Ophie +12 107, +13 110, +14 124, +17 257 (edited subject)

Status
Not open for further replies.

OphiesMom

Member Since 2013
I'm officially 20 minutes late on her shot now. She didn't eat very much last night: I normally leave out a 3oz can that is gone by AM... the food was barely touched. Further, she threw up a little last night. Good news, she is eating a bit this morning... bad news, she is also guzzling water. Her PS number was 107 and this got me worried. I've panicked nailbite_smile completely and decided to delay shot. Maybe that is silly of me? 107 is a good number, right? I just am petrified of a hypo (have nightmares). Did I mention we're new at diabetes and she is my baby of 14 years (minus the first 6 weeks of her life before she came to live me with)? :)

Her SS is below in my signature. I do plan to test her again at an hour out...

Thanks so much for looking!
 
Re: Should I give kitty a shot? Her AMPS is 107

That 107 is a very nice number :)

Over on the TR Lantus forum, we would ask you to not feed her and test again in 30 minutes to see if she is going up or down without the influence of food making her numbers go up.

If your shot schedule is flexible enough, and you can stall for a bit longer and test again. You could wait and see if her numbers rise enough (without feeding) that you are comfortable shooting. That would mean your next shot would be 12 hours after you shot this morning. If you have the weekend off, you could slowly adjust the shot schedule back to what you want it to be in 15 minutes increments.

Since you are so new to this diabetes game, I would probably recommend that you skip the shot this time. Eventually, you will get used to shooting lower and lower numbers, but for now, you just don't have enough data, yet. And, you may have to leave the house to go to work today, I don't know that.
 
Re: Should I give kitty a shot? Her AMPS is 107

Thank you Dyana! 107 is a good number... Yay for Ophie! Well, it's too late for me to not feed. In my panic, I started spoon feeding her. She didn't even a ton, maybe 1oz (I didn't weigh it yet). This is her normal breakfast, I'd say... she only eats a little in the AM. It's really because she didn't eat last night that I got so worried; she always eats 3oz over night.

I am off today and for the weekend, so I can watch her closely. What do you think about my testing her an hour out from her normal shot time and then shooting her then if her numbers are up? The other piece of the equation is that I just upped her Lantus to 1.75 units.

Thank you so much for the quick reply... I'm much less panicked now :).
 
Re: Should I give kitty a shot? Her AMPS is 107

If you have the next 3 days off and can be home to monitor her, then take away the food and let's see what her +13 (thirteen hours after her PM shot) is.
 
Re: Should I give kitty a shot? Her AMPS is 107

Just an update: I tested her an hour after the initial 107 and she is now at 110. In that hour, she ate about 1oz of food. I've taken away her food now. For her efforts on the second ear poke, she got catnip instead of her usual (food) treat.
 
Re: Should I give kitty a shot? Her AMPS is 107

If you have the flexibility to shoot a little later and then slowly get back to schedule over the weekend, then I would test again in 30 minutes. I'll watch for your next test.
 
Re: Should I give kitty a shot? Her AMPS is 107

Thanks again Dyana! I will test again and report back. Much appreciated.
 
Re: Should I give kitty a shot? Her AMPS is 107

I was going to write this: Any update? I wouldn't give her insulin unless she is rising, and over 150.

But I see now from your spreadsheet that she is at 124.
I would just skip this shot, since I think you don't have enough data yet.

Like I said, once you have more data, you will learn to shoot these lower numbers, just take it slow for now.
 
Re: Should I give kitty a shot? Her AMPS is 107

I am at 124, which is +14 (and 20 minutes, as I had to bring son to school) from her last shot last night. Thoughts? Seems to be rising (just a tiny bit). She hasn't had any additional food since her pre-shot breakfast bites and my spoon feeding her after her initial 110 reading. Thank you!!

PS: Is that how I would properly report her BG? "+14" from last shot or do I report the time as "+2" from her missed shot this morning. The numbers are in my SS regardless.
 
Re: Should I give kitty a shot? Her AMPS is 107

Thank you so much, Dyana. I posted my update at the same time you were posting. Yes, you saw my number: 124. I will skip the AM shot completely and check her every 2 hours until her PM shot time. Thank you again!! I don't know what I would do without the help of this board.
 
Re: Should I give kitty a shot? Her AMPS is 107

I'm going to give her back her food too. She looks hungry to me ;-)
 
Re: Should I give kitty a shot? Her AMPS is 107

You can change the Subject Line in your first post to read "Ophie +12 107, +13 110, +14 124" or whatever the times are.
AMPS to us means you shot the insulin, so you should probably not write that in the Subject Line.
You did good. Be aware that she might rise considerably from the missed dose. If you want to move your shot schedule ahead any (by shooting a little earlier), tonight, you can do that. Surf along nicely, Ophie.
 
