Opinion on numbers from today

Status
Not open for further replies.

suzeo

Member Since 2011
Winnie is on 1 unit of Humilin, twice a day. She eats Fancy Feast mixed with some chicken or turkey. I think she's a little thin and I'll be taking her to the vet this week to get some tests done. I did a curve today and here are the numbers.

AMPS 192

+ 3 -129

+ 5 -163

+8 -157 (she did finish her food from the morning)

+11 -165

I want to give these numbers to the vet when I go if I think something needs to be changed. Thanks for the help, again!
 
Those are good values for Humulin N. I hope you are not on Humulin R or the combinations of Humulin R and N. Humulin is Lilly's trademark name for a family of insulins, not just one insulin.

From the BG valuesyou have room for increasing the does.
 
I think your numbers look good for a new diabetic who has recently changed to wet lo carb. I would want to find out whether there are any issues causing her weight loss before I increased the dose. Hope you get some answers from your vet visit.

She is getting great duration from the Humulin, which is not all that common. It may be that the lower number midcycle after eating was because her pancreas has decided to wake up again. (Generally, if the number goes down after eating, there is pancreas action. If it goes up, there is not.) One thing you might try is to give her several small meals a day to see if that will help support her pancreas. Lots of us use automatic feeders to do that, or freeze the food and let it thaw while they "graze".
 
I have to pick up her food when I am not home because the dog likes to help himself! So she does eat a little at a time. Hopefully I'll know more after the vet visit on Tuesday. And she is on N.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top