Red & Rover (GA)
Member Since 2016
@Butters & Lyla is another Canuck who uses the OneDrop strip subscription service.
We have all been where you are.
We have all been where you are.


From the manufacturer's guidelines for starting dose of Caninsulin/Vetsulin:
View attachment 58239
Maximum recommended starting dose per cat is 2 units, and nowadays is linked solely to degree of hyperglycaemia at time of diagnosis. (Note: In an older version of the Merck Caninsulin protocol, starting dose used to be linked to both degree of hyperglycaemia and weight, but even back then the maximum dose was still 2 units IIRC.)
Mogs
.
Yes I was looking into the OneDrop subscription. Even with the exchange 100 strips is literally half the price of Shoppers in the GTA. They were $110 before tax. I ended up going to Metro where they were $87. I would love to hear peoples experience with this.@Butters & Lyla is another Canuck who uses the OneDrop strip subscription service.
We have all been where you are.![]()
I was so thankful I found this board. I switched her to Lantus...it is a much gentler insulin. The Caninsulin didn't work for her.A curve done at home is less stressful for the cat, so you will get a truer picture of what the BG levels are for your cat.
Right now, with those low BG readings you are getting, I would not give any insulin.
Sometimes, the diet change is enough to drop the BG numbers back to a normal range.
Plus the antibiotic could have cleared up the infection/inflammation causing the BG numbers to be high in the first place.
It's possible that your cat was not diabetic to begin with, and the infection/inflammation was keeping the glucose levels high. Also, a phenomenon called "vet stress" can artificially inflate the BG levels by quite a lot, for hours. So that is another reason to run the glucose curves yourself at home.
Was your cat also drinking a ton of water, and have a voracious appetite?
Losing a lot of weight?
On any steroid medications?
I'm asking, because there are other reasons for a cat to pee a lot, like kidney disease, a UTI or hyperthyroidism.
Oh that face. What a handsome boy.
Hello, I am also from the GTA.Welcome. Red is right, we all have been where you are right now. The vet who diagnosed Butters, who weighs <4 kilos, based her starting dose of 2 U of caninsulin on her weight. He flat out refused to support me if I was going to home test. He also said I had to feed a prescription diet and made me sign a sheet saying I refused it.
I was so thankful I found this board. I switched her to Lantus...it is a much gentler insulin. The Caninsulin didn't work for her.
Even buying test strips online from a Canadian site like Diabetes Express, which is where I buy my syringes, the test strips are much more expensive. The O.D. is working out well.
He has also had quite a few corticosteroid shots. With the two most recent shots happening within 2-3 months of the diabetes diagnosis.
Caninsulin really does hit hard and fast, and can make a cat feel yucky (for lack of a better word).I'm worried about my cat because while he has no physical symptoms, he just seems more sad and dejected. After testing so much today, he doesn't even want to go outside. Which is not normal.
The corticosteroid shots may have induced the diabetes. If they were, the positive news is that quite a few cats can go into remission. I hope Marley is one of them. It will require testing vigilance. Some of them have flown down the dosing scale.
Caninsulin really does hit hard and fast, and can make a cat feel yucky (for lack of a better word).
Give him a treat after each test. He will soon begin to associate testing with a treat. Freeze-dried cats treats are carb free. So is a small piece of tuna or boiled chicken.
By testing, you have saved your cat's life. Imagine if he had blindly been given 3 units. Well done, you.I just tested him again as his PMPS and I was 5.7 on the Freestyle Lite. So I didn't give him any insulin.
By testing, you have saved your cat's life. Imagine if he had blindly been given 3 units. Well done, you.
I am on my fourth vet since Butters’ diagnosis and I think I finally found a winner. Four vets in six months.This is the second bad experience I had with a vet in the GTA. Its sad that we can never be sure cause even the reviews lie.
And the Bravo meter needs a larges drop of blood to test.Another option for meter/strips is the Bravo. Good points is the price...bad points is they're only available from one place so you have to make sure you order them in time to always have them
Lyla do you sleep?How is Marley this morning? Any tests yet?
I'm part of Team Canada.
How is Marley this morning? Any tests yet?
He tested high this morning.
25.2 on the Alpha trak and 16.5 on the Freestyle Lite. I gave him his insulin this morning. Thanks for asking!
What dose did you give?
I gave him his normal dose and plan to test him every 2 hours today to have a clear picture for the vet. Thank god for online classes.
I just did his +2 and its 20.2 on the alpha trak and 12.3 on the Freestyle lite.
Yes that's what his prescription says.So 3 units Vetsulin/Caninsulin, correct?
GOOD point Nan!I'm also wondering whether it might be a good idea to start a new thread for today. You can link back to this thread so people can get the history, I'm just worried if Marley goes low, it's tough for people to jump into a long thread like this and you may not get quick replies...
OK, still think that's too much insulin. I'm glad you're going to test regularly today.
Since your spreadsheet isn't up yet, let's keep a running tally today.
AT2 numbers
AMPS: 25.2 (454 in US numbers), 3U Caninsulin given
+2: 20.2 (364 in US numbers)
human meter numbers
AMPS: 16.5 (297 in US)
+2: 12.3 (221 in US)
You might want to save costs today by sticking to a single meter, unless you think your vet will want to see both sets. Or if you want to do one set for the vet (AT meter) but also keep your own records on the human meter because you plan to use that going forward-- that makes sense too!
we can only hope.But I plan to show that it gives the same approximate curve so he takes my human meter results more seriously in the future
we can only hope.![]()