Ophie +12 107, +13 110, +14 124, +17 257

You are correct, she's jumped. We're at +17 257. Ugh. I will move her shot up earlier tonight. My son is having a friend over after school, and now that the shot will be earlier, I'll have to figure out how to keep two 8 year olds quiet! Ophie will not be pleased with the all the high-energy, boy ruckus while I'm poking her ear.

I plan to check her again in a couple hours and will report back.

Thank you again for your help and support!
 
Ophie +12 107, +13 110, +14 124, +17 257, +19 279

at nearly +19 we are 279. I'm guessing that I won't be able to check her again until shot time (picking up the kids from school in 1.5 hours), which I'm bumping up an hour for today to 5PM. But I will try!

All-in-all, this doesn't seem all that horrible, given some of her readings have been at 279 with her proper shots, right?

Knowing how her BG tracked for the day, do you think I could have shot her this morning, without worrying about a hypo? Not sure if there is enough data to assess that or not.

Anyway... thank you for looking.
 
Re: Ophie +12 107, +13 110, +14 124, +17 257 (edited subject

On this forum, they generally recommend not shooting under 200. On the Lantus forum, they generally not recommend shooting if under 150 for a newbie, and you are kind of new at this. When you are ready, if you want to, you can post over in the Lantus TR forum, where there are lots of people that know Lantus best.
 
Re: Ophie +12 107, +13 110, +14 124, +17 257 (edited subject

Thank you again, Dyana for all your guidance today.
 
Re: Ophie +12 107, +13 110, +14 124, +17 257, +19 279, +23 2

At +23, we were at 296. I gave her her shot an hour earlier than normal. I'll just get up early tomorrow and get her re-adjusted by Monday. Her BG didn't even get that high all day, so that is positive. Thank you!
 
Re: Ophie +12 107, +13 110, +14 124, +17 257 (edited subject

Nice job, today, both of you :cool:
 
Re: Ophie +12 107, +13 110, +14 124, +17 257 (edited subject

Since this is a fresh increased dose for him, I would start tonight's testing again at +3.
Usually Lantus starts to lower the BGs at about +2 and his dinner will move his numbers up a bit.
If it were me (and I go to bed early), I would set an alarm for a +5 test, as well.
 
Re: Ophie +12 107, +13 110, +14 124, +17 257 (edited subject

I will try that. I did get a +2 of 290. It's possible my Ophie may be really done with ear pricking for the day, whether I like it or not. I will try though, armed with my very best love and treats.

Thank you!
 
Re: Ophie +12 107, +13 110, +14 124, +17 257 (edited subject

Ophie's BG is 130 this morning. I know this is a good number, but I don't know what the heck this means for my dosing. Clearly, the 1.75 units I gave her last night is too much? I will delay shot. I know it's not a good idea to be skipping shots either. She didn't eat her food again last night and threw up a hairball. She is acting normal. Nibbled her usual breakfast. :?
 
Re: Ophie +12 107, +13 110, +14 124, +17 257 (edited subject

I think it would be good if you posted over in the Lantus TR forum.
I only go to the Main Health forum once in a while. In the Lantus forum, you will get lots of eyes and support.

Basically, we say you have choices: skip, stall without feeding and test again to see if she is rising to a number that you are more comfortable with, shoot a BCS (temporary reduced) now, or shoot the full dose.
 
Re: Ophie +12 107, +13 110, +14 124, +17 257 (edited subject

OphiesMom said:
She is acting normal. Nibbled her usual breakfast. :?
In the future, I would not feed her, when you are unsure of giving the dose. It makes any stall time that much longer waiting for the influence on the BGs of the food to pass. I would test first. If you feel comfortable shooting, then feed and shoot at the same time. If you have tested and want input before shooting, then hold the food.

Another thing that helps a lot, and I'm not sure of you are able to do this or not, is to get a test at about +10 or +11.
When you compare that test to the PS (Pre Shot) test, you can tell whether she's currently rising, dropping, or staying the same.
 
Re: Ophie +12 107, +13 110, +14 124, +17 257 (edited subject

I just gave her 1 unit nailbite_smile

I think it's the right decision, based on how her BG rose yesterday. I like that she is a good number this morning, but I don't want her to get high today again either. I will test her in 2 hours and see where we are at. I've got my honey and gravy food ready :YMSIGH:

I will post over to the Lantus forum!

Thank you! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top