StefO
Member Since 2017
I can't believe it's been a month since we've started Garth's insulin treatment. Honestly, it has felt like a million years.
We were doing 1U of Lantus 2x a day until his first curve, where his lowest BG was around 450. The vet increased his dose to 3U and he goes in for his next curve on 7/6.
He started peeing right outside of the litter box, so we have introduced pee pads. They're helpful but don't absorb the entire mess. When he peed on the downstairs door mat, we decided to keep him gated upstairs, where it is mostly hardwood. Plus, with his neuropathy, it probably makes the most sense for him to not have to use the stairs. It's been about a week of this. For the first few nights, we also locked him out of the bedroom, which is something we have never done in his lifetime. I woke up to two full pee puddles outside of the bedroom door, as well as pee/poop in another room upstairs. Yesterday I got rid of the rug in this room and mopped entirely. It only took 20 minutes for Garth to pee in the same spot again! I keep thinking it's behaviorial, husband thinks its the old age/FD etc. He wants to move the litter box into our upstairs storage room, so that will be the only zone, but I feel bad continuing to quarantine him more.
A friend whose FD cat recently passed gave us a case of Purina DM wet food, unopened bag of DM dry, and 2 bags of feline pine. We were so incredibly thankful. So he has been eating a can of Purina DM in the AM and a can of Fancy Feast in the PM. He still meows incessantly and is still quite ravenous throughout the day. So I was giving him handfuls of the DM or freeze dried to salmon, to subdue him a little. I felt guilty about the dry food, so I started to give a half can of FF around 2pm.
This morning, he took a few bites of the Purina DM and walked away. I decided to see if he wanted FF, which he nibbled half of and I gave him his shot. I brought the food upstairs and he finished it. He is normally crying around 6:30am for food, but not this AM. I am going to home test in a few since it's been about 2 hours since he last ate but a lil worried today!
Every day, I think he is improving but now I'm not so sure. So thankful for this community!
We were doing 1U of Lantus 2x a day until his first curve, where his lowest BG was around 450. The vet increased his dose to 3U and he goes in for his next curve on 7/6.
He started peeing right outside of the litter box, so we have introduced pee pads. They're helpful but don't absorb the entire mess. When he peed on the downstairs door mat, we decided to keep him gated upstairs, where it is mostly hardwood. Plus, with his neuropathy, it probably makes the most sense for him to not have to use the stairs. It's been about a week of this. For the first few nights, we also locked him out of the bedroom, which is something we have never done in his lifetime. I woke up to two full pee puddles outside of the bedroom door, as well as pee/poop in another room upstairs. Yesterday I got rid of the rug in this room and mopped entirely. It only took 20 minutes for Garth to pee in the same spot again! I keep thinking it's behaviorial, husband thinks its the old age/FD etc. He wants to move the litter box into our upstairs storage room, so that will be the only zone, but I feel bad continuing to quarantine him more.
A friend whose FD cat recently passed gave us a case of Purina DM wet food, unopened bag of DM dry, and 2 bags of feline pine. We were so incredibly thankful. So he has been eating a can of Purina DM in the AM and a can of Fancy Feast in the PM. He still meows incessantly and is still quite ravenous throughout the day. So I was giving him handfuls of the DM or freeze dried to salmon, to subdue him a little. I felt guilty about the dry food, so I started to give a half can of FF around 2pm.
This morning, he took a few bites of the Purina DM and walked away. I decided to see if he wanted FF, which he nibbled half of and I gave him his shot. I brought the food upstairs and he finished it. He is normally crying around 6:30am for food, but not this AM. I am going to home test in a few since it's been about 2 hours since he last ate but a lil worried today!
Every day, I think he is improving but now I'm not so sure. So thankful for this community!