Opinions needed on whether to increase dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Voula

Member Since 2014
Due to lower glucose levels of 3.2/58 on increasing to 2.75 units and advice on the board I went back to 2.5 units and held the dose for five on schedule doses with one dose to go at 2.5 units. I have also done more testing after the PM dose. From the testing I have done it seems we should go back to 2.75 units and I thought I would ask in advance of time depending of course on tonight's blood glucose tests and the results we get whether I am correct in deciding to increase the dose to 2.75 units again. All the readings have been high so far on 2.5 units both before we increased to 2.75 units and after I decreased the dose to 2.5 units again. I have many more questions about what to do if the pre-dose or nadir glucose levels are at 3.2/58 again and if so what dose do I give if that happens but one step at a time. We have been following the relaxed lantus guidelines of no dose under 150 but our vet seems to think we should do tight regulation and I am happy to do that but lack experience and confidence so I need assistance. Thank you again.
For anyone looking at our spreadsheet the U.S. mg/dl is not displaying all the numbers correctly so please look at World mmol/L thank you.
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thre...es-and-increases-in-dose.130223/#post-1341037
 
Last edited:
Here's your last condo ....it's helpful to put the link to your last one in your new condo's so people can go back and read the recent history http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thre...es-and-increases-in-dose.130223/#post-1341037

I think you could increase to 2.75...you've given the 2.5 for what looks to be 6 cycles and didn't get any tests below 245, so I think you can increase. Getting those extra tests in really does help us see a better picture

If you can continue to get the same amount of testing in, I don't see any reason you can't do TR either!
 
Thank you so much Chris. The first two 2.5 unit doses were several hours late so I didn't count those as part of the six cycles but regardless I think it is clear that we need to increase the dose. Would you do a two hourly curve before increasing to 2.75 units or do I have enough data without a curve to increase the dose? The vet suggested we could increase this time without a glucose curve based on the testing I have done.
 
I agree with your vet. I think you can go ahead and increase - just monitor as you usually do, making sure to get at least one mid-cycle test somewhere in each cycle. Spot checks during the cycle along with preshot tests are more useful than a curve on one day. If that day is a bounce day you wouldn't have the full picture you need in order to dose.

Here is the information on what to do when you are faced with a lower preshot than you've shot before:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/sticky-lantus-levemir-shooting-handling-low-numbers.147/

I can't tell exactly what the preshots were - it looks like they were 3.9/3.2, which x 18 = about 70/56. Experienced users who will be home to monitor will typically shoot everything over about 50ish. The link I gave you just above has a section above it in the post about becoming data ready to shoot "low", which means shooting the full dose into normal blood sugar numbers (50-120). Lantus works great at lower numbers and typically the cycle will flatten out after shooting low a few times.

Here is a post that i wrote a while ago for Darin/Charlie about what typically happens when a person shoots low. Take a peek at it, and make sure and look at the spreadsheet links, then ask about questions. Make sure you are "data ready" before you shoot low, and do it when you are home to monitor and when Lucy is eating normally and not sick. http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thre...-3-110-4-146-5-147-6-248.121668/#post-1266888

The 3.9/3.2 that you got on the 2.75u dose wasn't enough to "earn" a decrease if you were following the Rand/Roomp protocol. and by the way, I agree that you could definitely follow that protocol. Under the R/R TR guidelines, a cat's dose is decreased if they go below 50.
 
Thank you so much Julie. I will read all that information now. I think even though we have had only five on time doses at 2.5 units I can increase now if I wanted because we had a longer time period on 2.5 units before those two 2.75 units. We have had seven doses at 2.5 units but the first two doses were late so I have only counted the last five doses.
 
Hi Julie. You said under the TR guidelines a cat's dose is decreased if they go below 50. What happens if the 50 is at pre-dose? So you do a pre-dose test and you get 48 so do you wait until a higher reading to give a reduced dose or do you dose at 48 with a reduced dose? Thank you.
 
The link is in my last post, but the short answer is that there isn't a one-size-fits-all answer. Until you get the hang of it, it's probably easiest for you to post and ask for someone to take a look at her spreadsheet and help walk you through the decision. If no one is online to help you, then you'll have to go with the info below. If she goes below 50 at any point in the cycle, that means she gets a dose reduction with the next shot. We don't encourage shooting under 50 for anyone unless they are very experienced and know their cat well. You're not to that point yet. Many people set a no-shoot number and gradually work it down to shooting everything over 50, but really that's as much or more for the benefit of the people than the cat. I think after you've read a little bit it will answer some of your questions.