Samantha I just wanted to say Marley sure has a regal look to himself ...Very smooooshable.![]()
SOOOOOO JEALOUS here. I cant even pick Zoe up without a struggle. She is NOT a lap kittethHe loves to cuddle for hours so he'll squish his face right against my cheek and start snoring lol
I'm beginning to think so.Does anyone think doing the antibiotics and the insulin at the same time was a bad idea? Since they were both there to treat the same thing, the overpeeing.
Waves of empathy. I've got a cluster of anxiety disorders.I have some pretty bad anxiety, so finding Marley was the best thing that ever happened to me.


I'm beginning to think so.
Marley's numbers are looking good. It could be the antibiotics cleared up whatever was going on. It could be that Marley will be a diet controlled diabetic cat. There's a say here – once a diabetic, always a diabetic. Do not go back to the high carb food.
And no insulin without checking here first.
If you want to, you could do the curve yourself at home, and avoid the stress to Marley.
A curve is simply testing from one pre-shot to the next pre-shot time, testing every 2 hours.
Or you can test from one pre-shot time for a total of 18 hours, testing every 3 hours.
Will they be feeding Marley the exact same food as you are doing, and at the same times? You might want to double check with the vet clinic, before you leave him there for a curve. If they give him dry food, that will be a very different type of feeding than you are doing for him. So they would not be getting a true picture of how Marley is doing on a low carb diet.
You've proven that he does so much better on the low carb wet, that he doesn't need insulin right now. I'd hate to see him have a setback, because they change the food for the day.

I agree with @Deb & Wink
I honestly don't see the need for a curve at the clinic at the moment. You can do one at home very cheaply. If they insist that it has to be done with an AlphaTrak. Use that at home for the curve. Vet stress is indeed a thing.
Did the clinic do any blood work or run a urine panel initially? If so, you can ask for a copy of the labs (you are entitled). It would be good to see if it was the antibiotics or the diet change that seemingly did the trick.
Marley does not need a fructosamine test tomorrow. A fructosamine test gives an idea of what the last two weeks or so have been like. It will tell you nothing you don't already know because you have been testing.
They may try to sell you some special diabetic management food. The dry is high carb, though lower than most. The wet pate is low carb but most cats go off the taste quite quickly. The savory selects is too high in carbs. There's nothing special about veterinary diabetic cat food except the price.
Trying to save you a bit of money here.
Take a test each day at what would be the shot time for another week or so. If the numbers stay within range, test periodically after that.
Yes, that Marley is not to get any insulin. You don't want the clinic to 'assume' that he needs insulin, because they put him on it a while ago.Is there anything else you think I should mention?
OK. Most vets will at least communicate with you by phone. Or email, or text.We can't talk directly to the vet because of Covid, but I will write all this down and send it in with Marley.