Once a day shoot trend? Normal? Bad to do?

catlady94

Member Since 2022
Not sure how this started but as you can see its the new trend for him... I''m not sure if this is safe to continue or do I purposely give him lower dose for his once a day to make him higher so he can get insulin twice a day in hopes to slowly reduce his levels equally? Or keep doing once a day in hopes the higher time of day eventually lowers too?

Not sure the time of day switches occasionally. Possible furshot?
 
spreadsheet says your following SLGS, so I am a bit confused, why are you skipping shots? Is it because of the blue pre-shot tests?

I did TR not SLGS so maybe I'm missing something that says you should skip if you get a blue pre-shot.



I was under the impression you supposed to skip if under 200.
 
Yeah maybe so. Over the weekend I was going to try to give him like .5 unit but I was scared he’d go too low.
 
Hello! I was also confused but am starting to understand it. I suggest re-reading the SLGS protocol here. I think I've read it 8 times and learn something new each time. Being new, you should skip if PS is under 150 but you can potentially shoot lower once you have more data to know how your kitty responds. I made a super-simplified cheat sheet for myself on the second page of my spreadsheet that I'll be adjusting as I learn more about my particular cat.

It also looks like you are adjusting doses by .5 when it is recommended to make changes in .25 intervals.

Hope this helps!
 
I just looked at your ss. So def you should not be skipping shots. Following slgs you hold a dose giving twice daily 12 hours apart for 7 days. Do a curve on day 7 and reevaluate dose. You should shoot any number at 90 or above. The 200 is only when your new and dont have enough data as Kyle suggested above.

It would be a good idea in your case especially to test at +11 or +11.5 and post here for direction. That gives you a bit of time before shot to get advice on whether to shoot or not.

You should never adjust dose based on preshot numbers. Lantus is dosed based on how low it takes a cat. I admit I do not know as much about slgs protocol so please please read that sticky that Jen posted above. Jen is also correct we adjust doses in .25 not .5

Based on your ss I personally would go with a 1.25u twice daily.

However any advice you get from our experts should trump my advice.
 
To answer the basic question, it's better to give two shots a day and lower the dose enough so that you can do two shots. And also lower your "no shoot number" so you can shoot twice.

As others have said, you are currently skipping perfectly shootable shots. The "no shoot under 200" is for brand newbies, which you no longer are. Once people have the data and experience to do so, people following SLGS can shoot as low as 90. I'm not suggesting you do that now, but work your way down to it. Maybe start with shooting 150-175 and above, and shooting your full dose, not a part dose. But only do that when you'll be around to monitor so you can gather data as to what happens. Then when you've done that a couple times, reduce the "no shoot" number some more.

The lovely thing about Lantus (and Levemir) is that shooting lower numbers leads to much flatter cycles. Take a look at some of the subject lines for the other cats in this forum. Study other's spreadsheets, I found that quite helpful.

As for following SLGS, another requirement is to do a weekly curve. You need to get some more mid cycle data to see how low the dose is taking your cat. Ideally you'd also get a before bed test every night, as a large number of cats go lower at night, and we need to spot those lows to figure out how to change the dose.
 
Okay thank y’all. I will reduce the one dose a little to try to him back to be same before both shots.

his PMPS is basically right before bed for us.
I’m gone 9 hours a day so it’s hard to test in middle of day except for the weekends.

In the meantime, is it okay for one dose to be a little less until I get him back evened out?
 
Just worried to give him a full dose under 200 since he drops more than 150 usually. Could I do a partial and get some data for a few days?
 
Here’s your last post for continuity.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/increasing-only-one-dose.263132/#post-2947906

Lantus is not dosed based upon amps/pmps but rather by nadir, how low it takes your cat. That happens usually between +4-7 but some times at the end of the cycle. You dint have any mid cycle tests at night since 7/4. Many cats are lower at night. As said above you need a dose that you can shoot every 12 hours.
 
We adjusted and doing good. Doing 1.5 twice a day. So from here, if and when he gets lower, I just slowly reduce until he always in normal range basically? I’m hoping to get him in remission!

will be doing more testing over weekend in hopes tj collect data so I know what to do moving forward. Worried about leaving him while at work if he starts reading lower
 
We ask everyone to start a. new condo each day you post. So new condo tomorrow please. Your subject isn’t really what you are asking today.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/posting-guidelines-please-read.231511/

I can see why you would start to worry so more testing when you are off is a very good idea. The 99 was close to earning a reduction. It would be good to do a curve testing every 2 hours for a cycle or every 3 hours for 18 hours. He’s looking good. With SLGS you hold each new dose for 7 days unless his bg falls under 90. Under 90 earns a reduction every cycle where it happens. After 7 days you decide on your dose based on the information you have from testing.
 
Back
Top