Here's the pertinent part from the stickies:
HOW TO DEAL WITH LOW PRESHOT NUMBERS
**** The following guidelines apply to the Tight Regulation Protocol for Lantus or Levemir ****


You just tested your cat’s preshot number, and there is a much lower than usual number staring back at you. What do you do?

There is no one-size-fits all answer, but there are some general guidelines. As with everything else, each cat is different (ECID) and each caregiver is different too.

The short answer is that most kitties can be shot at +12, almost regardless of the number, once you are data ready to do so. The exception is that shooting 30s or 40s is not recommended for most cats, so if the cat is less than 50 then usually the best option is to wait until they are above 50 to shoot. While you’re waiting, the shed is draining, so you want to get the insulin in as soon as it makes sense to shoot.

If it is your first time shooting green, then we will likely suggest that you stall the first time, even if the number is 80-100. That will let you collect data on what your cat will do when you stall. One thing you can do if you are having a low cycle is to get a +10 and +11. Those will give you a good idea of how quickly the cat’s numbers are rising (or not) when preshot time arrives.

Beyond the general guidelines, there are other factors we consider when we are helping someone with a low preshot.
  • If the low preshot is not part of that cat’s normal pattern or there is reason to think something might be wrong, we will be more conservative.
  • If the cat is not a food spiker or tends to have an early onset/early nadir then they may not want to shoot as low. If the cat has a late nadir, then they will HAVE to learn to shoot low.
  • We will also be more conservative in some cases because of the person – if you are not able to monitor then you want to be more careful, or if you are not sure that you can get back to the board to keep us updated throughout the cycle. Trust me, if you shoot low, we will be watching for your updates and we will worry if we don’t see them.
  • We have to be a lot more careful with the cats who eat only dry food, because they don’t have access to the tools the rest of us use to keep our cats safe.
  • Also, when it comes to very low preshots, there is an unwritten rule that whoever helps that person shoot low should expect to sit with them through any low parts of the cycle. There have been times when I knew a cat’s number was likely shootable, but I also knew that I could not be around to help if the shot resulted in low numbers later in the cycle. For safety’s sake, if I could not find someone else who would be available to support for the next several hours, I would most likely suggest that the shot be reduced or skipped. I will not encourage someone to shoot low and then abandon them.
  • There are a lot of other scenarios, and you always want to keep your cat in mind.

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):

** 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
** 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.

  • When 40’s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
  • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
  • --- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?

** Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.

Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.

Using the overlap by shooting low is a great way to take advantage of Lantus/Levemir’s long, flat cycles, once you have learned to do so safely.

~ written by Libby and Lucy
 
I checked and we have had six on time doses at 2.5 units not five so I will start on 2.75 units from our next dose.
 
Thank you Julie. What you wrote and the information you posted answers my question. Yes I am not at the point where I feel comfortable to dose under 50 so if I get a lower than usual reading I will post and ask for advice first. That relieves my anxiety for now. There is a lot of learning to do and confidence to be gained.
 
There is a ton to learn - i thought it was a bit like a college crash course in Feline Diabetes 101! Just keep asking questions and people will keep explaining. When you have a question in context the answer makes a ton more sense than when you're just trying to read the stickies and make sense of things.

Just to be clear, you wouldn't shoot under 50 in any normal circumstance. It's not a matter of gaining experience, even experienced people using Lantus wouldn't shoot under 50 except perhaps in some extraordinary circumstance. I wasn't sure if that was clear.
 
Thank you for clarifying about not dosing under 50 in normal circumstances. That is good to know. Yes I had thought maybe only experienced people dosed at glucose levels under 50 so it is good that you clarified that that would only happen in some extraordinary circumstances. That is clear now. Don't worry I won't be doing that at any time. With any lower than usual numbers I will post to the board for advice on what to do. Yes it is a steep learning curve but so important to learn as much as I can to do the best that I can for my Lucy and I thank you so very much for your assistance.
 
The reason why we don't shoot under 50 is that a hypo is likely to occur. Most of us bring out the hc food and/or karo when our cats drop under 50 until two hours before insulin or right before it's time to shoot. At that point we would stall and not feed or if we can't be around to keep testing or don't have enough supplies it would be the time to feed and skip that shot.
 
The reason why we don't shoot under 50 is that a hypo is likely to occur. Most of us bring out the hc food and/or karo when our cats drop under 50 until two hours before insulin or right before it's time to shoot. At that point we would stall and not feed or if we can't be around to keep testing or don't have enough supplies it would be the time to feed and skip that shot.
Thank you so much for your reply and I have honey and high carb food in the house in case of need.
 
good luck with the dose increase Voula. you have a ton of excellent advice from these great folks. just wanted to offer support and say hi.
 
Hi Nadine. Thank you so much and yes the support and information has been really good.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top