sure on this one...On one hand, I would expect him to be pretty high by then, so if he is, you may want to do that. On the other hand, tonight could be considered like a 'fur shot', and you could continue with the plan to drop to 1.8 for the reasons discussed earlier. I think I would decide what to give in the AM based on AMPS result. And, I think that if it is under 250, I would go with the 1.8, but if it is over 250 (as I would expect it to be), I would probably go with 2u even though the drop to 1.8 is still probably going to be needed within the next shot or two.

I do not think there is a 'wrong' choice between 2 and 1.8, so do what seems best in the AM.

UPDATE: Unless he surprises us all and ends up actually low again in the AM in which case you know to adjust down as appropriate.
 
Awesome thank you @FurBabiesMama I think that sounds like a good plan. Afterall those 2units definitely got us some good action. Trial and error, trial and error! I appreciate you all always responding and helping out. I can't wait to be able to help some others out when they are in need. You have a good night :)
 
That +2 and +3 from last night looked pretty good. They were so close to each other it tells me there may have been a little pancreas action going on...which is great!
 
Tootsie ended up being 331 this morning after skipping his shot last night. His numbers have been pretty decent all day and his PMPS was 137. I decides to give 1.8units tonight. I guess I'll see how that goes and what it gives us for our morning pre shot number. Weekdays we wouldn't be able to stall more than once if it is low and I really want to avoid skipping shots as much as possible. So I'm thinking reduced doses if that ends up happening again?
 
1.4 took him to 55 from a 128 pre-shot yesterday, so hopefully that 1.8 on a 137 pre-shot will not send him too low. I guess you will just have a long night, if it does. :eek:

If you can only stall once in the mornings during the week, just make your call based on what you get. Based on how last night went, I would probably give a reduced dose should there be another low number like that. But, if no one will be around to monitor, I would make it VERY reduced to be safe.
 
@FurBabiesMama I did look at that number and dose but then I also looked at his pmps on the 6th which was 142 and we gave him 2units so I guess that's why I decided to go somewhere in the middle. I'll be keeping my eye on him and staying prepared just incase. Do you think if he were to get another low number like yesterdays preshot and after stalling the one time that .20units would be an appropriate reduced dose. I'm thinking just starting low to see how he does since we don't want to skip again.
 
If he is around 100 again (87, 101, etc) in the morning I would probably give .50... so, with your syringes I guess .40. With no one home to monitor, I would not do any more than that. And, if you are more comfortable with .20, that works, too.

@Rachel , @Djamila what do you think on this?
 
I agree. If he's that low in the morning, I wouldn't give any more than .40. If it was me, I might even go for the .20. Might be too little...but at least you'll know for next time and you won't worry all day.
 
Thank you guys! I guess we will decide on the spot in the morning or the next time we do see those numbers if we want to try .20 or .40. I will be around to monitor for his typical times where he usually falls (starting +5 +6 +7) I just say we can only stall once during the week because my husband takes the morning "shift" for his shot before work, I'm typically up late so I need those extra morning hours of sleep :smuggrin: or I won't be able to function throughout the day haha.
 
I agree with FBM and Rachel - I would err on the side of caution right now. Tootsie is healing quickly so you don't want to over shoot at this point. If you need to give a mini dose or skip again, do it. Better safe than sorry. You can be more aggressive in the evenings and on weekends when you're home to make sure he stays safe.
 
Alright guys! We are dropping to low. He just tested 47 at +3. We are feeding him some higher carb wet food right now. I think I read we should only do about a tablespoon at a time so that he will continue to eat. How often do I need to keep checking him now? @FurBabiesMama @Rachel @Djamila
 
Yikes, pretty low for this early. Do you have syrup ready in case the food does not prove to be enough? I would test again no later than 30 mins from the last test.. maybe even 20. Then, assuming he has risen just a little, I would continue to test every 20 to 30 mins until the numbers are up and staying up...giving the food and/or syrup as needed.
 
Yes I have corn syrup. We just rub some on his gums correct? Can we continue to feed him small amounts of the high carb wet food as well?
 
Do the food then if the next test shows any additional drop, give a drop or two of the syrup. You can put it on the gums if he won't just eat it. I never had to do that. I put it on a little bite of food or even dry food kibbles, and Mia ate it.
 
49 after 30 minutes. Hes eating a little more food with some corn syrup mixed in now.

Can anyone help me figure out the carb % of the wet food I have on hand. It isn't listed on the food list.

I have Royal Canin Urinary SO in the 5.5oz cans
I have Royal Canin Urinary SO Morsels in gravy in the 3oz cans.
I have Hills Prescription Diet C/D Chicken 5.5oz
And Hills Prescription Diet C/D Ocean Fish 5.5oz
 
I see the SO pate, is that the other SO you have? It is 20% carbs.
Hill's C/D chicken and ocean fish are both 23%

You can use the link in my signature to get to the cat food database. It is easier than the list since you can filter.
 
If you can get/keep him over 50... just tread water... it is ideal as opposed to just dumping on the carbs to the point that he goes super high. But safety first, so do what you gotta do, sister! :D
 
Yes I believe its pate, it doesn't say it is and it doesn't have a flavor but it looks like pate. Anyways we are doing the morsels and gravy right now. He seems perfectly fine if that means anything. Loving that food and just purring away. Also just had a good potty break #1 and #2.
 
I'm going to check again at +5.5 and if he has gone up again from the 65 then we should be in the clear correct? Also, I can give him his regular low carb food before bed still?
 
Sorry... I was getting a few minutes of sleep. He has gone up for each test you have taken, and I assume he has had food throughout, so that should continue to impact him for as much as a couple of hours, and if he has access to food throughout the rest of the night, he should be fine. Two nights ago, he continued to drop through +7.5, so if you happen to still be up or to wake up, another test about +7 would not hurt.. just to make sure he is still holding his own or rising.
 
That's okay @FurBabiesMama , I understand trying to get some sleep lol. I thought we were good once I tested him and got 70 and +5.5 but planned on checking him at +7. I dozed off but woke up just in time and he was back down to 56. He ate some more of his regular food and I'll stay awake to check him at +8 (3:00am) to make sure he is up and then I'd think I'll be out of the dropping zone and he should continue to slowly rise.
 
Wow an exciting night! Sorry I was fast asleep...I had this past week off, but I had to go back to work today and I'm up pretty early on workdays. So now we know for sure that 1.8 on a 137 was too much...that's good data! Looks like he surfed along in greens most of the night which means he might still be low this morning. I'd definitely stick with a low dose this morning like we talked about.

I see your husband takes the morning shift (love that!). Does he have your login here in case he ever needs anything so you can get some rest without him needing to wake you?

You did GREAT last night! I'm so glad FurBabiesMama was here for you. Hope you get some :coffee: and rest today!
 
@Rachel he doesn't have my log in but I'm typically always awake anyways when he is doing everything in the morning. It's when he leaves that I finally get my few hours of uninterrupted sleep. It was definitely a long night. I know I said I wasn't going to skip again but with how last night went, and him still not rising much as of this morning, I decided to skip his dose so I could rest a little with no worry and he could have a small break. He was poked at so much and then having him get sick makes me feel bad. I can't believe I never realized when he was throwing up so often before that it could of been his hard food. My husband and I were just talking about how he hasn't thrown up in so long. Then last night when he went low I put 6 PIECES of his hard food on top of the wet to help raise his numbers, 6 PIECES, and he threw up tonight. That just can't be a coincidence.

Anyways, I do know now that regardless of what number I get tonight (unless its super low) I will be reducing him from 2units to 1.8units as his regular dose and see how he does with it. If for some reason he is still low tonight then I will do the extra reduced dose like I intended on doing this morning.
 
Wow, 76 this morning. Good job last night. Vomiting is a much less frequent occurrence around here since our food switch, too. It is sad that we start considering regular vomiting 'normal' then realize that the food we have been giving then is basically crap.
 
I couldn't believe it when he threw up and I pieced together what happened. Crazy. He is doing pretty good today so far since skipping his shot. We will see how this evening goes.
 
@FurBabiesMama hahahaha! I'm going to guess he will be a little high since I skipped. But this will give me the chance to start him on his 1.8units and see how that goes. Unless he decides to really change things up on us lol.
 
That is so awesome! I think maybe a very reduced dose. Maybe 1u at the most? Maybe even less. It will be another learning opportunity for sure.
 
Sorry I was chasing my cat around to let him know I wasn't mad at him for having a hairball earlier! I'm sure you can all picture me lol...he probably thinks I'm nuts!

I agree that 1 unit was a good choice. He's gone low a few times now and often after they get low they have some insulin sensitivity. They just react more to the insulin for a bit than they normally would. 1 unit should hopefully keep him in good numbers...and I'm sure you'd like to get some sleep tonight!
 
@Rachel hahaha! I did go with the 1unit. I appreciate you 3 always responding. I have looked on the threads some and I don't know if there is anyone else you guys would recommend I could start tagging as well just in case. I know we all get busy so honestly the more help the better.

Now I'm wondering what you guys think I should do for his dosing once he gets back up to those 200s or even 300s (if he does that is). My plan was to reduce to 1.8units for awhile since we were at 2units and getting some low numbers. But we've been low so many times since I was going to make that change that our dosing has kind of been all over the place.
 
At this point you really have to take it a cycle at a time. I agree that you may not see high numbers again, but even if you do, I'd stay with lower doses at this point unless those higher numbers stick around for a couple cycles.
 
Yep. So crazy how this all works. I've decided if he shows another low number tomorrow morning like he did this morning I am going to give probably .20u to see how he does with that. Then I guess I'll go from there.
 
Well DANG! I mean good job Tootsie, but slow down!

Yes, I think it is time to drop down pretty far and work your way back up if needed. We're just guessing at the dose now and it's hard on you and Tootsie to keep going so low! I wouldn't give anything if he was as low as yesterday morning though. 76 is a number for a normal cat off insulin...it's just awfully low for any insulin that will just push him lower. And it only gives him a total of 30 points to drop ALL DAY before the take action number.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top